We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite restaurant in Thailand”
Review of Kwong Shop Seafood

Kwong Shop Seafood
Ranked #27 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Thailand”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem, its family run and always busy. I absolutely loved the laid back atmosphere, the trinkets on the walls and above all else the FOOD!! We visited twice while in Kata and nowhere else compared.

We had the tiger prawns in red Thai the first time, they were enormous like baby lobsters and they were by far the nicest prawns we have ever eaten. The second visit we had the squid in pepper and garlic, absolutely stunning and cost about £3. The owner will come over and ask if things are "OK" with adds to the authenticity of the experience.

If you love seafood it's a must, the best seafood I have eaten in my life.


  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    130
    27
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“tasty, fresh and cheap”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stumbled upon this place by chance.

The food was amazing - tasty and fresh. I was fortunate to eat there on three occasions. The one time, it was quite busy and we had to wait awhile.
Will be back when I am lucky enough to be in this area again.

Families with small children - they sell a decent and well presented hotdog and a very fair price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arwaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good honest Thai food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Have visited this place 2 years ago and again was satisfied. Family run business who has pride in their food and service. I love these little restaurants that keep receiving return business for there food and hospitality rather than fancy decor. If your after a cheap meal and good thai, you should try this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank AussieVenetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 994 helpful votes
“Ah Yes....our favourite in Kata”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I guess we have eaten in a lot of the restaurants in Kata...I used to live in Chalong...and this for us is one of our favourites.

Mr Kwong and his family run this and run it very well. The daughter is lovely and always remembers us even if after a year. Mr Kwong is very much hands on and goes from table to table to see if everything is OK....OK??? You know what I mean if you have been there!

Fish so fresh it swam in and cooked whatever way you want. You won't be disappointed with any dish here but fish is definitely the thing to eat. You will pay 40 baht a 100gms for snapper, sea bass, etc....so a whole decent fish for two will be about 280-320 baht, or €7-8. Delicious!

Funny thing is the prices are about the best around and the food also the best around. Where all the other restaurants are putting their prices up on a yearly basis Mr Kwong has resisted. I like that.

We will always go back here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

OKAY! This place has such a great atmosphere, always busy. Chicken satay is really good. Had steamed sea bass, prawns, spicy Thai chicken, all really good. Ate here 3 times & all wanted to spend our last evening here, can sit inside or outside through the back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m0liner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kwong Shop Seafood also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to Kwong Shop Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing