We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely exceptional.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
1,051 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 725 helpful votes
“Truely exceptional.”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I wasn’t too sure about going to Phuket as a destination – we’d had a lovely holiday last year in some astounding overwater accommodation, snorkelling over coral reefs off our back deck, in a resort on an isolated Fijian island, and I just wasn’t convinced that Phuket could match this experience. I did the research and was somewhat reassured by the good reviews of The Shore on Tripadvisor, so made the booking. As all the other reviews attest, this was exquisite accommodation. We had an absolutely brilliant stay, and I couldn’t recommend The Shore more highly.
It is expensive – it cost around AUD$5,800 for the 7 nights. But this included the accommodation, return airport transfers (quality vehicles, both ways), drinks, meals and massages charged back to the room. But you get what you pay for, and I was searching for something above average - The Shore ticks all the boxes.
Our room – a Seaview Pool Villa set high up the cliff – was simply stunning. It was huge, with a huge bed, a huge bathroom and its own huge horizon plunge pool (in fact, it’s not really a “plunge” pool at all!). You just step out of your room into the pool with a view over the beach. The bathroom featured a large shower, a lovely bath with a view over the deck to the sea, separate toilet and twin vanity basins. There were toiletries, robes and slippers, numerous towels, and even a shaving mirror. The air-conditioned room had a wall-mounted flat screen TV, dual wardrobes and drawers, dressing table, electric safe, Bose iPod dock, a scented oil burner, bar fridge (alcohol and soft drinks charged to the room, complimentary bottled water), electric jug, wine & champagne glasses, easy-to-use coffee machine, coffee table and chairs. There’s a large sofa and coffee table on the deck, and two comfy day-beds. Plus, there are nice little touches like an umbrella, thongs (flip-flops) and a beach bag. You can get up to the higher villas by buggy all the time, but we didn’t mind the walk.
We bought milk and some mixers from a near-by shop and kept them in the fridge (thought the mixers were only marginally more expensive through the mini-bar - less than 5 cents). When asking for a bucket of ice from room service, it was always there within 5 minutes.
The maid service was terrific, and it was fun to see what animals they had created with the towels (eg, a pair of swans, a crab and an elephant). On one occasion, we returned to the room to find that they had made up our room with flowers and candles. They’d even spelt out the word “surprise” in flower petals in the foyer.
There is brilliant Wi-Fi in the room; in fact throughout the resort. At least some of the power-points in the room were universal – able to take Australian, English, European and US plugs without adapters – very clever.
There is a laundry service, not that we used it; a library with computer access and a small boutique.
The gym is the best that I have used in a hotel/resort, bar none. It’s relatively small, with a couple of benches, a set of various sized dumb-bells, 2 cable machines, a Swiss ball and some abdominal mats, a treadmill, a cross-trainer and 2 different stationary bikes. But it’s all new; it all works, and it’s all the latest gear (the dumb-bells are rubber coated; the machines have in-built fans). There’s no rust or damage to anything – extraordinary! When you arrive, you are given a towel and a cold bottle of water. When you leave – a cold, eucalyptus scented face-washer and another cold bottle of water. There’s a flat screen TV, but they usually play upbeat music tracks. I used it 4 times and was very impressed.
The horizon pool and surrounding area is delightful, and you can have cheap cocktails (2 for 1 happy hour) and watch the sun set over the sea from here. It’s also the venue for breakfast and it operates as a restaurant (The Harbour) at night. They do private romantic dinners here too.
The beach is terrific. They charge for loungers, as it’s a public beach, but you can stay by the pool and just swim in the ocean if you like. The sand is fine, the beach is cleaned every morning, and the water is crystal clear, warm and azure blue. You can Jet Ski (1600 baht for half an hour), parasail (as I did, at 1500 baht [about AUD$48.00] per go), and the boat will also drag you around on various floating devices.
The Shore staff are all delightful – reception, restaurants, security – everyone said hello with a big smile. And nothing seemed too much trouble.
We ate a few times in the hotel; a few times in the adjoining resort; and even had a really tasty Pad Thai at an out-of-the-way “food court” for about AUD$2.00. We ran out of nights to try some of the other swanky restaurants nearby. Breakfast was standard buffet style, with fruit, cereals, yoghurts, Asian, and bacon/eggs/tomatoes, etc. Try the omelette bar – yes the eggs are cooked in front of you, but look out for the meats there. It often had different things – like ham-off-the-bone, roast beef (not bad with eggs for breakfast!) and the most mouth-watering steak cut and cooked in front of you.
One tip given to us that was sooo helpful was to go to the sister resort (as you’re entitled to) just next door and sit around the pool there. There are lots of families and kids at that resort, so it’s not as quiet as around The Shore’s horizon pool, but they have ladies who come around offering pedicures and foot massages through to full body massages. It is much, much cheaper than the spa at either resort, and also cheaper than those on the beach. Plus you can charge it back to your room, so you don’t need to carry cash (though we tipped them). We had it 3 times it was so good (how does about AUD$30 for 2 hours of massage sound?).
All-in-all, The Shore and its location are simply superb. We certainly hope to be back.

Room Tip: If you can make the climb, the higher villas give a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    160
    43
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
986
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just returned from 13 nights at the Shore and are trying to come to terms with the real world. For the last 13 days we have lived in heaven, so much has been said on this site about the Shore and how wonderful it is and it is all true. So instead of repeating this I will highlight why we think this resort is the best we have ever stayed at.
The staff are amazing, not in a in your face, forced high levels of service way, but rather it all seems to come naturally to them and you get the feeling that they are there to also enjoy your holiday with you. This goes for front of house staff all the way through to the room staff, buggy drivers, security an so on.

Whilst we were there we experienced the Tsunami warning, a truly terrorfying experience for all especially those who sadly experienced the 2004 Tsunami. However not only did I see all staff putting priority on getting the guests to a safe high point, once there they constantly delivered, water, food, cold towels, sheets, mosqito spays, with the purpose of ensuring that all guests were looked after. To think that most of these staff had families whom they were worried about, it was truly well above and beyond any level of service I have experienced and thankfully Phuket was spared the disaster which had gone before. Long may this continue!!

I had read a lot about the sea view rooms and unfortunately by the time we tried to book, there wasn't any available. However we were in room 8857 which was a garden view and to be honest I preferred this as we had a very private but very pretty spot.

Some restaurants to try whilst you are there are Bann rim pa in Patong, which is a lovely restaurant great views and great food, not the cheapest but good for a special meal. Also the red snapper in kata beach, great sushi and pasta, quite simple but excellent service and Lucky Toms in Kata beach, very simple but excellent Thai food and service.

I would also highly recommend for any divers amongst you to use Sea fun divers, they are 5 minutes from the hotel and are definitely a cut above the other diving companies in Phuket.
Very professional and definitely not over priced.

So in summary my only negative for The Shore is that I am now going to spend my holidays comparing all other hotels to their standard which is a very high expectation.
Would we return there? Definitely, couldn't see us staying anywhere else if we return to Phuket. Our thanks to all of the staff for making our excellent holiday!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend 8857, for a sea view you have the wonderful bar and restaurant so why not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in December 2011, and absolutely loved the hotel. Rooms are enormous and immaculately furnished, views are to die for. We has had a pool villa, didn't really use the plunge pool but it looked lovely! Not the cheapest of locations but worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Nothing nothing nothing....There was nothing wrong at this hotel!!! From the moment we arrived to the welcoming smiles and the personal welcome from the resort manager,Sabina, to the end.Absolutely amazing.We were buggied up to our villa accompanied by the beautiful Kathy and as soon as we walked in we knew this was heaven on earth.The rooms are everything you see on the net and so much more to actually experience.Its enough to bring you to tears.We had breakfast in our room and the detail and service for that whole experience was simply incredible.Even the eggs and banana pancakes were in a heart shape.The buggy boys were a sheer delight and were always happy to take you at a moments notice.A couple had their own cheeky sense of humour and had us laughing at every opportunity.The lovely Sylvia on the front desk,along with Pitta attended to our every need and always with the beautiful smiles that you come to expect in Thailand. I wanted to sneak them into my suitcase and smuggle them home.The breakfast in the restaurant by the beach was superb with the most flavoursome mango i have ever tasted.The staff there were of the same wonderful standard and were calling us by our first names on the second day.Hello to Praphet and the other waiter whose name we didnt get.We will be back as this is burnt into our memories and staying anywhere else would be lowering your standards.

Room Tip: A high room for the view and you are then able to swim nude in privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThreeAussieChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Who said Phuket is passé? This resort felt like a dream. Get the private pool villa facing the ocean. Unblocked view of the azure sea, Kata Noi beach and the height on a cliff meant the activities on the beach could be observed as we pleased, but didn't disturb our peace.

This place has soul. The resort encourages guests to be eco friendly and provides turtle figurines with various distinguishing features for guests to indicate their preferences as to when sheets / towels should be changed, when housekeeping is required, when one would prefer not to be disturbed. E.g. a Turtle wearing a shower cap indicates a preference for towels not to be changed that day.

Villa furnishings were classy and tasteful, and one of the best I've had. Eye pillows were a great touch, as with the animal-legged tub, lavazza coffee machine, bath salts all add to the experience. I also love the outdoor pavilion where one can enjoy the view and a glass of wine, and at sun set, sleep under a canopy of stars, open to the world's elements.

One thing we will point out is that our stay was marred by construction noise next to our villa. This was however remedied by the service staff. We informed the resort staff, but the noise continue for 3 days. When we registered our discontent again, the noise finally stopped, and the manager of the resort wrote a personal apology, offering a complimentary dinner at the resort's restaurant to make up for the noise. The meal was sumptuous, variety of wine world class, service was splendid, and paved the way for yet another night to remember, never mind that the music was on repeat.

We didn't manage to take advantage of the cooking classes / yoga / batik painting activities that the resort has on its calendar as most of these classes take place on weekdays. However, our stay was delightful. Service from housekeeping to front desk, to buggy drivers, wait staff, spa staff, to manager was all top class.

Well done, Sabina, Sylvia and everyone else.

We hope to return to this excellent resort soon.

Room Tip: Get one with the view. You wouldn't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank junoesque24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

After lots of research we decided on the shore for our 10 day holiday. From the moment we stepped into reception and was greeted with jasmine flowers and cold drink I knew we had made the right choice. Our room was stunning and exceeded expectations. Stunning view, pool, lounge area and bathroom. All in cool creams.
We loved the beach, cold changs at " on the rocks" and cocktails at the harbour for sunset.
The service was outstanding and you just couldn't fault it. But for me, I have never enjoyed a more relaxing holiday. I am going home totally chilled and that is some achievement which I totally put down to the hotel, stunning location and amazing staff


On the only downside, good restaurants outside resort were hard to find. It was either high end expensive ma tri kitchen with stunning views and mediocre food or great food in lucky toms but ok surroundings. The harbour in the hotel did have a candle lit evening which we never got around to doing but will the next time.

If your looking for pure class hotel to relax and unwind then this is paradise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raylorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The moment we stepped into our seaview villa and opened up the bedroom's curtain, we were speechless. The view was simply stunning! It was the best combination of stunning view and comfortable stay you ever get. Everything seems to be top notch from the moment we arrived at the lobby to checked-out. The services and friendliness of the staff are beyond expectation.

The bedroom is comfortable with unobstructed stunning view of the Andaman Sea. And yes We love to lay on the comfy bed to enjoy the stunning seaview. Remember to pre-select the
type of pillows you prefer so you can cuddle them in bed while enjoying the view. We have pre-selected our pillow menu and many other things from the internet once we completed the villa reservation. There was a turndown service in the evening. We came back and noticed the curtains were all closed with some romantic music and soft lightings to set you into the mood.

The bathroom which is adjacent to the bedroom is rather large with separate bathtub and rain shower. It has good supply of amenities for you to enjoy.

Shutterbugs prepare spend some time shooting the stunning seaview, beaches, and of course the villa too. There were many typical beach activities which you can witness from your villa.

Alternatively, you may want to relax in the infinity pool (in front of your bedroom). Enjoy the sound of waves, and not to forget the stunning view of the sunset.

The public areas of the hotel are rather small and you don't have much place to roam around. I guess the hotel wants everyone to stay in the villa to enjoy the comfort and view.

We had buffet breakfast at the Harbour which has good selections of food and juices. You can opt to dine in your villa as you wish.

We truly enjoy our romantic stay and our memory will last forever despite our short stay. I'm sure we will be back to the Shore in the future. This is a heaven forhoneymooners for a memorable and relaxing stay.

Tips:
- If you like continuous air-conditioning, you cannot open the main and side sliding windows as the sensors will deactivate the air-conditioning.
- For shutterbugs, prepare your camera early as the best sunset view is only a couple of minutes at around 6:30pm during March. If you missed, you have to wait for another evening.
- Dine at Mom's Tri Kitchen which is about 5-10min buggy ride. Ask the front reception and they will call to reserve a table for you and with complimentary return transfers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank UnderTheSheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
895 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,680 reviews
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing