We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay extra for ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We started out with the 2 bedroon pool villa as we have took along our 15 and 19 year old but we were disappointed with the outlook - The ocean view was only from the top floor and it was a long walk from the beach. So asked the incredible staff if we could change rooms. We were able to change to 2 X ocean view pool villas- incredible. Could not praise the hotel enough. the rooms were better than the website showed. The staff were extremely attentive and dealt with everything so professionally. We loved the breakfast by the pool .The beach was relatively quiet and incredibly beautiful. We had a great time and so did the teenagers. If you book a 2 bedroom villa just be aware that there is only one with an ocean view- its worth it to upgrade.

Room Tip: If you book a 2 bedroom villa just be aware that there is only one with an ocean view- its worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Curious022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is amazing. Its the rooms and the views (from every part of the room) that makes it so phenomenal. The pool in the room is fabulous! There was nothing wrong during our stay. One of the best hotels and views. The reception staff can be probably a little more helpful specially when asked about local things.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have been to Thailand many times and have various hotel, I must say The Shore is the most amazing place to stay. The staff were more than helpful, our room was exactly as expected. We have stayed at the Katathani before and it was lovely but The Shore was beyond all expectations. We will definitely be going back, it's on the beach with fantastic views and only a short drive to Patong if you want to shop. It's a short walk to Kata for great restaurants as well. Can't wait to get back

Room Tip: Pool Villa is a bit cheaper but we still had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jasna1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Pricey, but so worth it! amazing views, beach is more secluded, staff are very helpful and the room and infinity pool is just awesome. Really wanted to spoil my wife with a great second honey moon and this place made it worth while! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have frequently travelled to Thailand and have always chosen this hotel since I discovered it. Staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel has large, comfortable rooms in beautiful conditions. Its location is just on the beach. The food in general are excellent. One of the best Hotel I have even been.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

You really cannot go wrong staying here. From the stunning and unique location, beautiful villas, and outstanding and super friendly staff, it really does not get much better than this if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to unwind for a few days, or even more if you are lucky.

The highlight of a stay here is your private pool villa with beautiful views of the beach below that is set in a picture perfect cove. The villas are large with well thought out layouts and great flow. The bedroom is spacious with a wall of glass to the plunge pool and view beyond. The pool water is cool. From the room you can open the sliders and jump into the pool, or open a different door and head into the covered outdoor lounge area, or open interior shutter doors and have another way into the beautiful bathroom. The bed faces the sea so you will always wake up with a stunning view straight ahead to start your day. Two chairs and a desk alcove complete the room. The bathroom is very large with a nice hardwood floor, white wood beamed high ceiling, a shower large enough for two, and a separate water closet. A wall of glass to the view helps makes the room feel like it is outside. Besides the covered lounge area with cushy couch are two loungers sunk into the plunge pool. A corridor behind the bedroom has ample storage area for your personal items. The décor is soft colors with elegant touches that create a wonderful relaxing environment. Our only complaint was that there was enough space in the villa for a lounge chair in the bedroom so that you could overlook the sea and be in air conditioning if you so desired.

Even though you may not want to leave this little paradise, eventually you will have to. Each day we enjoyed a great full buffet breakfast at the small outdoor restaurant that sits next to the main pool and overlooks the sea. We also had lunch here one day but found the menu for dinner a little too fancy for us. So for dinner we ventured next door to the sister property and enjoyed meals at some of their five or so restaurant choices. We also enjoyed a room service dinner one night. The food overall was very good.

The main pool is large, very nice, piano shaped, and overlooks the beach. There are some lounge chairs around it, with more nearby on a grassy area that also overlooks the sea. During winter if you want direct sun, you will have to go to these areas or to the beach since the villas are built into a hillside facing north and do not get much direct sunlight during this period. Given the warmth of the island, that can be a good thing.

There is an attractive but small gym that allows you to get the basics done. There is also a small library where you can select from dvd offerings and check the internet. We did not get a chance to use the spa, but it did look very nice.

The hillside location is a challenge, with lots of steps (or golf carts if you desire staff help), but it is well worth it. Since the hotel is small with all villas, it feels so private and quiet. Yet with the larger sister resort next door you have more dining and sports options nearby if you want them.

We also received a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport, which is about 1 hour away, by making our reservation directly with the hotel. Something that is worth checking into.

Besides the outstanding villas, we could not believe how friendly the staff was. They really stand out here and help put you in a relaxing state of mind.

For a special and memorable vacation, a stay here is a treat you will not regret.

Room Tip: Mid-level sea view room was perfect. Walkable via stairs to pool / beach / restaurant. Plus seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed there for 4 days. We took the highest villa at the very back " the best" welcoming drinks, flowers, peanuts. A place hinging down on the edge of the world. If you are planning to go there, plan your stay in the room and forget about the rest of the world for those days.
check-in amazing. Room and view wow'ed us. breakfast open buffet: just ask for what you want and the quality you seek and you most likely will receive it. Very very quite. Lovely insuite welcoming screen. Infinite espresso and tea refill caps " my favorite part of the whole setup :).
However, due to the setup and rooms arrangements, room service might take some time and you are likely to be left for quite sometime waiting if you asked for something, due to that they have to take a club car and drive all the way to your room, but it has its advantages. The open buffet breakfast comes into your room and you get to wake up with lovely variety of food seated by the pool watching a segment of the view. Pictures shared shall be able to project an image of the words spoken within.
The place is amazing and will definitively go there again.
bathroom is lovely, everything seemed perfect and you see the word "EXCEPT"
- bathroom floor was made of wooden lodges or sthg of that matter that had spaces in between, which simply allowed a variety of insects indoor, however luckily only a small cockroach or sthg arrived to our bed room. We also spotted quite a well sized spider strolling on my luggage and enjoying the ride, but their team took care of it. Actually they will come to your room just to take out a gecko or any other insect that you find in the bathroom or room, they usually show up after sunset, so you know what you gotta do :).
our private swimming pool had amazing themes and controllable lighting, BUT was darn freezing for my wife and was not a option for even thinking about it in the morning.
To conclude:
room: 10/10
bathroom: 9/10
room service: 7/10
view: 10/10
quality: 10/10
value: 8/10
quietness: 10/10
furnishing 10/10
swimming pool: 7/ 10 I will give it 9/10 if they consider heating the water a little bit.
Location: 6/10 it didnt bother us coz we had rented our own car. I believe the hotel could arrange for transportation, but if you are headed there to spend you day out, then think again.
Will go there again? yes, hoping they consider their nightly rates

Room Tip: take the villa at the very back, it has the best view and most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABebars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,288 reviews
16.2 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £362 - £983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing