We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Italian Food”
Review of Gastone

Gastone
Ranked #9 of 152 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant will be closed until July 1st. See you soon :)
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mediocre Italian Food”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Quite a disappointment. Although the produce was fresh it felt like eating at supermarket. The pizza was bland with a store bought feel to the crust. Perhaps it was because the Italian chef was away but it's not like we ordered complicated food. Not going back...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorbjornK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    75
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make the trip”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I took our wedding guests here for the pre wedding meet and greet dinner last night. In all my wedding plans rush I forgot to book until 45 min before the dinner for my 18 guest. Was it a problem, absolutely not. The food was sensational, the service was as only the Thai's know how, warm friendly and helpful. The price was dearer than a pad Thai at the corner bar BUT ridiculously less than what you would pay at home and probably twice as nice. I cannot recommend Gastone enough, not one of our guests were unhappy with their meals or the service. Previous reviews had stated it was a little hard to find as the signage is small so we took the address down to the hotel concierge who circled it on the map for the tuk tuk drivers and it was easy from there. Thanks Gastone for making the night before our wedding VERY relaxed, enjoyable and delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InegoLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Italy in Phuket!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This restaurant is a gem...true Italian cuisine with the fabulous host and owner, Claudio, and his friendly staff looking after you. You will not be disappointed! Every time we return to Kata Beach, Phuket, we dine here at least every third evening...one visit is just not enough. Claudio welcomes you and remembers you from last year's holiday...we have been going for five years now!

The home made pasta dishes are to die for! The melone and prosciutto crudo is fresh, delectable and just sooooo generous! One of my faves is the Calamari, Prawn and Zucchini Fritti...YUM!!!!!!!! The Tagliata (cut steak) with baby rocket is superb! My husband always orders this...LOVES it! The rocket is soooooo tender and flavoursome...AMAZING!! The Vitello Tonnato is scrumptious...Claudio uses pork instead of veal, with outstanding results. The pizzas are also mouth-wateringly delicious!

Of course, the olive oil, vinegar and Parmesan are authentic Italian - bursting with flavour!

The menu has something for everyone - you simply MUST visit if you enjoy real Italian fare. And Claudio always offers glasses of the best limoncello I have ever had...mmmmmmm!!! Gratis, of course! Thank you, Claudio!! And for those with a sweet tooth, the desserts are brilliant!

Happy tip...the bathroom is CLEAN!!!

If you are in Kata Beach and you do not drop in to enjoy Claudio's restaurant, you are really doing yourself a disservice...this is a MUST!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Arguably best pizza we had outside Italy”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Owner was on holiday but the Thai staff did an excellent job of the delicious pizza which we changed to suit our taste. No problem. Wood fired and cooked perfectly with delicious base. Wine also very nice (yes yes expensive in Thailand, but you need to drink red wine with pizza in my view). Decor very simple but the front doors/wall were open so nice to dine in the open.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gidday!again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Bellissimo.”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Thanks Gastone for his very beautiful restaurant. All food was excellent: pizza, pasta, salads. We will come back surely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krisanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing