We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Copacabana, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I and two adult sons were lucky enough to be upgraded to The Shore for our last 2 nights of our week long vacation at Katathani Beach Resort which we also loved. We had a 2 bedroom villa with our own infinity pool, a beautiful view over the beach and large enough for us all to have our own space. Every detail of the decor was outstanding, the personal attention and friendliness of the staff and the food was wonderful. I certainly hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear DebSwim,

thank you very much for taking your time to give us this outstandig review on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to read that your stay was wonderful. Also that you mentioned our friendly staff and the amazing villa.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back aShore in the near future for your next holiday!
Sincerely yours
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    153
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
65
951
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Like many other reviewers, my husband and I found paradise at The Shore. We certainly splurged on the sea view pool villa overlooking the beach, but it was our honeymoon and well-worth the expense. I was blown away by the beauty of looking out from the infinity pool or just lying in bed and being able to stare out at the magnificent beach and ocean. Without question, the room was stunning.
We also loved everything about the hotel, especially the staff and the amenities. I particularly enjoyed the little touches, like the different turtles you can place on the bed or in the bathroom to indicate whether you needed fresh linen or towels, or how every night we were presented with a small gift and card explaining the color of the week and it's significance. I am also very surprised by the reviews commenting on the buggy drivers. We found them to be nothing sort of wonderful - polite, prompt and always welcoming us with a smile.
The Shore really is the perfect place for couples looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway. In comparison, we dined one night at the property's sister hotel and noticed the difference in atmosphere right away.
I no doubt plan to return to The Shore to celebrate at least an anniversary or two!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear RK22
Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor. Your kind compliments towards our Buggy Drivers and all our staff make us very happy.
We are glad to hear that you had a great honeymoon and that you find paradise here at The Shore.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back aShore in the near future for your coming anniversaries!!
Sincerely yours
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is the perfect resort to relax, chill and catch some rays with beautiful scenary with the sea view room. I would recommend to anyone to go if they would like to recharge their batteries. Most of the staff were welcoming & friendly, the hotel is very boutique and you feel special, my only critisim would be for the buggy drivers to be a bit frendlier but all other satff were amazing.

We hope to come back again.

Room Tip: sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear VictoriaL30,

Thank you very much for taking your time and give us this special review.
I am really happy, that you fully enjoyed your time here at The Shore and that you could recharge your batteries.
Thank you also for your kind compliments towards all our staff.
We wish you a good time back home, and we all hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future for another fantastic stay!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have just checked out of the Shore hotel after spending part of our honeymoon here and we are very glad we chose to treat ourselves to a stay here. It is a beautiful place with fabulous staff who will all go the extra mile. It is set in a steep area and there is a golf buggy on call to take you around whenever you need it. They are there within a minute. This is a very efficiently run hotel. You can relax in your own private pool and the inside space is large and airy. Altogether a wonderful experience for us both. Beautiful location too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear vbeattie,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy to read that you had a wonderful honeymoon. Thank you also for your kind compliments towards our staff, I am very happy to hear that you find them fabulous.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back “aShore” for another great stay!
Sincerely yours
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I was raised in dubai,so i have very very high standards when it comes to hotels.
This place surpassed my expectations.
We came here for our honeymoon. And boy was it worth it.
The van was waiting for us when we landed,we were welcomed with cold towels and water. It was raining heavily but the driver was very professional and the drive was rather pleasant.
Our villa was 8841,kind of high and secluded in a perfect way.

We ordered room service a few times,the food arrives within 20 minutes, it's usually delicious. In our duration of stay we tried their steaks,burgers,noodles and fried rice. The noodles being their best!
We had breakfast in our room twice,yummyness with a view! The other days we had it in The harbour,lovely place with a great view and amazing pina colada.

The buggy drivers and cleaning maids are very efficient yet respective of our privacy,we really appreciated that.
We didnt always have cash to tip them but they were always nice nonetheless.
We dealt with Austin,he's a very sweet guy;Jim zung & Non as well! Our constant help was Arinee the receptionist who booked our maya beach trip and called us a limo whenever we needed to go out,when we asked the receptionist she even told us how much we should tip and pay the cab drivers depending on where we were going.

On the other hand even though the beach was public,it's very clean and not too crowded.


We also tried their spa,lovely massage/Mani/pedi with a very professional staff!
Best part would be how lovely everything smells ALL THE TIME! And the fact that they surprised us with room decorations EVERY SINGLE NIGHT!! It's an expensive hotel but it's totally worth it,we loved every single minute of our honeymoon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mais G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Mais G.

Thanks a lot for your overwhelming compliments. I am glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your honeymoon. Thank you also for your kind compliments towards all our staff.
We wish you a good time back home, and we all hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future for another amazing stay!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for one week in June this year with another couple of friends, I had been trying to get as much information as I could about the property before booking as the price is certainly not cheap, and always tend to look at the 'terrible/poor' reviews first (dont know why?).Reviews are based on experience and seeing that there were very few poor reviews and hundreds of excellent ones I decided to book. And I am glad I did.

The holiday started with being picked up at the airport in a very comfortable mini-van with big leather, almost arm chair like seats, the driver gives you cold towels and water for the 60-90 minute transfer. Arrived at reception and was very warmly greeted and given flowers and juice while the paperwork was being sorted. After 10 minutes the golf car was ready to take us to our room (we were not forced to pay for the room up front as one reviewer complained about, we were given a choice) The two buggy drivers took us to our room and brought the luggage, once inside it hits you just how beautiful the property is and the views from the room are hard to describe, incredible is the closest I can get and that does not do it justice.

After showing us around the room and explaining some routine things to us the drivers left without hesitation (I had to call after them to give them a tip, for which they were very greatful)

The room was immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable. WiFi is a little slow but I was not planning on spending too much time on the internet. We had never been to Thailand before so we made plans to see as much as possible without over doing it, otherwise I could have happily stayed in the room for a week without venturing outside.

We ate at the hotel restaurant on the first night and really enjoyed the food while watching the sunset. We had pre-ordered breakfast in the room for the following day and it was delivered on time and enough food to feed a family. Having breakfast in your room is a must, at least once while you stay. The breakfast in the restaurant is nice without being exceptional.

I read a few reviews saying that the buggy drivers were rude and buggies often take a long time to arrive, in the week that we were there we never waited more than 5 minutes and the drivers were polite and very helpful, especially 'MiMi' , he is a credit to the hotel.

In a nutshell this is without doubt the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at, very relaxing, beautiful scenery, friendly staff and we will certainly return one day. Is it expensive? Yes, is it worth it? Definitely (and more)

Now to the reason for the 'almost' perfect title - If anything has more legs than me I tend to get a bit fidgety and there was quite a lot of wildlife hanging around the patio area of our room, especially at night. Only once did I see anything inside and that was a small lizard. There is nothing the hotel can do about this but it is woth a mention.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidbosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear davidbosty,

Thank you very much for taking your time and give us this special review.
I am really happy, that you fully enjoyed your time here at The Shore.
Thank you also for your kind compliments towards all our staff.
We wish you a good time back home, and we all hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future for another amazing stay!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

After a 9 hour flight and a 90 minute car ride through Phuket and Patong peak hour traffic we arrived at our destination. We were warmly greeted by the welcoming Staff and during check in were offered a cold refreshing drink and a cool cloth.
The Shore is the perfect location for couples who want excellent service, privacy, rooms that cannot be faulted with attention to detail and views that are second to none.
The location offers the option of your own pool, the resort pool or an excellent, patrolled and clean beach.
The staff are all exceptional.
We would highly recommend The Shore and have no hesitation in returning.
Thank you to all for making our holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Dieter B,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy to read that your holidays are memorable. Thank you also for your kind compliments towards our staff, I am very happy to hear that you find them exceptional.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back “aShore” for another great stay!
Sincerely yours
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing