We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the best til last! ”

Red Duck Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 181 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Traditional thai food restaurant opened on September 2011, now moved on a new comfortable boutique location,few steps from Kata Beach. The chef Ole' will be happy to sudgest you tradional thai food and a tasty selection of Essan cousine (100% MSG Free). Fresh ingredients, no frozen product, spicy tailored level, tasty food, and cured dish presentation. Vegan, vegetarian, non spicy food and food intollerance special cares. New dessert card, and quality spirits, a boutique wine celler and good cocktails. A must!
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We dined here on our last night in Phuket which was a shame we should have gone more than once!! Food and service was amazing, best we tried on our holiday. The presentation of food and drinks was amazing. We loved every minute and would highly recommend to all. Will be definitely going back when we return.

Thank Smithiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcellOle, Owner at Red Duck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear customer, thanks!

Red Duck Restaurant
Khop khun krup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 239 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

During our two week stay in Phuket we were fortunate enough to find this little gem. This place really is the Holy Grail of Thai food. The restaurant has air-conditioned internal dining as well as outside dining. The staff are always friendly, helpful and attentive. The owner Marcello is one of a kind. His super friendly, loves a chat, tells a great story & when his not run off his feet will sit with you to share a glass of limoncello. The food….what can I say. Do yourself a favour and visit the Red Duck for your tastebuds sake. We tried a number of entrée, mains and desserts with each meal being better than the next. The one that has me salivating and saving up my weekly pay to return to Kata is the ‘yellow curry prawns’. Mind you, this dish was on the ‘specials board’ when we visited so you may have to ask Marcello for this. A mouthful of the yellow curry prawns and the angels were singing. My wife and I love spicy food but we kept it to a chilli scale of 2 (perfect). The food is faultless, the beers are cold the wine perfect & the prices are great. My only regret is that we live in Australia and the Red Duck 7000 klms away or we would be at the Red Duck every night. Well done Marcello & the staff at the Red Duck we look forward to returning soon.

1  Thank ckepas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcellOle, Owner at Red Duck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear customer. thanks for your viist at Red Duck and your excellent review.

You find us the location in Australia, and we open "Red Duck Lander Land Down Under" !
Deal?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My husband and I walked from Karon. Quite a long way. Very unassuming location but the food and service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcellOle, Owner at Red Duck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear customers, it whas a pleasure to refresh you after such a long walk and reward you with Red Duck thai food and service.

We hope to see you again.

Khop khun krup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Loved it here, the service was amazing the staff could not do enough for you. The food was delicious! I would defiantly recommend :)

Thank chloeburgess31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcellOle, Proprietario at Red Duck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thabk you very much for....evetrying!
Khop khun krup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

No doubt. I've tried Green Curry in all restaurant i visit in Thailand. Red duck have the absolute best!

Thank Páll B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcellOle, Proprietario at Red Duck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear customers, it was a pleasure to host you last night at Red Duck and saw you enjoying your green curry, hot and spicy the way it has to be.

We hope to see you again during your journey in Phuket.

Khop khun krup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Duck Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Duck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing