We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding food”

Red Duck Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional thai food restaurant opened on September 2011, now moved on a new comfortable boutique location,few steps from Kata Beach. The chef Ole' will be happy to sudgest you tradional thai food and a tasty selection of Essan cousine (100% MSG Free). Fresh ingredients, no frozen product, spicy tailored level, tasty food, and cured dish presentation. Vegan, vegetarian, non spicy food and food intollerance special cares. New dessert card, and quality spirits cocktails. A must!
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply outstanding food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We dined here twice during our recent stay at Kata Beach - food was amazing both times. Yes, the restaurant is very small, but it is so friendly and the food is incredibly delicious. Worth the walk from Kata Beach to get to this lovely little hidden gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    272
    78
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Thai flavours”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A very small restaurant away from the main Kata Rd but still easy walk.Food cooked to order & nothing too much trouble for the friendly staff. I asked for mxd veg. from menu but if small piece chicken could be added. No problem. Will go back a few more times before leaving & order mango sticky rice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot for good healthy Thai food!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This open style Thai restaurant is the place to go if you want tasty Thai food done the healthy way. The owner, Ole, cooks his meals without MSG or other additives like most cheap Thai places. So the food always tastes fresh & is presented well. We've tried many dishes here and all have been very good. The prices are reasonable too with good size portions. Ole takes pride in the way he prepares each dish, so he is willing to accommodate any guest preference. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food at low prices”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a simple and tiny restaurant but don't let that stop you from trying it out. The food is really flavorful and the owner is friendly. I was thinking of reducing a star for the portion size as it's fairly small, but it's so tasty that I won't. But be warned: if you're really hungry, get an appetizer! The location is in the middle of Khoktanood Road and it's easily missed so look for The Palmery Resort across the road. There are 5-6 tables and the kitchen is small so I wouldn't expect a western speed service when crowded. For us, it was definitely worth the risky walk from Kata Road.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LoganSusnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good food. Owner was very accommodating when we rocked up as a family of 5 and he asked a couple of locals to relocate tables to fit us all in. Kitchen is tiny, so we found the meals came out a bit random (timing). Owner is friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Groover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Duck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing