We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip 14-22 march”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chanalai Garden Resort
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trip 14-22 march”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and across the road there is a beach. We arrived at 11 am, we had known that the room is ready only at two. To our great surprise they gave us the key in 30 minutes after our arrival. The room was very comfortable and in the morning we opened he balcony door and listened to bird's chirping. It was very relaxing. The stuff was very friendly and always smiled at everybody so did we. Yes, the road is very busy but be very attentive and all will be fine. The beach is clean and water clear. The sand is very soft but hot))) I imagined we lived in the jungle)))) The only disappointed thing was - spots on the towels and sheets, no they weren't dirty o course, but I think used lots of times. If you are a pedant take or buy your own towel. There are 2 swimming pools and one for children! All in all this hotel brought us only good impression. )))

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    404
    148
    53
    59
See reviews for
256
535
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albury Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I think we expected a more modern hotel and also after long drive from airport to Hotel we did expect the normal welcome drink and nice warm towel just to freshen up. We were told our room will ready in an hour and a half and given drink-vouchers which could only be used between 6-9pm. The lift was out of order for 3 days luckily we were on 3rd floor so not too many flights of stairs!!. It is very convenient across road from beach but that road is very busy till early hours of the morning so try get a room further back. The staff at breakfast were not very friendly at all. All in all would not stay there again. They were kind enough to present me with a cake in my room for my 60th birthday and it was lovely and fresh!! The pools are lovely with bar and food service.

Room Tip: Stay towards back of Hotel front rooms very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights there, after staying at Patong merlin this place seemed like a huge step down in all regards. On arrival while checking in my wife noticed two huge rats running down the stairs in reception, she shrieked and I when running in time to see one of them heading into the garden off the stairs. But by then I had passed over my credit card for full payment up front, this I see is a new trend, even though I booked through booking.com still full payment upfront. Confirmed the rooms I had requested we were getting and the correct standard of room. The surprisingly unhelpful staff confirmed yes on a few occasions but once the keys were passed over not the right rooms or wing. After some heated discussion they said you can shift tomorrow, unhappy but not much choice. Once we arrived at our rooms in the most far away wing from reception, exactly what did not want, we find twin beds not doubles in both rooms and they are not connecting as requested. These rooms appeared smaller than we paid for also. Both rooms had stained bedding and one had a blocked toilet so daughter and partner had to shift to a room one floor higher, this looked like the room we paid for. Trying not to get angry and ruin our holiday.
Next day we shift to correct wing, but only one of had been shifted the other room they had not moved the bags over, which they do by van the place is so far stretched out over the hillside.
These new rooms still look smaller than paid for but view is good so we stay, our room smelled like cigarette smoke so I phone reception who got housekeeping to come to the room and with no English and no interest we were forced to stay in this room but had to open the doors while we were inside.
A few other annoying things the breakfast was well below any other hotel of similar price and rating in Thailand, little choice, flies on the uncovered food, one toaster with one slot so long queue for toast, we paid mafia money for wifi but it only worked sometimes and never worked on my cellphone, there was free wifi in the lobby and I did sit there for a few hours trying to get a picture of the rats but never got one, my wife was walking up the stairs on our second day and a rat came down the stairs to greet her, never had an issue with English at any hotel in Thailand but this hotel the staff forget all their English if there was a problem.
Overall rundown, old looking, not great staff, too many steps in the heat, poor breakfast, poor and overpriced internet, small rooms and the plus side nice pools and is handy to the beach

Room Tip: Wing 2 is the closest to reception, only floors 3 and 4 have good view. Still three flights of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggynewzeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel has both pros and cons, it just depends what you're looking for. The location is literally across the street from beautiful Kata beach, and in walking distance to the area'a shopping and dining. Our room was on the west end, and balcony opened onto the pool area, which had a nice view, and was relaxing and probably the best part of the hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, with barely running faucets and toilet, nasty smell coming from bathroom drains (seems to be the norm in Asia)somewhat worn bedding, and an ancient TV set. But there are a decent selection of English channels, which kind of made up for it. The overall feel of the hotel was that it had seen better days, and although fairly clean, had a sort of dirty air about it. (Probably all the rust and random grime in the room). All in all though, the stay was enjoyable, and it's easy to overlook the cons because the pros outweigh them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs onto the west end pool for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This place is amazing, so long as you don't mind a few stairs (even still there's elevators). An amazing beach view, two nice pools and a great kitchen with a wide variety of foods. No complaints whatsoever. The lady who was at the tourism desk was also very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to grab a room that captures the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Hammock, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

well
we visited me , husband and 2 old kids December 31 and spent new year here .

check in was smooth and thanks god it was in block 2 which is not too far from lobby .
i was shocked by the room , the sheets and bed covers were disaster , dirty spotted with yellow patches and one with blood ( oh my god ) can you imagine sleeping on someone else blood and of course i asked them to change the whole 4 beds sheets in front of me . the bed cover was paper thin but did the job . the bathroom was basic and good with good water pressure and some what not veery clean towels ( which the hotel need to renew ) . the sea view was amazing and the sound of the waves oh god amazing ( i love the sound of the sea makes me relax)

water was added each day which was good (one big bottle )
TV was very old and not clear picture but not important for us .
air condition was good .
breakfast was OK though i did not ate in hotel because breakfast was not included and costs 300 bat and we ate in a cafe across the road .

2 pools and water is dark ( tiles related ?) and looked dirty and i don't know if it was cleaned and chlorine added or not ?

towels on Jan 2 were run out ????

beach was across the road very very short distance ( i love kata beach )

reception staff some are good and the man was mean , one lady printed boarding pass free of charge as all respectful hotels do and another guy asked for money when he printed the other sector of flight when i checked online .

the new years eve party costed 130 us dollars and when we asked for Pepsi and water they said its not free !!!

last time i visited kata beach i stayed in kata beach hotel and spa and the rooms was very clean and big and tidy but it was fully booked so this hotel was adequate 3 star hotel who did the job .

WiFi was free only in the lobby.
after 5 nights it turned out to be nice hotel at reasonable price

Room Tip: pay extra and take sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is not luxury, and there is nothing fancy about it, however for a beach stay, in my opinion it's perfect. My friend and have just checked out and are now in Bangkok. We stayed 3 nights at the Tropical Garden Resort, and have zero complaints. This is a simple hotel, built into the side of a mountain and actually reminded us of being in a tree house. The room was old, but clean and everything worked, but come on if you go to Phuket Thailand, and spend more than two hours in the room during the day, then your on the wrong vacation. There is way to much stuff to do there rather than sitting in a hotel room. The breakfast buffet, which was the standard Asian style was fantastic and a great meal to fuel up on before hitting the daily activities. All in all this was a comfortable beach stay, and I would stay here again. Now as many other reviews have already stated, there is quite a bit of stair climbing, so I would recommend another hotel if your older, or out of shape.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
3.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Property: Chanalai Garden Resort
Address: 247 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Chanalai Hotels and Resorts offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Chanalai Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares. Chanalai Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing