We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phuket Kata Resort - Nice”
Review of Phuket Kata Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phuket Kata Resort
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phuket Kata Resort - Nice”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We visited Phuket in october and the weather pleasant the hotel is bit away from the town but the Kata beach is really nice, much better than the croweded ones in Phuket.
The Pool Bar is quite a treat, The hotel has decent rooms but the room serrvice is bit sluggish, The food is good and they have activities planned out for kids which really means a lot to family like ours with a small kid (Son is 4)

Room Tip: Try take a room with a direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nidhijena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    81
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
62
70
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I think this place has two names - kata pool lagoon for online bookings and Phuket Kata Resort, or something, for Nordic package holiday makers.

During this high season hotel is overrun by package holidaymakers. Nothing wrong with that, but I think the prebooked customers affect service attitude. This is the only hotel ever I've paid 3500bht/100eur per night and not received a single smile or greeting from reception staff.

Room service and pool bar guys were the only staff to actually share a friendly face. Although our room service tray, placed outside the room, was only picked after 24 hours and animal activity when I informed the receptionist on it. No apologies or smiles again. And the room was cleaned twice during.

All in all I would def not stay again here. Holidaymakers beware if the dual naming.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are quieter but nevertheless subject to neighbour noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I visited Phuket Kata Resort with my friends and we really had a amazing experience. The rooms were big and lovely. The bathroom was also nice. We really enjoyed a lot and had a very good time. We got a pool access from the room directly. The location is amazing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are big and spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CoolPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawalpindi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We booked three nights from Nov 11 to Nov 14 and really like our stay there. We chose to stay at Kata beach which is a bit far from Patong and the area is much quieter. The beach is always full though. We took a pool access room and it came with our own pool access, a balcony and a atleast our room (820) was pretty big.

Pros: Clean rooms, fast check-in and check-out but that may be because we booked through Agoda and didnt have to pay anything there, the pool water was always clean, good location with respect to Kata beach and to buses that go to Karon and friendly staff.

Cons (pretty petty for our over all stay): Our shampoo and shower gel were not topped up at all and the hotel didn't have an iron

Room Tip: We stayed in room 820. Pretty big room and at the end of the pool which gave us a bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustafaR832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel and it was nice. Very quiet area, room with direct access to the pool, which is not deep and not many people there.
Things i did not like: staff was not smiley; Internet not free; A/C is located just above the bed; bathroom is not so clean. However, the location is good- close to the shops, travel agencies, restaurants and massage saloons, 5 min walk to Kata beach.

Room Tip: The room with direct access to the pool is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here last October (yes its taken me a little while to write my review). We got a pool access room for 1100 baht a night which was an absolute bargain! The room was lovely, large and roomy bathroom with a little balcony straight into the pool. Breakfast was included and great (just stay away from the bain marie items). The only thing my boyfriend and I ate different on the trip was the breakfast buffet (I forgot to warn him about Thai breakfast buffets). I stuck to the fruit, cereal, toast etc but he got stuck into the noodles etc that had been sitting there all morning.. 24 hours later he was violently ill from both ends! No criticism on the resort as a whole as this can happen anywhere!

Positives: bargain hotel, swim up bar, pool access rooms, tucked away from main road
Negatives: not the best customer service, avoid the bain marie food at breakfast

Would I stay there again? Yes if I wanted to be in Kata area and it was low season ABSOLUTELY... Would I pay high season price for this resort? No....

Room Tip: Pool access definitely the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust_Tarrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espergaerde, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

After a big disappointment in Merlin, Khao Lak, we moved to Phuket Kata Reort, which turned out to be a wonderful resort. We chose a room with a direct access to the pool, which can be highly recommended. The room was big, nice, bright, clean and had a double bed and 2 single beds. Nice bathroom. Perfect for a family of 4. There is a small terrace with table, chairs and sun beds.

The resort is only 5 min. away from the beach, and 2 min. from shopping and the main street, but still tucked away, so there is no noice or hassle from the night life.

The staff/receptionist were so nice, helpful, and smiled all the time.

The breakfast was good with their own egg station.

The pools were nice, there are sun beds all way around, and was never over-crowded.

A wonderful place for a family!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#45 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
#37 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Kata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Kata Resort

Property: Phuket Kata Resort
Address: 30/9 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phuket Kata Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phuket Kata Resort presents a very comfortable, quiet and clean resort just 300 meters from the famous Kata beach. The comfort Phuket Kata Resort offers 104 rooms, and one pool side view suite. Central to our resort is a beautiful swimming pool. Phuket Kata Resort Quiet, Clean & Very Reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Kata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Kata Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing