We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good honest Thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwong Shop Seafood

Kwong Shop Seafood
Ranked #26 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good honest Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Went here on 3 occasions during our Kata stay and was very impressed with the food and the service every single time. There is a young Thai guy who does front of house and he was very helpful when we were trying to choose our fish from the chiller at the front. We tried king tiger prawns, red snapper, clams, perch. Overall we found all the fish to be very fresh, perfectly cooked, and beautifully flavoured. The food seemed to be authentic here, it is not a fancy place but we enjoyed everything we ate and the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    127
    26
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nongkhai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's not fancy and there's no one touting outside. It's good, very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

It took us three nights in Kata before we made it to Kwong's. Most of the other places we tried were half decent but expensive. Some were just damn disappointing. Kwong's is the only place where we'll be going back to. Very friendly and efficient staff who take great pride in the place. Fantastic seafood at very reasonable prices. Ten years living in Thailand and this place, for me, is one of the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculously good! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This place, so far is the best Thai food we've had in the area! King prawns in their chili sauce was amazing. We literally took the plate and dripped all the sauce onto our spoons! The prawns were also huge and perfectly cooked! All of our dishes were well seasoned. We will be back at least a couple more times before our holiday is over.

Staff is extremely friendly and Mr. Kwong would come out every 30 mins or so to visit each table and give us a thumbs up to make sure we were all happy :)

You couldn't ask for more... Amazing food, great service and great prices. Well maybe one could ask for AC but with some much joy from your meal, who cares!

Helpful?
Thank americaninamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem, its family run and always busy. I absolutely loved the laid back atmosphere, the trinkets on the walls and above all else the FOOD!! We visited twice while in Kata and nowhere else compared.

We had the tiger prawns in red Thai the first time, they were enormous like baby lobsters and they were by far the nicest prawns we have ever eaten. The second visit we had the squid in pepper and garlic, absolutely stunning and cost about £3. The owner will come over and ask if things are "OK" with adds to the authenticity of the experience.

If you love seafood it's a must, the best seafood I have eaten in my life.


  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TriSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“tasty, fresh and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stumbled upon this place by chance.

The food was amazing - tasty and fresh. I was fortunate to eat there on three occasions. The one time, it was quite busy and we had to wait awhile.
Will be back when I am lucky enough to be in this area again.

Families with small children - they sell a decent and well presented hotdog and a very fair price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arwaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kwong Shop Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Kwong Shop Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing