We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second time staying here. Its quiet & only 150m to beach.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kata Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kata Beach Spa Resort
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is our second time staying at this hotel and we'd definitely go back again.
The 11 bungalows are perched on a slight hill at the north end of Kata Beach and although it doesn't have a pool, its only a 150m walk to the best part of Kata Beach - the uncrowded end!

We stayed in a "Roomy Deluxe" bungalow for 8 nights and only paid $900THB/night. The room was large, with a basic bathroom and small kitchenette. Its not the fanciest accommodation out there, but for the price we were more than happy with it. We were the only guests there during our stay so it was very quiet and peaceful. Occasionally we could hear the music from the nightclubs down the road but this certainly didn't disturb our sleeping at all. The staff are friendly and helpful.

There are two restaurants there although we only tried the Thai one which was very good. We saw one couple return there 3 times so think that speaks for itself. Personally, we ate most of our meals at "Po Restaurant" which is straight across the road. Its basic-looking but the food was yum and the owner fun.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fraggle0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

The facilities at this hotel are excellent. However, it is spoilt by very rude and unhelpful staff. Also everything at the hotel is massively over priced- particulalry food and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

So disappointed in this hotel. It is huge and crowded. We'd just had a week on an island and on arrival the busy decor and atmosphere felt like an assault to the senses. Although we'd booked and paid for 3 people (2 x adults and 1 teenager) there were only two single beds in our 'deluxe seaview' room which looked nothing like the photos on the website. You could glimpse the ocean from the window to the balcony but again nothing like the pictures on the website.

Breakfast was included in our rate - there were easily 100 people at the breakfast buffet each morning, the food was not bad but the dining area was very noisy.

We wouldn't visit Kata Beach again. It's noisy, crowded and packed with tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had 2 inter-connecting rooms 2205-2207 looking over the pool and over the beach.We are a family of 5 (2 adults & 2 kids).Food is great facilities are great and location with the hustle & bustle of Kata shops & restaurants aplenty only a minute away isgreat.Loads of things to look at, great fun dining out at night with kids.We went 3 times to Patong to the markets which were HUGE and cheap, got 2 suits made at Tom's which were not super cheap but quality and service were fantastic.Went to old phuket for a day which we highly recommend.Did Siam elephant trek-really good.Also day snorkeling to Raya.Really good day but not much snorkeling and ALOT OF rubbish floating and on the beach like bottle tops and chip packets etc DISGUSTING ! The Thai people have a lovely country but are not respecting their coast.We would go back to Kata & Phuket in a heart beat.Did a stop over in Singapore on way back only for a day, did the free city tour which is well worth it.Only wish we did a day or 2 stopover.Flew Jetstar all 4 flights ran late, but ya get wot ya pay 4 !!

Room Tip: get one looking over pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I was a little bit wary after reading other reviews that our superior room would only be a standard room quality, but it certainly was not. We had partial sea views overlooking the garden, and lovely spacious interconnecting rooms with balconies. We arrived well before check in time, and they soon had our rooms ready for us. The concierge was most helpful and showed us everything in the room, even the bottle opener in the bathroom! We had complimentary water every day, and clean towels. The beds were stripped daily too. We found the staff very pleasant, and very helpful. It was a lovely relaxing holiday for us as our children are all in their 20's, so perhaps not what we would have wanted ten years ago as the only thing for children is the beach and the pool. No kids clubs or aqua aerobics, no music blaring at the poolside. Bliss! But one word of warning for anyone taking a boat trip to the islands.... despite a dive boat capsizing the previous day, (which we didn't know about) and the weather being unpredictable, the boat trip still went ahead. A very long story which would make a great movie, but suffice to say we had a most horrific experience and all thought we were going to die as the boat was being tossed about as we were caught in crosswinds in the middle of a monsoon. So, I would seriously think twice about booking a boat trip in the rainy season, and if you do decide to go then take a few changes of clothes and a spare towel in a waterproof bag, take seasick tablets before you go, and take a credit card with you in case you need to abandon the boat and stay overnight on one of the islands (if you are lucky enough to get there!). But, do go on the half day safari and ride on an elephant... that is well worth the money.

Room Tip: Get your tour company to contact the hotel directly if you have any special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joandcoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We only spent one night here unfortunately!,
We arrived from airport to be told our room wouldn't be ready till an hour after check in- this was annoying as we had just got in from flying, but they did give us complimentary 3 course lunch to pass the time- which was great. Our room was splendid with fresh flowers and lovely well presented room. We were given two twin beds instead of a queen- which was annoying, but was only one night.
Dinner was $30 for both of us and was all you could eat fresh seafood and was amazing!! Pools were good, and was so close to beach. We had a shower and bath and a lovely bathroom!!!

Room Tip: If they do anything wrong, request compensation and they will sort something out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treska-n-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Enjoyed our 4 night stay here. The resort is right on the beach. Lovely pool area with bar. Rooms good although beware of mosquitoes even on with forst floor and with aircon!! Breakfast buffet great. Shopping area right across the road with plenty of restaurants. Easy access to Patong beach - taxis easily available. Enjoyed our stay. Had to pay for wifi- pity in such a big place

Room Tip: Book on the net...we got a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#4 of 56 in Kata Beach
854 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#19 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#24 of 56 in Kata Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Spa Resort

Address: 95 Pakbang Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Spa Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing