We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for a reason!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chanalai Garden Resort
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap for a reason!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was taken to my room and we went by stairs, then we caught an elevator, then more stairs, then another elevator...then climbed more stairs, seriously!! It appears the hotel is built on the side of a hill and my room was near the top.

I asked for another room and was taken to a room next to the pool with a slight sea view. It was ok although the air con was noisy.
This is a large holiday hotel, it's big and ordinary....but it's cheap!! There's nothing great to write about this hotel, and other than the trek if you get a bad room there's nothing too bad to write for the price. If you pay $30 for a hotel room you can't expect new luxury!

There's restaurants all around the hotel area and it's not too far to walk to the beach. When it rains some of the walk ways become dangerously slippery.

I will book another hotel next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you're room is not at the top of this resort/hotel. Ask the receptionist how many elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    394
    143
    52
    57
See reviews for
245
519
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is a very interesting one. It combines features of a 5*, 4* and a 3* hotel. It is acctually a 3* hotel but offers more. We stayed at CHANALAI GARDEN RESORT when it was tropical garden resort back in jan 2012 for our honeymoon.

View is spectecular (5*)

Rooms are old, furniture are old (3*) but all was comfortable (4*). Cleaning and maid's attention was nice (5*). Rooms had everything you would need (such as realiable safe 5*)

TV had enough international channels. (5*).

Reception was very polite and helpful (5*)

We never had drinks or dinner at the hotel. We were always out walking in Kata or Karon. But breakfast wasnt good enough. they could have more hot dishes, more cheese, and olives. It was 3* or below.

It should have a gym. But no worries, go out in the beach and do some cardio. the beach is a total of 5 km long. With such a view, you ll never have enough.

You can definetly can have a nice vac here, with a renovated face, I am looking forward for another stay one day (when I have the financials good enough).

Room Tip: delux room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fethi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent one night here when I arrived at the airport without a hotel late one night. The airport booth obviously gets a good commission. The hotel is generally of a very low standard. Spent the one night without power for about 4 hours - no generator. Room grubby, hotel grubby. Breakfast was awful. Location is OK but Kata beach is crowded. Most guests seemed to be Russian - it would be interesting to see what they all think. I just couldnt stay here and checke out as soon as I had a reservation at a better hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattaya
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We've stayed for 2 nights at the end of April and enjoyed the stay very much. Kata Beach is beautiful and the Hotel has 2 nice Pools too. The Rooms are big and the tub is not usual for Hotels in this price range, The Rooms were clean and the staff is very kind.We've been at the end of the Season and not many other guests been in this Hotel at this time what makes our stay even more comfortable

Only problem was the old Name of the Hotel whihc made a little trouble for the Taxi Driver to find it because we booked a room in Chanalai Garden but the sign and all other stuff used the old Name Tropical Garden resort. Also some repair and renovation activities are required but the Hotel promised to close now for a while and renovate anyway due to the new Owner and belonging name change. Bad was that the A/C in our room damaged in the night and we had to move into another room which wasn't prepared due to the fact that they close for renovation.

At the end I really recommend this Hotel and hope they keep the promise and renovate the required things.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Have stayed at this hotel this spring and was really happy about it. Read some reviews here on tripadvisor, some pretty negative, which I don´t understand. Some complains about the sevice, we only experinced great service and nice staff. After a week, we talked to the staff since we experinced some noise at our room, and in 5 minutes we were given a new room with sea view, no extra change. Also they have 24/7 service, if you e.g. need toilet paper or fresh towels, just call the service room and they will come to your room to fix it.
Also some reviews mentions the breakfast.....what not to like??? - there are toasts with butter and jam, 3 different thaifoods (different every day), pancakes, french toasts, ham, sausages, bacon, freshly made omlets and fried eggs, fruit, and diferent kinds of cerials.
ROOM.
Both rooms we had were nice and roomy. Cleaned every day, and had safety box. Nice big balconies, and well working (although a bit noisy) aircon.
Great space for hanging your clothes, and a little sitting area.
POOLS:
Both pools are nice, and were cleaned every day. We didn´t have any problems getting sunbeds, but in case the hotel is fully booked, it might be a problem. The bigger pool had a pool bar - though quite expensive when thinking about you are not allowed to bring your own water. One day I forgot a shirt and my sunglasses at the pool, but when I came the next day a staff member came and gave it to me :D
HOTEL AREA AND LOCATION:
The hotel has some nice gardens, a pool table, free internet room, free wifi in lobby.
There are also a restaurant infront of the main entrance, but didn´t try it.
Also there is a place to book trips in the lobby, and not more expensive than booking in town. Also own taxi service, and after talking a bit with them, we got same price as a tuktuk for a trip around the island.
The hotel is located at the very south-end of the city, which means you have a 700 meter walk to main street.
Just across the street you have acces to the beach, and two great restaurants - very cheap, great food, and a sea view. At the beach closest to the hotel you can do some snorkeling. There is not a big reef, but some corals, and great marine life, saw many morenas. At the other end of the beach the reef should be better, but couldn´t snorkel there due to pure visibility at that end.
ALL IN ALL:
A nice hotel with nice rooms, nice staff and great breakfast. Again I don´t understand what some are complaining about, of cours they might have had a bad experience, but remember, if you want 5* hotels you have to pay for a 5* hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstonville
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had visited this Resort (under its former name) 3 times in the past 4 years and found it pleasant so was very disappointed with my trip this week. First hassle: arrived and told the room I had requested had air conditioning problems so we were being upgraded to a 5 star room in another resort, only 2 minutes away. Fine but that 2 minutes was by car, the new resort was way up the other end of Kata and nowhere near the beach. So I declined this offer and asked to stay put. 2nd problem - I asked for one of the rooms with few stairs (having arthritis it's hard to manage them), so where did they put us - the highest level possible. Admittedly the view from the room was fantastic but the 127 steps to the restaurant for breakfast was not fun when there was a power black-out and no lifts. Even with the lifts in service there are a huge amount of stairs to climb. 3rd problem: my bed springs were broken; bed linen was stained and pillow cases a dirty yellow colour. An ash tray that was on our balcony full of cigarette ends the day we arrived was still there the day we left (we are non-smokers and had requested a non-smoking room). What's more when we checked out they claimed it was missing! Likewise when we checked out I had an argument about a bottle of water they claimed we had taken from the mini bar - petty but the reception staff are so rude there was no way I was going to pay for something we hadn't had.
Now to breakfast- OK if you like rats running through the restaurant, a constant septic smell and Russians who allow their children to pick up food with their fingers and then put it back. The quality of food was OK although they are very stingy with pasties - about 1 plate per hour comes out which is swooped upon immediately (once again by the Russians) who not only pile their plates high but also put them in their bags for later in the day.
Previously I have enjoyed the main pool in the resort - this time the water quality was so bad I would not go in the main pool or the smaller one for fear of catching something nasty. Not helped by watching other guests (surprise - Russian again) putting babies in the pool with no nappies, allowing older children to urinate in the pool or on the pool retaining walls and then washing them off in the pool.
Overall the place has a run down feel to it. if you look closely there has been very little attention to basic maintenance issues - both inside and out.
So what was nice about this place? - the view from the room early morning or early evening - the rest of the time the view was of wall to wall people- never seen the place so crowded. The general staff ie housemaids, gardeners etc were all lovely, as are the locals in town. The proximity to the beach and local restaurants is great and things like supermarkets, transport to Patong etc are close by. However, this will be my last ever visit to Kata and definitely to The Tropical Garden.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms but beware of ones high up due to number of stairs and frequent power cuts rendering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and across the road there is a beach. We arrived at 11 am, we had known that the room is ready only at two. To our great surprise they gave us the key in 30 minutes after our arrival. The room was very comfortable and in the morning we opened he balcony door and listened to bird's chirping. It was very relaxing. The stuff was very friendly and always smiled at everybody so did we. Yes, the road is very busy but be very attentive and all will be fine. The beach is clean and water clear. The sand is very soft but hot))) I imagined we lived in the jungle)))) The only disappointed thing was - spots on the towels and sheets, no they weren't dirty o course, but I think used lots of times. If you are a pedant take or buy your own towel. There are 2 swimming pools and one for children! All in all this hotel brought us only good impression. )))

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
714 reviews
23.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Property: Chanalai Garden Resort
Address: 247 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Chanalai Hotels and Resorts offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Chanalai Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares. Chanalai Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing