We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Worth every penny and exceeded my expectations in every way!

My partner, myself and my elderly parents stayed in a 2 Bedroom Ocean View Villa and were blown away with the service. What you can't gain from the website is how well the employees are trained and what an exceptional experience they deliver-- consistently. We spent 3 weeks in Thailand staying at 5 Star hotels and the service we were given at The Shore blew the others out of the water. Jimmy, the cart driver, always had a smile and even remembered our names! Vivi taught a Thai Language Class (complementary) and did a great job!

Breakfast is at the buffet or it can be delivered to your room (at no additional charge), if ordered by 9pm the night before... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! You choose a 15 minute window and it's delivered exactly on-time, every time! What a treat! If you want something that's not on the menu, just ask!

The views and rooms are even better than the website depicts. Our 2 Bedroom Villa was perfect for our family, as it provided lots of room and an excellent floor plan. Time to be together and privacy to be apart.

If I had to complain about one detail it would be the mini bar. It's a pet-pieve of mine in some 5 star hotels that are a bit behind in their thinking. It usually goes like this.... We just spent $1,200 USD per night for 6 nights. At check-out we are asked if we took anything from the mini-bar (like a Coke that maybe cost 50 cents). Our answer is no. Followed by a sigh, as our 5 Star Service has just been deflated. Despite excellent service by the staff, management has let us down with an out-of-date policy of nickle-and-diming us.

A few tips:
1) We ate at Mom's Tri Kitchen. It's a 15 min walk down the beach or a short cab ride. It was just OK and not as good as the TripAdvisor Reviews.
2) Our favorite restaurant was Bella Vista Restaurant at Villa Elisabeth! It's a 7 minute cab ride away. Beautiful views, outstanding food. We went back 2 times!
3) We ate at La Scala (Italian) at the Katathani and were very disappointed. Alternately, we ate at Cinnamon Restaurant, also at the Katathani, and it was quite good.
4) If you are traveling in high season (December-June) book your tours several months in advance, esp. Phi Phi. The highly rated companies with smaller groups fill up fast.
5) We used the airport transportation offered by The Shore and were very happy. On-time, very comfortable, large, air conditioned van for the 1 hour drive to/from Phuket Airport.

Thanks to the wonderful staff for treating us so well. The Shore delivers the Best Service in Thailand. Kob Khun Krup!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank TXFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great hotel, excellent service, immaculate grounds. If you are considering going to The Shore, trust all the good reviews, pack and go, this is the best you will find in Phuket. And also Kata Noi is one of the most secluded, tranquil beaches around the island, with clean blue water and great sand. Not much more to add that hasn't been said previously here, so I will not waste your time and just confirm the "Excellent" rating for this hotel.

Expensive yes, but you will definitively not feel cheated in the end.

Room Tip: Higher is not necessarily better here, all rooms are excellent and provide great views, some more of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was a truly luxurious place. World-class service, staff living for you 24/7. Very private and personal experience. What every 5-star resort should aim to be like. Definitely go there if you can afford it. It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jxscott77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I would have gave it a perfect score except that we had a lot of ants in our outdoor sitting area. So many that we never sat in the sitting area beside the pool (pool villa) throughout our stay. To their respect they did come down and spray the area with bug spray but that did not get rid of them. Either than that beautiful hotel, unbeliever rooms and the best beach in Phuket. Travelled November 2011 for my honeymoon.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garciaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

What can I say.. this was one of the best holidays I have ever had and this hotel was probably one of the best, if not the best hotel I have ever stayed at ... We arrived to a warm welcome, flowers and a fruit cocktail upon check in. We were then driven to our sea view pool villa where I untied a ribbon flower garland to open the gate to our villa porch before entering the villa. The villa, No. 8871, was simply fantastic - the pictures on the website are truly representative. We specifically requested this villa having seen the recommendations saying that it was the most private as it is on the end with views of Kata Noi and the rainforest being all you really see. Great for swimming nude in your private infinity pool! The villa is a short walk to the beach and the Harbour restaurant down the stairs, but they will fetch you by golf cart if you are less inclined to excercise :) We arrived in the dark, so the following morning, waking up to that exquisite view was breathtaking... it never got old and every day we remarked how lucky we were to be in this paradise. We had a huge breakfast daily with smoked cheese filled sausages (divine!), crispy bacon, poached eggs and the rest of the full English, as well as pastries, french toast, pancakes, tropical fruits and the list goes on. I am shocked by the review that said the breakfast was not great...it has everything and more than you could possibly wish for. The first morning the boyfriend ordered a "romantic breakfast" - well worth it :) We also had dinner at the Harbour restaurant a few times and it was lovely every time. We also tried out Mom Tri's Kitchen just across the bay, which was brilliant. When my other half had a bit of a 24 hour fever bug the staff were fantastic. They helped us get hold of some paracetamol at midnight during a heavy monsoon and kindly sent flowers and asked how we was doing over the next few days. Every day there was a new treat or special surprise. Such amazing service. Overall, the holiday was fabulous and we will definitely be going back to this hotel. What an amazing place...

Room Tip: The villa, No. 8871, was simply fantastic - the pictures on the website are truly representative. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel is superb!!! We received a very warm welcome on arrival and were given icy cool towels, cashew nuts and cashew nut juice. We were taken up to our rooms on a golf buggy and we were in awe of the amazing view from the forest to the beach and over the ocean. We had our own infinity pool which was perfect water temperature. The rooms were very comfortable and very well designed. A lot of thought has gone into making your stay as comfortable as possible. All the staff were amazing. Their genuine warmth and willingness to assist was greatly appreciated. A highlight each morning was the breakfast. The chef "Saiyan" was amazing! Many thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay more to get a room with a view as you definitely won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jj777jjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 6 nights and we absolutely loved it, from the moment we walked into the room we where speechless with the view and the room itself! The beach is pristine and the snorkeling was great and if you get a chance try the pad thai from the little beach cafe on the rocks its a fantastic place to have lunch and its directly down stairs from the villas.
Breakfast was wonderful and the lighthouse restaurant had amazing food for dinner. On our last night i booked the table by the pool and they set it up with personalized menus and candles it was really cool.
So if your thinking about booking do it this is paradise!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
938 reviews
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#31 of 55 in Kata Beach
831 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fullmoon Beach Resort
Fullmoon Beach Resort
#13 of 66 in Kata Beach
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £354 - £1,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing