We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here, worst experience in Thailand I ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Ranked #13 of 61 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Sepilok, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go here, worst experience in Thailand I ever had”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for just one night. First of all, this place and the rooms do not look like the pictures. The rooms aren't luxurious at all and they smell very damp. Our linen had weird looking stains on them (like blood or something). We had a discount because of low season, so for us the price was ok but the prices on their website are NOT worth it. Also, it's not close to the beach at all, it says 300 meters in their description but this is not true because you have to walk all the way around Club Med wich is blocking the beach with a big wall.

First the people here seemed friendly, especially the woman. But in the morning when we wanted breakfast, problems started. Because I'm allergic to gluten and also a vegetarian, I usually have a vegetable omelet for breakfast so I have to ask for a adjustment because most times omelets are with bacon/sausages and toast. I've never had a problem with this anywhere in Thailand, and usually I get a substitution and people are very friendly and helpful about it. In this place they wanted to let me pay 120 baht for just a PLAIN omelette (normally that's the price with bacon). I asked why I had to pay for bacon when I don't eat it because I'm a vegetarian, but they didn't want to do anything for me. I asked for the manager because the waiter didn't understand English very well, first he didn't want to come and when I did, he basicly told us to leave in a very agitated way. I've never been treated like this in Thailand anywhere, normally people are very friendly here and they usually offer me an omelet with tomatoes or something and when the omelet is part of a set, I don't have to pay the full price. Both me and my boyfriend didn't understand why we were treated like that while all I did was asking a question. I was very shocked about this.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleenJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    27
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
38
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for a week, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The shower was a poor sight. we didn't have a proper door... patio doors which did not shut the entire way.. which made it very easy for mosquitoes. Also there was Building work from early morning to stupid a clock at night! and when we left the stuff were very rude.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

By far the best I've ever had, and believe me, I've had a lot of it. 120Bht. From the road the restaurant doesn't look up to much, but it's tasty, cheap and clean. Bar service can be a bit slow mind you - if there's no one there I just help myself!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Booked the place unseen for me and my 11 year old to stay for 16 nights, got there around 2pm, great reception from Kevin, ate some late lunch, tasty stir fry for 89Bht. Pool is small but unused so very relaxing, it's a 10 minute walk to the beach, everything's handy here. It's clean, staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you.

Honestly can't see what anyone can complain about.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Quite an informal resort hotel, not pretentious in any way.

I paid a walk-in rate of B 1,250 per night, which is much cheaper than the internet rate so by Phuket standards it wasn't terribly priced.

But the rooms are old and tired and dark, the pool is too small to swim in, what's more I was nearly killed by a falling coconut which landed 1 step in front of me on the pathway around the pool - sounds quite amusing but I'm sure it would be no laughing matter if I had been just 1 or 2 seconds earlier!

The rooms have internet but I had to bargain with the management who said only 1 user per room - how ridiculous!

They allowed me to order a la carte breakfast since there was no vegetarian buffet breakfast, but it was so oily that I didn't bother ny more after 2 attempts. Cooked breakfast starts at 8 am too - far too late for a holiday hotel.

Lastly, I needed to check out early. I gave 3 days notice but instead of just thanking me for giving him some notice, the male manager nearly had a heart attack! He started wittering on about their terms and conditions which are posted on Agoda.com and elsewhere (none of whom I booked thru so entirely irrelevant). I informed him that I'd gladly pay whatever penalty I had signed agreement to ... which was none. :)

Thankfully, he dropped such claims after that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It is almost quiet. The rooms are ok. There are lots of mosquitos and lizards in the rooms. There is problem with water pressure. There is often no water in shower. The swimmingpool is good but not clean. It located 10 minutes walking from beach. LCD tv with lots of canals.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I were already expecting a bad experience at this place after having problems with our booking but nothing that bad. We had arranged this accomodation for 3 nights more than a month before we would check in and wrote the "hotel" to confirm the booking. We received a very worrying message from Paul Mahler saying that because we booked our room late (??), most of their rooms were already booked and if we decided to stay there we would have to switch rooms 3 times in 3 days. We were less than 10 days away to travel to Thailand and got very stressed trying to sort this out, first with the "hotel", then with Agoda. After quite a few international phone calls, the "hotel" confirmed that we wouldn't have to switch rooms, but at no point we got an apology or a message reassuring that we would have a nice stay.

When we finally got to Phuket at around 6 pm, after having travelled the whole day, Kevin, who introduced himself as the manager of the "hotel", told us to wait because they had to check if the room was ready. We would hope so, after all check in is at 2 pm... While we waited we were holding the booking papers and were able to read very embarrassing emails about us and our booking. From what we read, it was clear that they didn't have our booking, since they were asking each other if they knew anything about our reservation or "this guy", as they referred to my husband. After signing some papers, Kevin said that we were upgraded, since they only have 3 standard rooms (ok, so we were "upgraded" because of disorganization, not because they worried about our previous problem).

If we were already disappointed with the looks of the guesthouse (by now I think it's better to stop using the word "hotel") from the road, since the place is stuck behind two restaurants, imagine our reaction when we got to the room... To sum it up: wi-fi signal was too weak and only worked during the first night; the guesthouse provides two bottles of water a day (we didn't get ours on our last day) like any other hotel in Thailand but they use refillable glass bottles which you cannot remove from the room. That is a downer for day trips; the air-conditioning does not reach the bathroom, which gets very hot, and only reaches the bed if you switch on the fan; the bathroom itself could get an individual review... a disgusting sewerage smell, which comes from the drain, and we had to ask 3 times for someone to come and use some cleaning product but it didn't work as we had to cover it up with a piece of plastic and hold it with a glass... the shower area also has no door and the shower is actually handheld and at some points get very little water and it barely gets warm; the bed is indeed really hard as other TripAdvisor's users said and I found it also very flimsy as it kept on making strange noises as if it was about to break; the pillows are also uncomfortably fat and hard and we had to ask for some softer pillows; the tv is normally not a problem to us since it's just background noise but since I got a stomach bug and spent a lot of time in the room, it was disappointing to see we mainly had local channels, a lot of english movies dubbed to Thai and only a few watchable channels in English; the drapes and curtain rails were very old and here is one of the biggest problems, the sliding door were tilted which meant that we had to struggle to pull them together and still we had a huge gap that allowed mosquitos to come into the room.

Once we complained to Kevin about all of this he was extremely sarcastic, saying that we were in one of their newest rooms and that he could downgrade us if that would makes us more comfortable. I said that it surprised me the room was new since the smell was so bad, we had no chairs and tables outside like the other rooms and we were tucked away at the very back of the hotel and our door didn't close properly (and oh, did I mention we had no safe in the room?). He replied that he couldn't understand how we could lock the door if had a gap and promised to send someone to have a look ("a mechanic"), which obviously never happened. It is very intriguing to me that he would question us about it when the issue is so apparent! He also said that not all rooms had chairs outside and that was a special request and we could request it if we wanted to. I said that we didn't really care for it since I was feeling sick and would stay indoors anyway and that our only request was a room with a door that closed. Obviously the old table with two sad little chairs out of our door was the only thing he did something about... he didn't send anybody to check the drain or the door (we had to speak to another lady to get someone to throw some cleaning product into the drain).

He did come to us offering another room, which had the same smell and was in worse condition, with a broken shower head, older fridge, broken bedside lights... That actually made us believe that we were in a newer room, so we decided not to move as I was feeling really tired and sick and didn't want the hassle to move to something that was worse. The whole experience was awful. We felt insulted and it seemed that he didn't care at all! Actually, after this he started to avoid us and never asked us if things were better, if we were enjoying our stay... nothing! When we finally checked out we were very relieved to speak to another woman since we had no desire to speak to Kevin again. Right after we checked out he came back to his table and acted like we have never met.

This place is not a place you spend $50 a night, it is not even a last resort place. I will never return or recommend to family and friends. Stay away! Service is very poor, they are understaffed (this Kevin guy one morning made our breakfast which made us very weary) and the whole place is very rundown. Run!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 57 in Kata Beach
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 57 in Kata Beach
700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#2 of 57 in Kata Beach
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)

Property: Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Address: 4 Ket Kwan Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Kata, Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House)is an ideal spot from which to discover Phuket. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Kata View Point, Kata Beach, Phuket Surf.The facilities and services provided by Baannueng Group Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are concierge, car park, tours, room service, safety deposit boxes.The ambiance of Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House Hotel) is reflected in every guestroom. non smoking rooms, internet access – wireless (complimentary), internet access – wireless, television LCD/plasma screen are just some of the facilities at your disposal. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the massage, outdoor pool, garden. Discover an engaging blend of professional service and a wide array of features at Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing