We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want great sushi GO HERE!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Snapper

Red Snapper
Ranked #33 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Red snapper Japanese&Italian Restaurant. We served traditional Japanese food such as sushi& fresh sashime cooked by Japanese chef.Also You can enjoy salad, pasta or fish& meat dishes with our selected house wine then finish with our home made desert&Italian coffee all resonable price. Red snapper is cozy little restaurant(40seats).We recommended book a table especially at dinner.
1 review
“If you want great sushi GO HERE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I went to phuket for the first time and wanted sushi. After looking at tripadvisor we decided to try Red Snapper and we were not disappointed! The fish was so fresh, the price was great and the service was also great! We spent 8 nights in phuket and we went twice! The chef is Japanese and picks only local fish that he finds each morning. This is why there is pasta on the menu because if he doesn't like what is available....he doesn't buy it! We eat sushi all the time in the states and this is better than some places we eat at home. The hostess, Mookie is so warm and welcoming and ensures you are satisfied with everything. If you are willing to try different fish and looking for a great price this is your place!!! Don't miss out on a great meal. This place is located across the street from the Chaba hotel, be sure to tell your taxi driver because some don't know where it is located.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyM1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taka7314, Manager at Red Snapper, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hi I am mooky.
Thank you so much for your comment .We got power from it.
we are small restaurant but we will keep good quality for our customer happy.
Thank you very much wehope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    103
    42
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing and cheap too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our favourite restaurant while we stayed on Kata. We only had Japanese, and it was simply fantastic. Sushi and sashimi was so fresh and perfect. Teriyaki chicken, gyoza, katsu curry were my favourites. So tasty. This place is so cheap it is ridiculous. One of those places where you can just order whatever you want and don't worry about the cost. Drinks also very cheap. An absolute must visit which you will go back more than once. It's not a glamorous place, but its all about the food. The location is about 30m up from the Honey Hotel on the same side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The old switcheroo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We found the place using a taxi. The restaurant does not look anything like the photo shown on here it should be taken down. The menu had more pasta on it than sushi and one peak into the kitchen was enough for me. If you go order cooked food. My wife felt sick after eating the sushi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
キャプテン笹船, オーナー at Red Snapper, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
First of all thank you for you had dinner at our resaurant.
I read your comment that your wife felt sick after had our sushi.If it's matter come from our sushi.we feel so sorry for that.

I 'm owner and chef. My policy is always use fresh ingredients,also train to our staff always clean hands before touch the stuffs each time.Especially when make sushi we wear plastic gloves as well.
We have to find out this matter and to resorve this problem then try never happend same again.

Our regural menu has more pasta than sushi.Yes! cause we want serve fresh fishes from sea ( we don't use got chemicald fish from farm) to our customers .we won't stock too much fishes for another day. when we have fresh fishs we notice special black boards to our customers.
Thank you again for your comment .we try to improved our skills more and more to make our customers happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skoavlunde
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food and very cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Amazing sushi and very good service. It was a little bit difficult to find but ask in the shops and they will guide you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank claus f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singpore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Good food and the staff are really great!! It is just on the opposite of the hotel where we stayed. The staff are very nice too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aman k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Snapper also viewed

 

Been to Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing