We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but still far from perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Retro Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retro Siam
Ranked #37 of 60 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good but still far from perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

It's a very small guest-house (definitely hard to call it "hotel" as it has only 3 rooms). Quite far from the beach - 15 mins walking when you take a "short-cut" (path leading next to a very smelly sewage canal, not exactly what you call a romantic destination). I think it's not a good place when you are planning long beach holidays but for our 3 night stay it was just fine (we were sightseeing, didn't stay at the beach).

Breakfast was very good, the staff was nice and they tried to be helpful (they didn't speak good English though). There is a cheap laundry service just next door. Our room was quite small, bathroom was ok but it could have been cleaner (plus our sink was constantly clogged), bedsheets and towels were spotless clean. Big fridge, kettle, hair dryer, toiletries - everything that one would need.

There is a balcony but sitting there is almost impossible because of the awful smell - sewage again. View - on some mountains and roofs and sewage when you look down (with rats), nothing spectacular or beautiful.

I would recommend this place to people who do not look for luxurious resorts, even though it has as many disadvantages as advantages. It's quiet there, far from hustle of Kata Beach town and... it's cheap. Clean and good standard for what we paid. But definitely not the best place when you want to go to the beach every day, unless you don't mind walking in smelly surroundings or going to the beach by taxi - it's not hotel's fault, I wouldn't recommend any hotel in that part of Kata when it comes to beach holidays.

Room Tip: No lift and two out of three rooms are on 2nd floor with steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocking_pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 days 3 nights. The guesthouse is located in a very peaceful and quiet place in Kata. Takes about 5-10min walk to the beach. The service staffs are very nice and friendly, always smiling. They are quite strict on the check in time (2pm). We are not allowed to checked in early. The reception and our room is a few blocks away.
The room is big with balcony. The shower pressure is most of the time strong, sometimes the pressure is so weak the shower is just dripping water, not sure why. The shower area have scum on tiles and rusty shower pipe. I found some feces stains at the toilet bowl seat area. I wished the room service staff could have noticed that and cleaned that up before we get our room key. The air con is strong and cold and there is a ceiling fan as well. The bed is slightly hard but comfortable. The pillows are fluffy and comfortable. They provide beach towels upon request. Bottled water is provided in the room.
Overall this is a good area to stay in Kata if you are looking for somewhere peaceful and laid back. As we didn't book our holidays in advance, not many hotels or guest rooms are available with reasonable price. If you are booking in advance, I would recommend some other hotels around this area as I am sure you can get a better deal. If you are booking at the last minute, this is the place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fionanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful guesthouse close to a very pretty beach on Phuket.

The room was very clean and well decorated, the shower had warm water, bed was comfortable, balcony was lovely to sit out on and the aircon was very welcoming! Wifi signal was strong.

The guesthouse is along a road with many different restaurants nearby as well as a 7 eleven convenience shop.

The owner/manager doesn't speak much English but she was always very polite and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emilyandgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We love the view over the different colour roofs outside, top floor room is a couple of flights with a backpack but worth it for the great value - Kata beach is lovely, we are so glad we didn't need to go to Patong

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

To be truth, the place is really awesome. In our recent Phuket trip we visited over 6 different hotels, but Siam deserve highest rate from our list. First is location, it's really great, because hotel located in stub area and there is no any attraction places near by, you will have all chances enjoy your sleep. Secondly, rooms are spacious and clean, in our case(Delux Room) was installed 2 beds(1 king size and one single), moreover mattress was not soft and very comfortable for sleep. For travelers who value relax after hassle day, room has big private balcony with 2 chairs and table. We really enjoy our staying, especially value for money. I can not say something about beach trip, since we were using motorbike, btw parking is on same road under balcony. Beach towels service is exist

One tiny annoying thing is no English speaking staff. But anyway, they was very friendly and body language helped us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancubus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
9.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
8.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retro Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retro Siam

Property: The Retro Siam
Address: 98/77 The Beach Center, Kata road | Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — The Retro Siam 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Retro Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retro Siam Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing