We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chanalai Garden Resort
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Met up with the parents here as a break to my backpacking around S.E Asia. Rooms very nice, nice pools & great breakfast. The hotel staff were friendly & assisted us in booking our ferry to Kho Phi Phi to continue our trip south to Singapore.

Kata is a touristy area & caters for a tourist holiday. Have a night out in Patong - it's an eyeopener!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquirtRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We do appreciate your comments. We promise to keep on the good service for the futher better serve.

We wish you will be back to stay with us very soon

Jimmy /CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    404
    148
    53
    59
See reviews for
256
538
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The room quite large, clean and most important is the view from our room facing straight to Kata beach and the swimning pool. We also serve with various breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Choose room facing to yhe pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesLesmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
How delighted we are to learn that you had a nice stay with us. We all are very grateful to your support us and wish to have you stay with us again.

Jimmy/CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had booked a seaview deluxe room. When we arrived we got a room over the familes pool where the kids play all day.Loudly. We could only see a bit of the water and the room was not deluxe. We asked to be moved which they did the next day to a room higher up the hill. We did have a nice view of the water but the room was small and did not seem to have been updated since the 1960s. Old style large box TV no flat screen. It didnt work sometimes so we had to call maintenance. In room safe did not work some time so we had to call maintenance. According to the hotel any room where you can see any glimpse of water is called deluxe seaview. Not very good.If you have any mobility problems do not even think of staying here way to many stairs which you cannot avoid. 2 pools one very noisy with kids and families and one for adults with no shallow area. It had a total of 14 loungers that were usable and a pile of broken ones at one end of the pool.Pool swimup bar but never staffed so if you want a drink it is about a 5min walk to the other pool.bar. Hotel is in serious need of maintenance, the 2 wood loungers on our balcony had no cushions and no finish on them . They were down to bare wood as the finish had weathered off. Breakfast has very limited selection and is supposed to be ready at 6:30 which if you are taking an excurtion that picks you up at 7:00 would be OK. But it is not ready on time which means you will not get much in the way of breakfast if you have to leave before 7:00.The entire hotel needs a pressure wash as the wall, floors, railings and stairs were dirty. Hotel is about 300 meters from the beach via a few alleys.The hotel caters to Russian with signs and menus in Russian. They claim all of the available longers at the family pool by 7:00 am.They leave thier towels on the loungers all day and the staff does nothing.

Room Tip: If you must stay here get a roon as high up the hill as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
After hearing this comment from you, we do not hesitate to brainstorm to sort the problems out. Please note that this kind comment has already been notified to the management. We are grateful to your review.Please accept our sincere thanks for this.

CRM/CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Asked for a seaview room when booking.we could see a glimpse of the sea on the horizon over a tree. Room decor was very dated and the shower flooded the bathroom floor. Asked to change room but reception staff avoided the issue by asking us to come back tomorrow. As we could not get our money back we gave up after three days. Pool music was very loud and not enough deck chairs. Not good for elderly or families with young children as many flights of stairs to climb. Breakfast okay and room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you very much for your reviews. Your kind opinion toward our resort is greatly appreciated.

We will bring your comments to improve our service for the better serve and best serve. By the way, please note that we are now renovating our products in order be ready to welcome the coming tourist season.

Jimmy R/CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I booked a double bed room. When i arrived, they give me single bed room. then they immediately convert the bed by combining to double. anyway, it's ok. very brilliant. it takes about 5 minutes to walk to the beach. very near to kata beach town. Most of the female staff very polite and nice especially when the first day we arrived. the breakfast is fine but almost same everyday. we do enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takingatlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
We do appreciate on your comments. We wish to have a chance to welcome you back if the chance may arise.

Jimmy/ CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Just came back from spending 10 days at Tropical Garden Resort Kata Beach and couldn't fault this resort. The position is great with really easy access to the beach and some great little eating spots right on the beach in front of the resort. For those who don;t know Kata Beach you can really get caught out with thinking that some Resorts are close to the beach but in fact Club Med takes up over half the beachfront and has a concrete fence along the road side which doesn't give access to the beach. We saw some people who had to walk a far distance to get access to the beach. Before booking any accommodation make sure you check the location. We stayed on the third floor room 2307 and had a wonderful view out over the pool and beach and ocean. We couldn;t fault the buffet breakfast which was really fresh and had plenty of variety. The staff were wonderful and extremely friendly. Our room was big enough to fit in another bed for our 17yr old son so that was a big bonus not having to book two rooms.For the price it was fantastic value and the hotel has a great booking deal for the green season. As for the weather we had 10 perfect days with only the occasional storm at night. At this time of the year there isn't as many tourist either so there is some greate deals on tours, we only paid $40 for a whole day and Sunset tour of Phang Nga Bay and James Bond Island with 9 Point VIP tours on the Silver Bullet cruise boat which was excellent. We hired two bikes every couple of days to explore the island and found some wonderful little beaches with some beautiful scenery and eating spots, The best markets are the weekend markets just outside of Phuket.. they had a few more different things than the same old stuff at the Patong and Karon Beach markets. I have to say we didn;t think much of Patong it;s very tacky and full of girly bars and just yuk, I think if you just stayed there you really wouldn't get the true beauty and essence of Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you very much for your great reviews. We wish to have a chance to welcome you back in the near future. Please let us be your first choice.

Jimmy/ CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

we stayed in a spa room, rocked up on the day with no booking (sept low/rainy season) asked how much - got a room in the low season for 1000baht - the room was large, had spa, outdoor enclosed shower area, and steam room.

we stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our phuket trip, we spent alot of time lazing by the pool, drinking cocktails from the pool bar, daily happy hours with two for one cocktails yummo.

breakfast was plentiful, will even cook you up your eggs fresh before your eyes.

close walk to the beach and to kata mama beachfront restarunt and ska ba for drinks, short walk to the 7/11 for all the supplies you might need.

will stay there again when we return this year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_loves_Dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you very much for your review. It is our pleasure to learn that you have nice stay with us and wish to welcome you back again if the chance may arise in the near future

best regards,
Jimmy
CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
3.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Property: Chanalai Garden Resort
Address: 247 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Chanalai Hotels and Resorts offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Chanalai Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares. Chanalai Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing