We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendliest staff. service had a lot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chanalai Garden Resort
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2009

this was our first trip to Phuket so we were a bit unsure what to expect.

The good
you couldn't ask for friendlier staff. they were very helpful, especially the bar staff.
the cocktails by the pool were amazing and their presentation was to die for.
the view from our hotel was also amazing, you could see a few of the islands and kata beach was only a walk from the hotel.
while the hotel wasn't in the best location- that is, it took us 20 minutes by tuktuk to get to the heart of phuket, there were a few really nice resstaurants around. I would recomend the one directly across from the hotel. i can't remeber the name, but my bf had the nicest crocodile there. there is also dino park just a short taxi ride from the hotel which i would highly recomend.
there is a taxi service at the hotel which was extremely helpful seing as we got screwed around by a few taxi drivers while we were there, so you get a basic idea of how much to pay for a taxi.
our hotel room was more than adequate for what we wanted as well

The Bad
The service. the service was the main letdown of this hotel when we first arrived in our room, our safe was broken, so we rang up reception and they said they would be straight up to fix it. because we didn't want to keep our passport or money out in the open, we decided to wait for them to fix it. being our first time in phuket, we wanted to get out and look around. however, an hour later and 2 more phone calls to reception, they finally came up to fix it. also, if you ordered room service, you could expect your dirty dishes to be left outside your door for a couple of days.
the bed. we asked for a double bed in our hotel, but because they didn't have any, the pushed 2 single beds together. because the floors were wood, they kept slipping away in the middle of the night, which was rather uncomfortable.
we were aware that there were many stairs to our room before we left, and leaving the hotel for a day of shopping, the stairs didn't bother us, however, it was a bit annoying after a long day of shopping.
this hotel would be good for anyone who wants a quiet holiday away from the hustle of patong beach.
i wouldn't stay here again, because, while the service didn't bother us, it was a bit too far from everything, it was still a 20 minute taxi ride to the shopping district.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Chanalai Garden Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

Good 3 stars hotel. Nice and Clean, with a good view from the room. Situated on the hill, beach in 3 minutes.
Breakfast was the same everyday, but i think this a problem of all hotels.
There are 2 pools with the bar in the hotel.
Prices in the minibar = in the shop.
Room - clean. Maids change towels almost every day, you just need to drop it on the floor.
No entertainments, but u can take a taxi and go to the Patong beach about 10 min. by car.
Quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathrin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kunton09, manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2010

Thank you for your review. We are glade to learn that you have a pleasant stay with us. We wish you come back to stay with us again.

Jimmy R
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

i stayed at this hotel for one night in april and paid 900 baht from booking.com. first up the place looks nice and the desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. i requested a ground floor room and recieved it. the room was clean and spacious and quiet and had a balcony overlooking the main street.
the pool area is nice and has a swim up pool bar. a breakfast buffet was included in our room price and included all the usual western fare of top quality.
the resort is built on the side of a steep hill and many rooms are up high with great views. there are elevators in the complex but you may have to climb steps to some rooms and i overheard others in the lobby complaining about the amount of steps to climb so consider this when booking. it's about a 5 minute walk to the restaurant strip and a couple more to the beach.
overall i rate this highly (especially the price!) and don't believe it deserves the poor reviews here. i would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrplow37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

This hotel just doesnt care. Half eaten food left in open corridor to rooms, clearly being left for room service to collect but was there for 6 hours in 30 degree heat and the local cats were licking off the the plates.
Dirty linen stacked beside my room along with sackful of empty beer cans and water botteles.
Bed base 3 foot wider than the mattress, blood spots on the wall,
Totally disgusting. No duty manager to complain to either that evening or the next morning when I left.
I would urge you to avoid this hotel especially if youhave young children as the hygiene is very suspect and they really DONT CARE.
I left the number of myThai mobile phone to see wether the management would contact me and discuss any points arising butyou have guessed it NOTHING.
I was courteous when filling out my complaint form but I think they are so used to receiving them they most likely bin them

2  Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My biggest memory of this hotel, are the stairs, there seemed to be more every day to get back to my room. Anyone who has stayed there will relate to this problem. I was in the second block, third floor and had to walk up numerous steps, plus use a lift and then more steps. Stayed for two weeks and they did'nt get easier to get up.
As for the hotel, nothing special, the breakfast was basic and if you wanted eggs or an ommlette,you had to que for about ten minutes.
The buy one, get one free cocktail half hour at the pool, appeared a con, as they definently did'nt put the same amount of alcohol in, as they did at normal times.
The staff don't speak very good english and not that helpfull.
However it's close to the beach, just across the road, and you are at the SKA beach bar, where you can chill out to reaggae music day and night and get a good cheap meal.
Overall my room was ok, nothing fancy/special, would i stay there again? only if i was on the first floor, first block, the steps really are killa's especially after a nite out.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gary12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kunton09, manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2010

As our resort is on the hillside, many steps cannot be avoided. However we have elevators dotted around.

We would recommend you that next visit,please stay with us again but at Serene Resort our sister hotel.
You will experience' The Difference'

Jimmy R
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We booked our stay at Tropical Garden Resort through the recommendations of a travel agent in Bangkok. From the minute that we stepped into the hotel and were greeted by very rude hotel staff, till we left, our experience there was terrible. The room we got had green colored painted walls with shiny red curtains with garish gold mesh sheer curtains over it. The toilet paper had hundreds of tiny insects crawling all over it; when we showed it to the cleaning staff, they just handed us a new roll of toilet paper but didn't do anything else about it. We tried to move to another hotel on our first day but they wouldn't give us our money back and the travel agency was of no help either.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

In December 2007 we stayed at the Tropical Gardens Resort for seven days. It was in an excellent location (Kata Beach), as it was a lot quieter than staying in the Patong area (Patong reminded me of Bangkok, but by the sea). The hotel is a one minute walk from the beach, however if you prefer a quieter beach, then you can go left out the hotel, and walk up the really steep hill, and then down a staircase on the side of the hill, and there is a more secluded beach.

I found the staff at this hotel to be extremely friendly, there was always someone at the front desk no matter what time of the day or night it was. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning, and this was really good. We did not have an all inclusive deal as we preferred to eat food at the local restaurants. Some of these were very reasonably priced and the food was excellent and most of them. I found the hotel restaurant prices to be quite high, so it made more economical sense to eat out.

The hotel was very clean, and the air conditioner was new, and ran silently. Many people have complained about all the stairs in the hotel, but luckily for us we were on the first floor, so this was not a problem for us.

As its name implies, the Tropical Gardens Resort is set in a tropical garden, and it has really beautiful surroundings.

For international phone calls, it would be cheaper to make them from a payphone, however the costs from the hotel are not as expensive as they are in other countries.


Transport around Phuket is relatively cheap. You can either catch a Taxi, or a Tuk Tuk. Before going on the transport I would recommend ensuring you have a set price up front - and you are able to negotiate these prices too.

I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LizaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
3.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
3.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Address: 247 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £30 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Chanalai Hotels and Resorts offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Chanalai Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares. Chanalai Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing