We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food at low prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Duck Restaurant

Red Duck Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional thai food restaurant opened on September 2011, now moved on a new comfortable boutique location,few steps from Kata Beach. The chef Ole' will be happy to sudgest you tradional thai food and a tasty selection of Essan cousine (100% MSG Free). Fresh ingredients, no frozen product, spicy tailored level, tasty food, and cured dish presentation. Vegan, vegetarian, non spicy food and food intollerance special cares. New dessert card, and quality spirits cocktails. A must!
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food at low prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a simple and tiny restaurant but don't let that stop you from trying it out. The food is really flavorful and the owner is friendly. I was thinking of reducing a star for the portion size as it's fairly small, but it's so tasty that I won't. But be warned: if you're really hungry, get an appetizer! The location is in the middle of Khoktanood Road and it's easily missed so look for The Palmery Resort across the road. There are 5-6 tables and the kitchen is small so I wouldn't expect a western speed service when crowded. For us, it was definitely worth the risky walk from Kata Road.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LoganSusnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    259
    77
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good food. Owner was very accommodating when we rocked up as a family of 5 and he asked a couple of locals to relocate tables to fit us all in. Kitchen is tiny, so we found the meals came out a bit random (timing). Owner is friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Groover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food at affordable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went there for lunch and was served very good food at very affordable prices. Will definitely go back again in the future.

Unfortunately, there were a few flies buzzing about the place as commented by a previous review. Will suggest the owner to put up some fly traps to get rid of them!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Lee_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyssins, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST restaurant in Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Red Duck restaurant is definitely the best restaurant in Phuket !
The food is very good with a large choice, healthy and fresh !
The cooker is just perfect : Friendly, smiling, and always ready to help you in your choices.
We stayed 5 days in Kata beach and we went to red duck everyday.
Moreover it is cheap. So why to go somewhere else when you can eat one of the best food in thailand !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xavier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Waitress got my order wrong, ordered a massaman curry and got something completely different. There were flies everywhere, buzzing all over our food. Not sure why this place is rated quite highly

Helpful?
1 Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedDuckRastaura... K, Proprietario at Red Duck Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mr. Liam F.,
thank you for your comment.

We are so sorry that Mussaman curry was below your expectations: maybe, asking for "not to spicy" curry we put too much coconut milk inside your dish.

Regarding the fly, this is a natural side effect of the raining season: one minute after a monsoon rain, many insects goes out from the shelters, so, it doas't matter how clean is a place, or how many times you clean the kitchen: fly will be everywhere. As you see Red Duck is few meters close to the pluvial forest.

I'm so sorry you had a bad experience at Red Duck, and please, if you can, we hope to give you a better service.

Concerning to the mistake of the waiter, consider that you visit us 20 minutes after we receive instructions about the curfew in Phuket, after the military coup of two days ago, and maybe we serve you with little bit superficiality trying to understand what was happened to our country.

Buddha bless Thailand and Thai people, and please, visit us again.

Chef Ole'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Duck Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Duck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing