We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tom Yum Soupe Ever And Music that is fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafeopera Live - Kata Beach

Cafeopera Live - Kata Beach
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Asian, Thai, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Tom Yum Soupe Ever And Music that is fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been to Phuket 4 times and it is really addictive because of the fantastic atmosphere and people. We just love the culture and beautiful islands. We love to try out all restaurants and go back to the best once. Now Café Opera is one of those restaurants that you want to stay all night because of the fantastic food, music and atmosphere. Their cocktails is of the best and at a good price. Well guys keep up the good work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Websters64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    180
    60
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

was introduced to this place by a friend who lives in Kamala. Great food, great entertainment, beautiful interior. well worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samalam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't work out why it is so highly rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Mediocre food and service. Entertainment was okay but nothing to rave about. Not sure why this has scored so high from other reviewers. Am I missing something? Not sure but j won't be going back to find out as there are other better places to visit such as the sugar and spice next door.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Cafe Opera is one of our favourite local restaurants. We have never had a bad meal there. The food is delicious and the live music is excellent. This is a great spot to chill, wine and dine and listen to some good music.

Amongst our favourite dishes is their Tunata Pizza, it is out of this world. It is not like any normal pizza! :-) The pork chops and the chicken souvlakia are also tops.

The staff and owner are very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ring0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I decided to try this restaurant out after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor. The restaurant looks extremely touristy. When I asked to look at their Thai food selection I was surprised it was only a page long....several pages of western food though.... blah!
Was sat down by bored looking waitresses that smile only when you smile at them (this seems to be a common theme in Phuket, not sure what has happened to customer service, perhaps the growing number of rude Russian tourists in Kata has spoiled things). I ordered some Thai food, they have a promotion which means all Thai food is only 119 Baht. And after eating it I figured out why. Bland, westernised and below average to say the least. Yes, they have cheap 99 Baht Mojitos and Margaritas....so what? That does not make up for the ordinary food. To make matters even worse this place appears to be a magnet for Australian tourists. So, if you like to travel as if you have never left home, eating crappy meat skewers and mediocre pizzas, surrounded by loud ignorant tourists, sure, come to Cafe Opera. Do not come here if you want decent Thai food or a memorable meal.

Helpful?
Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafeopera Live - Kata Beach also viewed

 

Been to Cafeopera Live - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing