We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rest and Work”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Did a lot of research and I settled on this place for a much needed break with my hubby. I was supposed to spend 10 days in Phuket , 8 days of rest n 2 days of work. We started with the break, arriving late on a friday night to the sea view villa. On first look, the villa looked smaller than we expected. But the next day it looked bright, airy, and very clean n tidy. The pool was small just to dip and fool around so if u want a good swim go to the main pool. We were very well taken of. I asked for a secluded villa n we got one (8881) right at the end with the 4-bedded villa above us. We didn't get the full sea view (8871 will give u that) but it was quiet and private.

There's only one restaurant and the spa only has 3 rooms but the great advantage of the shore is it's linked to the Neighbouring Katathani beach resort which has several restaurants and a spa that is cheAper. It's just minutes of walk but a buggy T either resort will bring u to and fro. N u can charge to your room if u eat, shop and drink at that resort. There are minimarts and cheaper restaurants along the street next to the Katathani resort, so there's no shortage of options.

So after 5 days at The Shore, my husband returned home but I remained in Phuket, with the aim of changing resorts to another one in the hills where I would work. But after a day at that resort, I fled back to the shore, this time staying at the pool villas at the back of the hills. Though I had to pay more than double, i had no regrets returning. Things work efficiently here and the villas, though smaller, are so comfy and accessible. And best of all, even though I was alone, I didn't feel very insecure and didn't feel alone as the staff took good care of me.

Pros - villas are v clean, neat, tidy. Writing desk looked crammed n dingy but when I worked at it it was roomier than it looked. Views of the sea view villas fantastic, worth paying for it. Pool villas same layout but with no views are quite clustered, so u get less privacy. Coffee machine gives great coffee, and sala very comfy but that's for petite persons like me. Massages are great - May is great with her hands. I took 3 massages and she soothed those pains and knots. One MUST-DO - at least one evening at the Harbor from 6pm to watch the spectacular sunsets. I spent three dinners alone there but never felt lonely despite the couples. It's not very crowded so it's easy to get tables. You will feel so tranquil, blessed, and rested as you sit there for the night. Tho the guitarist is pretty pitchy but at least he plays relaxing songs.

Cons - security-wise an b improved. It's really quite safe but a lone traveler like me, the sliding foors at the bathroom to the pool deck can't b locked. And the doors from the bathroom into the bedroom can't be locked either. The sea view villa are pretty high so chances of climbing in are low, but for pool villas, I noted that one could just walk up the path next to the pool into the deck and then into the bathroom. There shd b a lock at least on the sliding doors form the bathroom into the pool deck.
Another con - the TV is screwed high up on the wall. Altho the set in the seaview villa was angled down, the one in the pool villa was angled up. For a short person like me, I had to tilt my neck up to watch and tat was bait of a strain. The housekeeping couldn't resolve the problem so I had to bear with it.

But to the resort's credit, they made it up with a dinner voucher and gave me a spectacular fruit platter. Very nice touches and that's why my husband and I plan to return again very soon, this time hopefully for a longer stay.....

Room Tip: Pick one that has the same facing as the Harbor restaurant - u shd get the benefits of the constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kimmietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    158
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
65
967
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was truly the most magnificent hotel experience I have had. The sea facing rooms are as good as the pics suggest, the staff could not be more friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect if you want something a little quieter. It's only a short taxi trip to Kata beach ($6). You have access to all the Katathani resort amenities, while The Shore facilities are exclusive to guests who stay there. This is best for couples with its romantic setting, definitely not for families. The rooms are more like villas and you really get a sense of privacy. Request a room lower down the hill if you dont fancy steep uphill treks to your room, although there are golf carts on tap to cater to your very need.

Room Tip: Lower down are more convenient as the hotel is built on a steep hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StefanG919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent some days for my honeymoon at this hotel and it was just wonderful! The room had the perfect sea view, private pool and lots of space. The service was impecable, I can´t say anything bad about it. Heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We splurged for a special occasion (30th Wedding Anniversary) and stayed at The Shore for 4 nights. The most we had every paid to stay in hotels or resorts was US$300 per night so this was a real splurge for which we felt we did not get our monies worth. Unfortunately for us, even though we explained it was a special occasion and we asked for a room with a great view, we got one with a tree in front of us that obscured our view (see photos added to TA). They were fully booked so we could not move. I think they should offer the villas behind trees at a cheaper rate. At around US$800 per night it is not the average cost of a hotel and puts it in the luxury bracket so for that price we wanted a unobstructed view and a bit more service. The resort was opened in April last year and it is already showing signs of needing repairs.

Positives: Freestanding Villa, large rooms and spaces, infinity pool, alfresco outdoor area, great bathroom, good water pressure in shower, separate toilet, good facilities in the villa, great clean white sandy beach, good restaurants and facilities at Katathani (sister resort next door), Spa treatments great but highly priced for Phuket, electric car transport anywhere around the resort and down to Katathani, Wi Fi in the room.

Negatives: More attention to detail required in cleaning - our tiled toilet still had the grout film all over the tiles and needed cleaning properly, black mould in shower and toilet, sliding glass door tracks from bathroom to alfresco area rusty making doors hard to slide, arm chairs in villa were uncomfortable, ants and bugs in villa for which it would have been nice to have a can of insect spray, balustrades around villa rusting. Restaurant - only one restaurant and it is all open air, would be nice to have an air-conditioned choice in the very humid weather. Buffet breakfast laid out in open air restaurant with flies on the food. At one breakfast we saw a bird fly in and peck at the bread which a staff member saw and shooed the bird away. The staff member did not remove the piece of bread from the display that the bird had pecked at. YUK.

It is a shame that in 12 months that things are deteriorating at this resort and I believe at US$800 per night it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not behind a tree but good luck with it as we asked and did not get it. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

As so many say this is not the cheapest around but the villas are very well laid out and you feel welcome and relaxed.I suggest a sea view room to take full advantage of the beautiful bay,which helps to feel the beauty of the resort.

The weather was disappointing monsoon rains earthquakes .....the worlds weather is certain of change.

The service was ok but not as friendly as some mention the staff appear tired but we were there over the new year.having stayed in other 5 star hotels the breakfast was limited in comparison but had a good selection.we didn t eat dinner but many said the food was excellent .the chief was trained in Switzerland so a good combo was on offer.

Nice. Relaxes gardens and pool quiet maybe as the policy was no kids under the age of 12!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to spend 8 nights at The Shore for our honeymoon in April... this resort is heaven on earth! We have stayed in beautiful resorts and hotels around the world but this one takes the cake because of it's service, location, room layout & finishings, cleanliness and overall quality of the resort.

The layout of the entire resort is nothing short of perfect. You can tell that so much thought was put into the early stages of planning because everything has been considered. 

Villa 8821 (sea view pool villa) was our home for the 8 nights. It felt like a perfect spot because it was down low enough so we could walk up the stairs yet high enough to still be able to enjoy jaw dropping views of the Andaman Sea. 

The villa's infinity pool looks open when standing on the beach looking up but is completely private when you are actually in the pool and you cannot see other guests when you are in your own villa. The views are what postcards are made of!! 

Everyone at The Shore has a natural kindness about them, their service doesn't feel at all forced - it's as if they get pleasure by making you smile.  It feels like they are one big happy group of friends.

We would like to send a special thank you to Silvia who was our exceptional "host" - she attended to our every request with such grace and friendliness. 

Also Praphet who is a supervisor of "The Harbour/Lighthouse"- he has the warmest heart but a hilarious sense of humor!! He also does a fabulous wine tasting in "The Cove"which is enjoyable and personal.

It would be remiss of us not to acknowledge the phenomenal service provided by the buggy drivers for their humor and kindness on each drive, housekeeping for their world class attention to detail and thoughtful "surprises", front of house for their prompt and friendly service and the restauranteurs for keeping our glasses topped up with tasty cocktails and our bellies full of delicious meals... even the gardeners do a fantastic job with the upkeep of the stunning gardens!! 

From the moment we arrived to the second we left we were trapped in a perfect dream that we didn't want to wake from... As we were packing our bags on our final day I was so sad to be leaving that I cried my eyes out... We will always remember the amazing time we had at The Shore.

It was a privilege to stay at The Shore and we would highly recommend it for anyone, but especially honeymooners like us.

The Shore should be named in Trip Advisors "Best Of"!!!! 

Room Tip: 1) Be sure to fill out "Stay as You Wish" before you arrive to select your pillows, games...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bren&Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Booked into villa 8825, garden view. Althogh it is garden view, it also has a partial see view.

I was a little dubious about booking after reading some of the reviews, but changed our mind after arriving at the Katathani resort and taking a stroll up to 'The Shore' section.

Extra large King sized bed. VERY comfortable. Lovely decor. Loads of space. Clean! Outstanding service.

Infinity style plunge pool, crystal clear water, beside sun deck. Alfresco nook with lounge as well offers plenty of outdoor options for relaxing outdoors.

Whilst it is not 100% obscured from view of others it is still quite private.

We loved it and would not hesitate to recommend or stay again.

It is a little walk from the centre of the resort, but not an issue if you don't mind a little stroll. We quite liked this fact as it is what gives it a sense of privacy. It's set on a bit of a hill, but nothing dramatic and they offer a buggy service at times ehen you're not interested in the walk. Easy access to the beach and facilities.

Not for children under 12 and they actually prohibit this from a safety point of view. Making it a perfect option for a nice couples getaway.

Great security. Excellent facilities attached to the resort.

Room Tip: If staying in a garden view, we were really happy with villa 8825.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing