We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too big and too busy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kata Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kata Beach Spa Resort
Ranked #54 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 28 July 2011

So disappointed in this hotel. It is huge and crowded. We'd just had a week on an island and on arrival the busy decor and atmosphere felt like an assault to the senses. Although we'd booked and paid for 3 people (2 x adults and 1 teenager) there were only two single beds in our 'deluxe seaview' room which looked nothing like the photos on the website. You could glimpse the ocean from the window to the balcony but again nothing like the pictures on the website.

Breakfast was included in our rate - there were easily 100 people at the breakfast buffet each morning, the food was not bad but the dining area was very noisy.

We wouldn't visit Kata Beach again. It's noisy, crowded and packed with tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had 2 inter-connecting rooms 2205-2207 looking over the pool and over the beach.We are a family of 5 (2 adults & 2 kids).Food is great facilities are great and location with the hustle & bustle of Kata shops & restaurants aplenty only a minute away isgreat.Loads of things to look at, great fun dining out at night with kids.We went 3 times to Patong to the markets which were HUGE and cheap, got 2 suits made at Tom's which were not super cheap but quality and service were fantastic.Went to old phuket for a day which we highly recommend.Did Siam elephant trek-really good.Also day snorkeling to Raya.Really good day but not much snorkeling and ALOT OF rubbish floating and on the beach like bottle tops and chip packets etc DISGUSTING ! The Thai people have a lovely country but are not respecting their coast.We would go back to Kata & Phuket in a heart beat.Did a stop over in Singapore on way back only for a day, did the free city tour which is well worth it.Only wish we did a day or 2 stopover.Flew Jetstar all 4 flights ran late, but ya get wot ya pay 4 !!

Room Tip: get one looking over pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I was a little bit wary after reading other reviews that our superior room would only be a standard room quality, but it certainly was not. We had partial sea views overlooking the garden, and lovely spacious interconnecting rooms with balconies. We arrived well before check in time, and they soon had our rooms ready for us. The concierge was most helpful and showed us everything in the room, even the bottle opener in the bathroom! We had complimentary water every day, and clean towels. The beds were stripped daily too. We found the staff very pleasant, and very helpful. It was a lovely relaxing holiday for us as our children are all in their 20's, so perhaps not what we would have wanted ten years ago as the only thing for children is the beach and the pool. No kids clubs or aqua aerobics, no music blaring at the poolside. Bliss! But one word of warning for anyone taking a boat trip to the islands.... despite a dive boat capsizing the previous day, (which we didn't know about) and the weather being unpredictable, the boat trip still went ahead. A very long story which would make a great movie, but suffice to say we had a most horrific experience and all thought we were going to die as the boat was being tossed about as we were caught in crosswinds in the middle of a monsoon. So, I would seriously think twice about booking a boat trip in the rainy season, and if you do decide to go then take a few changes of clothes and a spare towel in a waterproof bag, take seasick tablets before you go, and take a credit card with you in case you need to abandon the boat and stay overnight on one of the islands (if you are lucky enough to get there!). But, do go on the half day safari and ride on an elephant... that is well worth the money.

Room Tip: Get your tour company to contact the hotel directly if you have any special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joandcoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We only spent one night here unfortunately!,
We arrived from airport to be told our room wouldn't be ready till an hour after check in- this was annoying as we had just got in from flying, but they did give us complimentary 3 course lunch to pass the time- which was great. Our room was splendid with fresh flowers and lovely well presented room. We were given two twin beds instead of a queen- which was annoying, but was only one night.
Dinner was $30 for both of us and was all you could eat fresh seafood and was amazing!! Pools were good, and was so close to beach. We had a shower and bath and a lovely bathroom!!!

Room Tip: If they do anything wrong, request compensation and they will sort something out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treska-n-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Enjoyed our 4 night stay here. The resort is right on the beach. Lovely pool area with bar. Rooms good although beware of mosquitoes even on with forst floor and with aircon!! Breakfast buffet great. Shopping area right across the road with plenty of restaurants. Easy access to Patong beach - taxis easily available. Enjoyed our stay. Had to pay for wifi- pity in such a big place

Room Tip: Book on the net...we got a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Kata beach resort and spa for 10 nights and loved it.. We have 3 teenagers 13,15,19 and they loved it also.. We had 2 deluxe rooms which overlooked the main pool they were interconnecting, kids were in one with 3 single beds, we had a massive californian king bed in ours.. Staff were very friendly, breakfasts were excellent loved the omelettes, and fresh fruit! We had dinner there one night and it was lovely too.. pizza's were great for mid afternoon snacks by the pool as were the spring rolls which the kids would have eaten everyday if they could have... cocktails were great and the swim up bar... pool was great we lived in that... All and all we were very happy with our stay and will definately stay again next time we go..

Room Tip: deluxe room with a pool/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m0jit073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

close to all the restaurants (lots of choice) and shops. didnt get the deluxe room with sea view which we had booked 9 months in advance. No apology from reception. Found the reception staff not very welcoming. Luckily we had booked through a package and a representative of the package company came to the hotel the following day, all of a sudden the reception staff couldnt do enough for us, we still had to wait 4 days though to move but it was worth it..the sea view room was fabulous. The grounds, pool area and beach were lovely and clean, sunbeds were a problem, towels on them all the time, evening sunsets were just perfect. a couple of cheap beach bars as you walk out of the hotel and onto the beach. breakfast has everything you could want, really enjoyed. I would stay again even though we had a room problem, we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#38 of 55 in Kata Beach
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#23 of 55 in Kata Beach
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#36 of 55 in Kata Beach
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
#37 of 55 in Kata Beach
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Spa Resort

Address: 95 Pakbang Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Spa Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing