We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at The Shore for 4 nights and everything was perfect except some minor issues on room cleanliness. One day I found a dead cockroach on the floor which is close to the entrance, and another day there is a dead wasp in the bath room. Both of them happened just after the room make-up, however the employe of The Shore didn't found and clean it up.

Room Tip: Prefer a seaView villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear JohnChe2012
Thank you for your posted review! I am extremely glad to read that you had a nearly perfect stay at The Shore!
Due to the location of our resort, we sometimes have a small influx of harmless bugs around this time of year.
We do apologize for the inconvenience and in response to your comment, will pay more attention to this important issue. We’ve notified the Director of Housekeeping of your complaint, and we will investigate this matter and do our best, to improve the service of our employee.
Your sincerely
Sabina D.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Where do I start to describe our experience at The Shore?

My husband and I stayed here in room 8814 - an ocean view pool villa for 8 nights for our honeymoon in early May and we loved every minute of it.

The service is second-to-none - nothing is too much trouble for these beautiful people. The thing that impressed us the most was their attention to detail. Everything is perfect. From the flowers and little notes left on our bed, to the amazing food and cocktails - The Shore is something you have to experience.

A special mention goes to Jim, who we absolutely love. Jim was so kind to us when unfortunately my husband got a touch of Thai Belly - he drove me down the road to a pharmacist to get some medicine and offered to wait for me and drive me back. Jim even asked how My husband was feeling the next day.

With the service, you really feel that it is coming from a genuine place. All smiles, and it's all real.

The Shore is so private - perfect for honeymooners. Even when we ventured down to The Harbour for a meal, you still felt very secluded. We would have only seen a handful of people the whole time we were there, but there would have been many more staying when we were.

To the people that were whinging about silly little things like having a tree obstruct your view of the ocean - seriously get over yourself. We had the palm trees out the front of our room too, but could still see plenty of beach and water.

On our day of departure, our transfers weren't due until 4pm, but the hotel was more than happy to let us stay in our room right up until then. I think this is absolutely fantastic - because in such a hot, humid country, you want to be able to get fresh for your flights home.

My husband and I cannot thank the staff at The Shore enough for making our honeymoon so special. We have recommended the resort to all of our friends (some that will most likely be booking in there for their honeymoons) and have vowed to return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Zoe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My first stop in my honey moon was the shore i will never regret going there, the service was perfect and the staff there were more than kind to us however i saw review regarding the Halal food and I would support my vote to that review. However everything was perfect and can't thank enough everyone there for making my experience with my wife unforgettable.
Moreover I think the pools need to be heated since i traveled in December and i couldn't enjoy the pool except in the afternoons .
TIP: ask for the trips orginized by the hotel.

Room Tip: choose higher floors definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harbi3666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We just returned from a weekend at The Shore and the experience exceeded our expectations in every respect. Upon arrival at Phuket airport we were greeted by a very friendly and professionally attired driver who drove us to the resort in comfort. A gated property adjacent to the Katathani Beach Resort, the Shore sits on a small hill overlooking the white-sand Kata Noi Beach. Check-in was a breeze - we were presented with warm hand cloths, fresh fruit juice, flower garlands, and gracious Thai hospitality reminiscent of the Land of Smiles! Sabina, the resort manager, came over to greet us, after which a golf cart whisked us uphill to our Seavew Pool Villa. The villa was the perfect couple’s retreat, with enough amenities to keep us thoroughly pampered throughout our entire stay: a private infiniti pool overlooking the ocean, outdoor patio, lounge deck, flat-screen TV, in-room WiFi, large corner monsoon rain shower, and freestanding bath tub. The bed (which was huge) was even strewn with rose petals and towels shaped like swans! While we had initially planned to spend much of the day sightseeing in Phuket, we quickly realized we’d prefer basking in the comfort of our villa and watching the spectacular sunsets over Kata Noi beach. During our stay we also took advantage of the complimentary in-room breakfast service, which allows you to customize your meal from a Western selection of eggs, meats, croissants, muffins, coffee, tea, and juice; this was available until 11am which was perfect for late sleepers like ourselves. Breakfast was also offered at the Shore’s oceanfront restaurant, the Harbor, yet we only made use of the Harbor for its afternoon tea and snack service, which runs from 3:30 to 5pm (complimentary for guests). In addition, the Shore maintains its own private bar, wine cellar, spa, and library, and guests are also entitled to enjoy the facilities and pools at the Katathani Beach Resort next door. Golf cart transportation from the Shore is available 24 hours a day which was always prompt and came in quite handy for getting around. The staff we met throughout our stay were warm, friendly, eager to please, and genuinely interested in delighting guests - the management of the Shore deserves kudos for their hiring and training. As the Shore is less than two years old, buildings are modern and the grounds are immaculately maintained.The only conceivable improvement I might make would be to increase the selection of DVD titles available for guests at the library - a few classics like Casablanca would be a welcome addition! All in all, the Shore is the perfect escape for couples looking to celebrate a special occasion or unwind from the stresses of modern life. We just wished we could have stayed longer - once you arrive, it is so hard to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestVillagerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Of course, the only reason why we chose The Shore was because of the many raving reviews. As this was our long-awaited honeymoon (and since it was already a year after the wedding, our anniversary too!) we decided to go all out for this trip.

Firstly, the transfer from the airport to the resort was quite a wait, although we managed to find the hotel rep (it wasn't very easy, as the airport was chaotic!) we had to wait for the van to arrive for at least 20 mins. In the mean time, we had to move here and there as ppl were walking in every direction. Not a good start to a vacation.....

But after 1.5 hrs on the bumpy and winding road, we finally reached paradise. The view, the room, the pool, the service staff were all excellent. They were very attentive, and genuinely happy to be of ur service. We managed to get room 8881, which had such a breathtaking view of the beach. Every day the housekeeping will place fresh fruits in ur room and ensure that everything is clean and in order. There are no words to describe how comfortable we felt.

Our only issue was the food.
Firstly, we can only eat halal food, so our options are really limited. The omelettes were cooked in the same pan as non halal sausages so....it wasnt very comforting to us to eat the omelettes.. and the noodles in the small bowls were.. hmm.. hard to swallow. (just wasnt tasty :()
Other than that, the breakfast spread should have more varieties.. It is afterall a high end resort. 5 star hotels usually offer excellent breakfast options, so The Shore should try to improve on that.
The breakfast in the room idea is terrific as we didnt have to go down to the restaurant early, but the room service guys sometimes forget to give us salt/ pepper, sauces, sugar, etc.. so we have to call and ask..

We managed to find a great halal thai food restaurant in Patong, and since it was quite far from the resort, we bought take away for the next day to be eaten in the room. Since the food was in the fridge, we asked the room service to heat them up for us and they did it without any hesitations. (even brought it in with crockery, cutlery, napkins) Awesome service!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very very much, and we would come again!

Room Tip: Chose mid level rooms, or if you dont mind ppl being able to see your room from the beach, the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExplorerGirl113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear ExplorerGirl113,
We appreciate your review about our resort and are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to our staff. In addition, we have reviewed our Halal food selection as you suggested. A wider menu selection for breakfast is now being planned and will be implemented in a timely manner. Thank you very much once again and we hope to welcome you back.
Your Sincerely,
Sabina D.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Overall pretty good, but when you are paying a premium end price, expectations are high and The Shore at Katathani was "good" but not great.

The true test is when you ask yourself "would you come back?". My wife and I grappled with this for a couple of days but finally concluded there were not enough wow moments to bring us back.

There wasn't anything particularly wrong with The Shore but it was one of those places that ticked over as a nice break.

A few examples to help thoughts of staying here:


- It's very quiet - nice if you want a peaceful break but if you like a couple of early evening cocktails in a nice bar amongst a few people, sadly lacking

- The rooms are nice enough - spacious, clean, great view if you get the right villa (we had 8832 - fabulous view, but we changed from 8853 - diss appointing view)

- The trips up the hill to your room - you need a buggy which were freely available, but got on your nerves in the end

- The staff are very good - but not 5* attentive. If you are prepared to work a little bit by being clear on what you need/what you want to do, then fine

- Breakfasts - alright, good egg and omelet man

- Nightlife - either bars or restaurants, a taxi ride away

- Take lots of insect repellent - surrounded by trees, wet, and therefore lively bugs life

- The beach - come on? Looked great from a distance but so dirty. Just not acceptable to have bottle tops, oil cans, hair bands, water bottles, and God knows what wash up on the beach

So, in conclusion - not the best place we have ever stayed, we were a little disappointed and we worked hard to really try and like it. In the end, we could only offer a 3*.

Hope this helps

Room Tip: 8832 great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank UKAndy-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear UKAndyMelbourne,
Thank you very much for your review in addition to the below review from your wife. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectation. After receiving your review, we conducted a workshop to discuss further steps to enhance guests’ experience. Appropriate actions are now being taken to uplift the experience. Furthermore, I would like to clarify that during your stay, there was a tropical storm caused by the changing of the season in the south of Thailand. As a result, strong waves and currents pushed debris toward our beach. Please note that this was an unusual event. However we are implementing twice daily beach cleanings to ensure our beach is kept clean. Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back.
Your Sincerely,
Sabina D.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

After reading so many glowing reviews we decided on The Shore for our Phuket accommodation and to be honest, we were a little disappointed. It is a lovely place but it just doesn't live up to the hype. We have stayed in some beautiful places before and thought this might be up there with the best but it wasn't.

We stayed for 5 nights in a sea view villa and upon check in we were taken to Villa 8853. The view was very disappointing as you could not hardly see the sea, just the Villa in front and lots of trees. We asked if they had a better room and the next day we were moved to Villa 8832 which was much nicer.

The Villas themselves are lovely and all amenities are great, the ipod dock, coffee machine and fresh flowers are all a nice touch. The bathroom is lovely and it's wonderful to have a shower and watch the waves crashing in. I was surprised however that we were only ever given 2 towels. I'd imagine most women like to have an additional towel to wrap their hair up after washing. The plunge pool was nice although we found it quite cold so didn't get to use it to it's full advantage. We sat and watched the view a couple of nights with a glass of wine and the sitting chairs were very uncomfortable.

The stairs to and from the Villas are very steep! Yes you can get a buggy to pick you up but sometimes its nice just to go for a walk, however I struggled with the steep driveways and stairs, especially after the rain as it became very slippery.

The breakfast was nice, although what was expected, nothing exceptional. We had lunch in the restaurant which was nice but opted to dine out for all other meals as it got a bit repetitive eating at the same place all the time.

The wine cellar?! It is a room with some bottles of wine on the wall. We went in to have a look, and have some wine tasting and were told we'd have to arrange this with reception and obtain a voucher. We didn't bother.

The Lighthouse is a open living area with comfortable couches, a bar and a great view over the sea and the in-room information explained the Lighthouse was open until midnight for cocktails. We went there one night looking forward to a drink and to watch the sunset and it was closed. We were told they don't offer that anymore (!). So we walked down to one of the beach bars at the Katathani for a very average cocktail and to watch the sunset.

We hardly saw anyone around during the day or night, only at breakfast so I can only assume everyone stays in their Villas. It just lacked some atmosphere.

The Shore offer a shuttle bus into Patong every night which we wanted to do to have a look around however the bus leaves the Shore at 8.30pm and returns at 11.00pm. These times are very odd especially as it takes 20-30 mins to get there. So we arranged our own taxi which was 500 baht each way.

The beach itself was disappointing and very dirty. Everyday there was a lot of debris along the shore line and it was not nice to step over plastic bottles and rubbish while walking the beach. I know the beach is a public beach and it's not The Shore's responsibility to clean but if I owned a property and promoted it as 5 star I'd hire people to clean to beach every day.

The staff were lovely, very friendly but just what you'd expect for the price of the accommodation. No one went out of their way for us. And a few previous people mentioned lovely gestures in their room at night (animal towels, rose petals saying 'surprise' etc.) and we had none of that. In fact, we didn't even get turn down service on the first night.

We visited the onsite spa and this was very expensive and not very professional. To create a true serene environment most high end spas (and I have been to many!) would have the lights dimmed, candles, soft music etc but the Spa at the Shore had none of that. In fact the lights were bright, no music and the therapists ran the water tap so many times the noise was getting annoying. You'd be better off getting a basic, cheap massage down the road at one of the many massage places.

This is a lovely place and has great potential but unfortunately did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: Go for the lower Villas - the walk up is far too steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear ElMelbourne,
Thank you for your review in addition to the above review from your husband. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to clarify that during your stay, there was a tropical storm caused by the changing of the season in the south of Thailand as a result strong waves and currents pushed debris toward our beach. Please note that this was an unusual event. However we are implementing twice daily beach cleanings to ensure our beach is kept clean. Furthermore, we apologize that you were not able to enjoy a wine tasting upon entering the wine cellar. While normally our wine sommelier requires a booking, we will be reviewing the need for a full time sommelier able to handle walk-in bookings. Regarding your well received advice for the spa, we have shared these ideas to the spa team who appreciates this feedback. I also communicated your review to the concerned departments and a workshop was conducted. Actions and plans are now being implemented to ensure wonderful guests’ experience. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to welcome you here in the future.
Your Sincerely,
Sabina D.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,292 reviews
16.2 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £362 - £992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing