We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warren and Janine Thompson New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaman Cannacia Resort
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warren and Janine Thompson New Zealand”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely, friendly and very helpful staff all round. Had an orsim stay. Only one thing that let it down was our room needed some minor maintenance but all in all we would highly recommend it to people who want an excellent resort without children...5+

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    215
    91
    38
    24
See reviews for
85
314
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here about 2 days ago and could not ask for a better place. When we arrived we got upgraded and stayed in room 129 - in my opinion the best room in the hotel! We have two balconies, one with stunning beach front views the other with direct access to the pool. The staff were so helpful- nothing was too much and the facilities were great! The included breakfast had something for everyone. The only negative is that it is a short but steep walk to the hotel from the beach and shops but I didn't mind it meant I got to work off all the yummy Thai food. I would highly recommend this to any couple looking for a little slice of serenity and luxury!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I plus 3 very good friends of ours spent 2 weeks at this hotel from 22/02/2014 - 05/02/2014 - it was our 5th visit to the island of Phuket and this was, overall the best hotel we have stayed in. The rooms are spacious and spotless - a huge bed with comfortable mattress and pillows. Bathroom is nice. We were on the 3rd floor - room 311 and had a great view across the bay. There is a day bed on the balcony and a table and 2 chairs. Mini bar is stocked daily with soft drinks, beer, water and peanuts. Food is plentiful and varied for breakfast and lunch is served either by the pool or in the main restraunt with a very good choice on the menu. Dinner is mostly alacarte , but there are also a couple of themed buffet nights- food is excellent. Service is beyond reproach and the staff cannot do it enough for you. There is a courtesy shuttle bus that runs to and from the beach and the sister hotel Peach Hill, at regular intervals daily. We were on an all inclusive basis with Thomson holidays and it truly was All inclusive - no restrictions on menu choice or drinks between 11am - 11pm. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a sea view room if you enjoy excellent views from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Greeted by very pleasant receptionist who organised our room to be ready well before the check in time. The suite was great, with lounge, bedroom, bathroom and three balconies with daybeds. There is a nice pool area with sunbeds and day beds with a beautiful view down to the beach. As the hotel sits high above the resort, if you go down the steps then it is quite a climb back up. Therefore it is not suitable for the less able, and there are lots of steps within the hotel. A complimentary minibus is provided for transfer up and down to the resort. We had dinner in the hotel that night but I would not recommend it. If you are looking for a quiet, away-from-it-all hotel, then it is for you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- relatively clean rooms
- friendly staff

Cons:
- I dare you please don't eat food in the hotel's restaurant. My wife and I after tiring trip to the islands decided to enjoy some Thai soups in the hotel's restaurant. That were somewhat different from we had before and the effect was almost immediate - terrible food poisoning. The next day that we had great plans for was totally ruined - spent most of it in bed with stomach pain.
- new year party ( payment for that was mandatory) was awful and terribly organised. In addition to that have noticed that some of the food being served was undercooked.
- our villa we stayed in was advertised as having sea view. The view was on the tries and various trash left from construction. As we found out later only one villa out of many has real sea view.
- service in hotel is friendly but desperately lacks proper training (waiter in the restaurant was listening to music on his phone laying in his pocket while serving food and drinks)
- hotel is max 3 stars minus rather than 4 as advertised.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirill_Saturov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Jus 2 girls out of South Africa for the first time,Our first trip out of South Africa Dec 9 2013 and we got to stay at this hotel for just a week was surreal!!we thought we had died and gone to heaven.The rooms and facilities were spectacular but the best was the service and the very friendly staff,we definitly miss the royal treatment.God bless Andaman Cannacia.

Sinothile Buthelezi

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sino-sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Positives:
- Pretty good view from the pool area,
- Free shuttle bus to Kata and the beach (schedule and mud map of route provided),
- 2 free bottles of water every day,
- Beautiful lobby area always had a few people sitting around relaxing, using the free wifi (you had to pay if you wanted in your rooms).

Negatives:
- Pretty sure wide lens was used to take the photos available of this resort, because the pool is not that big. The very small upper pool with the bar was consistently monopolised by overweight men in speedos, which is not appealing to have a relaxing time!
- Had to pay for accommodation up front, upon check in.
- Porter took our bags to our room and then just turned on the TV and started to flick through channels (without talking to us). We're assuming that was to show us that the TV worked???
- Hotel service book (usually should consist of local services like restaurants etc) just had an outdated menu of their restaurant and an alphabetical list of the hotel services (which made it difficult to find information because they're not all named logically!)
- "King sized bed" was 2 very poor quality (rock hard) single bed mattresses pushed together;
- Room was designed with a day bed cut out with block out curtains, but these curtains didn't cover the corner, so I had sun glaring into my face in the morning. Had to use my hair clips to cover up the gap.
- Tiny verandah overlooking some cleared land for construction.
- Basic amenities provided, some were available for purchase that a lot of hotels would offer as complimentary.
- Daily room cleaning apparently doesn't include clearing takeaway food containers that we couldn't fit in the bin!
- Restaurant service was ok, but they severely undercooked the potato in a massaman curry! (We figured Thai food would have been a no-brainer here!) That was challenging to communicate to the staff, because most of their English was too basic to understand that.
- Breakfast served in the outdoor restaurant had uncovered food teaming with flies/mosquitos - I quickly learned to eat only the hot food that was covered or freshly cooked fried eggs. No coffee machine - only perculated coffee available.
- "Fitness Centre" included one rusted old multifunction machine that was not bolted together properly - entire machine shook when my partner attempted to use it! (He is not one of those overweight men in speedos, so it was definitely not due to that).
- Unfortunate timing of a planned power outage at the exact time I needed to get ready for the wedding we were holidaying for...
- Staff temporarily misplaced my partner's suit he had "drycleaned". (We're guessing it was just pressed though, as the tailor's tag was still stapled to the pants when staff returned it).
- One of the maintenance cupboards in the hallway had a door that wouldn't close properly, so it would open and slam shut several times in the night with the wind. Hence, in combination with the terrible bed, we didn't have a good night's sleep for the 4 nights we were there.
- Had to checkout at 7am, but as the hotel advertised that breakfast would be served from 6:30am, we figured there wouldn't be any issues. Most of the food wasn't ready at 6:45am, toaster wasn't warmed up and the "chef" at the egg station didn't have any eggs...
- Upon checkout, we had to keep the airport transfer driver waiting because they insisted on checking our room before we left, even though we had paid for it. Most reasonable hotels would inform you that they will check it and let you know if there were any extra charges.

TIP: There was no tour of the hotel, nor even a map of the facility. We discovered the shortcut footpath down the hill to Kata after reading a review on here (from around 13 Dec 13). Reviewer was absolutely correct - don't use this path if you have any sort of mobility issues. The stairs are very steep and uneven, and then the slope is very steep and with loose rocks. It's ok if you're relatively fit and healthy but proceed with caution!! I wouldn't recommend using it at night though - could be quite dangerous. Path is accessed from the hill side of the pool.

Getting around town: Some taxi drivers insisted that this resort was in Kata Noi and would try to charge us the higher price. The hotel is in Kata beach, not Kata Noi. Otherwise it's generally a fixed price for taxis: 200B to Kata Noi, 500B to Patong (or 400B if you can negotiate). Don't feel you have to tip the taxi drivers though - they're getting enough of a profit from what they're charging!!

If you're looking for a budget hotel with a pool, and you're not looking for luxury, then this place is probably fine for you. From the photos and the description (particularly being called a "resort"), we expected a lot more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CassieH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Cannacia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Cannacia Resort

Property: Andaman Cannacia Resort
Address: 212 Kok Tanod Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaman Cannacia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaman Cannacia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Cannacia Hotel Kata Beach
Andaman Cannacia Kata
Andaman Cannacia Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing