We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The island is busy but being at the end of the road, the Shore is spared. Whilst it is a part of the larger Katathani hotel it feels separate and exclusive which is one of the things you pay for. Having said that it is not too posh and the staff are really welcoming and friendly. The rooms are more like small detached villas built into the hillside with great views down to the beach below. They are big, well maintained and have a wow factor. The management team go out of the way to make you feel special so all in all it's 5 stars from us!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear ManCityFan3,

Thank you very much for writing this review.

I am glad to read that you found an oasis of calm. Regarding your comments about the staff please be asured that I will inform them. Also thank you for your statement about our villas and the great views.

I hope you had a hassle free trip back home and hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future.

Best regards

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    156
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
65
962
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a week at the Shore, where we were lucky to stay in villa 8843, which not only offered the privacy we wanted but a breathtaking view that was everything the website photos promised. The view was only matched by the staff on site...extremely friendly and helpful and very personal service (even the gate attendant somehow knew us by name!).There were little surprises in the room from day to day - fruit, candles, and even a totally unexpected birthday cake. We were also invited with other guests to evening cocktails, which was a great way to meet others while watching the sunset. The beach in front of the Shore is easily accessible (take your pick between lying by the pool and bar and jumping in the sea when you feel like it) and seems to be less crowded and chaotic than other beaches we saw at Kata. If you don't mind a little walk, it's not that far into the local shops/eating options, or taxis are easily available on the street nearby. We ate at the Shore on a couple of nights and found it more than acceptable...while obviously more expensive than 'the street' it was reasonably priced in comparison to what you would expect for this standard of accommodation. Some of the higher villas are a bit of walk (we didn't mind and needed the exercise!) but the staff are always ready and willing to transport you on the site golf carts if that looks too daunting. In summary, the Shore is a really special place and if you're looking for that five star experience...look no further!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay and it was a pleassure for us to have you had here.
Be assured, that I will pass your good comment torwards all our staff.

I hope you had a hassle free trip back home and I am looking forward to welcome you back "a Shore" in the near future.

Best regards

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was the last stop in our Andaman Sky Adventures tour around the Krabi region. We liked the hotel but were not so thrilled with Phuket - as our agent had advised us, it is really rather over-developed these days. I won't be going back to Phuket in a hurry, but I think I will be booking another Andaman Sky trip, next time I'm going to visit the islands further south, wish we'd done that this time instead of going to Phuket, our agent recommended us to go to Koh Mook, it looks really ice, plus Lao Liang, which looks very different. The Shore hotel is a very good one, thanks to all the staff there for a great stay, we particularly enjoyed the cocktails at the main bar, where we got to know the waiters quite well, they were always so charming and friendly - we were lucky enough to meet lots of friendly Thai people during our holiday, but the people at this hotel were just the best. The food was very tasty, particularly the Western cuisine (by the time we reached Phuket we had had about enough of Thai food for a while).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sidmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear sidmarks,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent experience at the Shore.

I am glad to hear that you like our hotel. Regarding your comments towards our staff, please be assured, that I will forward them this review.

Our Chef Somkid, will be very happy when he reads your statement about the food.

Regarding Phuket, I am sorry that the island did not meet your expectations.

I hope you had a hassle free trip back home and I hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future.

Best regards

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

With awesome views, privacy, and over-the-top service The Shore is the place for a couples getaway. I'm not one for a beach holiday, but if you are going to have one this is the place to go. The beaches in Thailand are crowded, but you wouldn't know it by staying at The Shore. A world apart with private villas makes for a fabulous stay. All this doesn't come cheap, so it is best for special occasions. The breakfast buffet is available at the Harbor Restaurant from 6 to 11 and has a good selection of breads, fruits, and made to order items. There is afternoon tea at 3:30, happy hour at 5, before dinner at 7. Tough choices are going to the beach, or enjoying the lounges near The Harbor, or relaxing in the pool in your private villa.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hotspurs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear hotspurs88,

thank you very much for taking your time to write us this review.

I am very happy to read that you found the paradise during your stay. Thank you very much for your kind compliments towards our Villa, service and our restaurant. Indeed, Kata noi Beach is one of the nicest beaches we have here on Phuket.

I hope you had a hassle free trip back home and would be glad to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Shore at Katathani for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed everything about this magnificent property. The hotel consists of private villas on a mountain side facing onto a beautiful (and spotless!) beach. Our room was spectacular (8813) and even though it wasn't too high up, we had plenty of privacy on our balcony and private pool. We also had easy accessibility to the front desk, beach and hotel pool and breakfast areas, which would have been more challenging had we stayed on a higher 'floor' and had to make use of the golf buggies to get around. I would recommend rooms 8813 and 8823 for these reasons and suggest going for a sea view room if you are already splurging on a stay at this property. The service in the hotel was impeccable and I would like to say a special thanks to Austin, our concierge who not only helped us plan our transfer from Phuket to Phi Phi Islands (our destination after The Shore), but also took it upon himself to help us arrange the logistics of the subsequent leg of our trip from Phi Phi to Koh Samui - helping us book a private boat, taxi and ferry transfer at very reasonable prices. Austin also did a great job surprising us with beautiful floral arrangements, sparkling wine, and delicious treats on each day of our stay, which added to our enjoyment of this property. The beach of the hotel was spotless and the water was very clean. A variety of tours, beach activities and entertainment options were available through the hotel, and usually restaurants and entertainment venues would send a complimentary shuttle to pick up hotel guests when arrangements were made through the front desk.The hotel provides an extensive breakfast menu and the pool bar has reasonably priced Thai food that is very well-prepared. Overall, our stay and experience in this beautiful property was excellent and we believe this is one of the best options in Phuket. If there was one small negative to this property then I would say it is the fact that this hotel is located at the very end of Kata Noi road and as such is somewhat far (20-30min walk) to downtown Kata, necessitating a taxi pretty much everywhere. However, this is likely desired by most people who stay here given the privacy and magnificent grounds of this property. The distances by taxi are very reasonable, with Kata Beach downtown a 5min ride away, Karon a 10min ride and the craziness of Patong about 15-20min away via taxi.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Marina P.

Thank you very much for your incredible review.

I am really happy that you fully enjoued your stay with us. Be assured that I will let Austin know about your special thanks to him. Also thanks a lot for recommend our private seaview villas.

I wish you a hassle free trip back home and hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff,offering my husband and I a cold drink and a cool cloth, while we did the check in. Our room was amazingly clean and our view was breathtaking. The staff were very friendly, attentive and went out of their way to make sure our stay was unforgettable. We stayed in room 8862 which was in the first row and we had complete privacy. We had no sound from below and it wasnt far for us to get down stairs. The security guards at the gates always had a smile for us when we passed them every day. The staff at breakfast time, Sara, Hugo, Mae and the chef were all outstanding, you could not ask for more, as the variety was huge and presented so well. Thank you for a pleasant stay and we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Vicki M,

Thank you very much for your breathtaking review.
I am really happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Our team will be very happy that you mentioned them in your comment.

I hope you had a hassle free trip back home and would be glad to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed at The Shore for the first 4 days of our honeymoon....and we were blown away! We had a villa facing the water that had a breathtaking view. It was hard to leave the room as we had everything we needed to enjoy the day, our private lounge area and pool were quite relaxing.

The best part about this hotel is the incredible service. Every single staff member we came in contact with was extremely friendly and helpful. All smiles all the time, it is contagious. Sylvia at the front desk really helped make our stay a memorable one, she helped with spa reservations and dinner reservations even if we were going outside of the complex. We would stop in every morning and chat with her about our excursions etc. from the day before. She was so great.

The facilities are great - the beach is beautiful and quiet, much less crowded than other beaches in the area. The pool was always clean and refreshing. And if the workout room is too small you can use the larger one at the sister hotel which is a 10 min walk or a quick golf cart ride. We even took a Thai boxing class which was fun.

I noticed someone complaining about the food in their review, I will have to disagree. We had a great and filling breakfast each morning along with a great lunch pool side. We thought the food was great. They have a number of options from light salads and sandwiches to traditional Thai dishes- and for breakfast a wide variety of things to try along with eggs made to order.

All in all this was quite a memorable stay and we can only hope to visit The Shore again one day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jenntref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear jenntref,

Thank you very much for your spectacular review and congretulation for your honeymoon.

I am really happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, the incredible service and our team. Be assured that I will let Sylvia know about your comment on her.

I wish you a hassle free trip back home and hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing