We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Cannacia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andaman Cannacia Resort
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved the Cannacia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

This was my first trip to Phuket and it couldn't have been better. We got a great deal on this hotel where we lived in total luxury for 7 days. the breakfast was great, I highly recommend the elephant rides just up the hill. (tip your driver well for taking photo's and maybe he'll give you and extra special shot!). This end of the beach was a little too Swedish for me, if i'd wanted that much Sweden I'd have gone there instead. Otherwise this is a little less crowded and not such a party atmosphere as the other beaches. The hotel IS up the cliff a tiny bit, but it was SO worth it. the pool was super the service was super...

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank labrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    213
    88
    38
    24
See reviews for
84
309
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2007 after reading the reviews on tripadvisor which are usually very reliable. On arrival at the hotel, we were given a seaview room (Canna Deluxe) which smelled really musty and overlooked a building site. The sheets were also not very clean. I rang the reception and they changed us to another room which didn't smell as bad and was overlooking the pool rather than the building site. However, the sheets were still stained in this room and my overall impression was that the place was not that clean. In the morning at breakfast, there were flies and wasp all around the food area. I stayed in other hotels in Thailand with an open air breakfast area but I never seen as many flies as I seen here. In fact it turned us off going to breakfast completely as you couldn't relax with amount of flies and wasps. The staff didn't seem to care too much about anything. I asked them one night if we could get a taxi to Kata and they laughed. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody. I stayed in the Amari Coral Beach as well while in Phuket and it was excellent in comparison. I really regretted booking this place and would never go there again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness, service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

The Andaman Cannacia Resort was one of the nicest and most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. The gardens and pool area are well kept and offer a lovely view of Kata Beach.
We had a very nice room overlooking the pool and gardens, and there was a daily maid service to change towels, and sheets.
I would recommend eating in the hotel, as there are some lovely meals, but it is alot cheaper to eat around the other restaurants in Kata.
We had lovely weather - everyone kept saying it was the rainy season but we had only 3 days where it rained and this was often only for a hour or so.
Yes the hotel is on a very steep hill, but the hotel lays on a bus that can take you down and up from the beach resort.
It is about a 5 walk down the hill to Kata Beach - also Patong (main town) only about 400 baht by Tuk Tuk if you walk down the hill from the hotel.
Would highly recommend this hotel and all of the staff!

  • Liked — The pool, especially likes the in pool bar!
  • Disliked — That is was on top of a very steep hill!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dancer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2007

Me and my family spend our christmas holiday at Andaman Cannacia Resort . We stayed in a Canna Deluxe Room with seaview and we simply loved it.
Yes, the hotel looks a bit old (but only a few places) and the hill is a bit steep. But the view, the pool and the surroundings are fantastic. And the staff were always nice to us and gave us nothing but a good service. :0)

  • Liked — The view !!
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss_Malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2007

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Andaman and had a great time. The hotel is dated and could do with a refurb but as far as location goes its a winner. Rooms are huge and all have terrace or balcony. Free safes in rooms.
It is high above Kata beach with nice views - a very easy downhill walk of 5 mins to nearest shops - uphill is a different matter ! Very steep hill which isn't far but boy its steep ! If you prefer the tuk tuk drivers will drive you for between 50-100 baht. Pool area is lovely.
If you always stay at 5* you would be dissapointed with this hotel but for what you pay it is great. Nice breakfast with good selection. Just down from the hotel on the beach is a fantastic restaurant called Kata Mama - cheapest I have seen in years of travelling in Thailand. Lovely place to stay if you want to be somewhere with all the shops and restaurants but without the bars and hoards of people at patong - 20 mins away by tuk tuk

  • Liked — Just a little way away from town
  • Disliked — Dated rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank stuartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2007

Smallish hotel with impressive lobby and beatiful gardens and pool area.Sited at top of a steep hill with no pavements but tuk tuk is just 100 Baht one way to beach/town at Kata and Kata Noi.Rooms quite large and reasonably furnished many with views over bay. Staff are helpful and there is a good pool bar.Breakfast not as good as others we stayed at and tendency to not replace items quickly.Can get fresh eggs and omelettes though.One issue is that there is no real bar to sit at in the evening so most people go out - which is ok as there are many good and mixed price resteraunts in resort. Very close to Elephant re hab centre.

  • Liked — Gardens,pools
  • Disliked — Lack of bar in evenings
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2007

We stayed at the Andaman for 13 nts in January, on the recommendation of our travel agent as being good for children. This was important as we were travelling with our 16 month old. On first appearance the hotel looked lovely. Fantastic views and impressive lobby. However, there were steps and water features everywhere. May have been suitable for children, but not toddlers. We managed, however.

However, we booked a cot for our daughter and after having flown in from Bangkok and arrived at 21:00 hrs were disappointed to find no cot. On asking the reception, we were advised there was no cot available that night and duly presented with a mattress on the floor for our daughter to sleep on!!! We stayed up till 3:00am waiting for a cot to appear, but in the end, our daughter slept in with us. Not a good start to our holiday!

A cot finally appeared 24 hours later after persistent chasing, witha wooden board as a mattress! We eventually managed to get a comfortable cot sorted but by this stage were not impressed.

We stayed here on a bed and breakfast basis and to be honest, the breakfast was disappointing. It appeared that the minimum amount of food was being put out and once it had gone, it would be a while before any more was brought out. I ended up having curry on many mornings as there was always plenty of it, but if you wanted bacon, that was another matter. In fact on our last day, they started to place to bacon behind the chef, cooking eggs, so that you had to ask for bacon!! I ended up waiting 10 mins one morning, for bacon, by which time, I'd finished the remainder of my breakfast! There was also one person frying eggs on one gas cooker, so you can imagine the queues for eggs! Certainly my worst experience of hotel breakfasts.

Room service was not much better, and food was pretty poor really.

Rooms were generally basic and spacious. However, needed a bit of TLC. Our wooden floor looked like it had never been cleaned and our feet were black after having walked around our room for a while.

On the plus side, the pool area was lovely with fantastic views over Kata beach. The staff were, on the whole, friendly and very attentive to our daughter, as were all Thais.

We would certainly not stay at this hotel again and I like to think we have travelled around enough to know a good hotel from a bad one. We're not 1st class travellers and usually select 3-4* hotels but this one was definately lacking, and needed some input from management. One other thing, the steep hill on which it was located was a killer to walk up at the end of the day, especially when pushing a pram and those tuk tuk fares soon mount up.

  • Liked — the views and the pool
  • Disliked — rooms not very clean, terrible breakfasts
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Cannacia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Cannacia Resort

Property: Andaman Cannacia Resort
Address: 212 Kok Tanod Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaman Cannacia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaman Cannacia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Cannacia Hotel Kata Beach
Andaman Cannacia Kata
Andaman Cannacia Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing