We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Foto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Foto Hotel
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one week and choose the hotel because of its location, 2min by scooter on the hillside of Kata away from the busy area. Wow where does one start: the rooms are large very luxurious, the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on, baths are on the balcony looking into the hills or the ocean, internet on your TV, free mini bar daily which incl. cole, water, juice. Free wifi through out the hotel. The rooms basically all face the same direction towards the ocean but the ones without the sea view has tree's in a distance that abstruct the view. The gym is great just no treadmil unfortunately. The roof top pool is stunning it has the best views in town. The restaurant is also on the rooftop, pricy as expected of hotels of this standard. The only thing i would say is that if you not big on hot breakfast there's not much healthy things to choose from on the continental side, service was good as well. Overall just a very upmarket, unique, modern Hotel that has a personality of its own. If you old its not for you because there is alot of stairs or make sure you request a room on a floor close to reception, these levels have the sea view rooms because they the highest level of four levels in the hotel. If you like something different with class that is clean and not old like many other places here this is the place for you. I would not recommend it for kids.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Private28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

We chose this hotel because we were attracted to the hotel pictures posted on the web and the special discounted rate we got from hoteltravel.com. But we were even more surprised when we got there.

Checking-in couldn't be much more convenient. Unlike the usual hotel check-in ritual (where you stand at the front desk while waiting for them to process your reservation), the front desk staff led us to sit by the lobby sofa. Using her iPad, she pulled up our reservation record and asked us to sign on the iPad using a stylus, then still using her iPad, took photos of our passports and departure cards (how techie!!!).

The room was uniquely designed - black, white and light grey color motif with matching black cieling fan (apart from the cieling mounted airconditioning unit), black and white lighting fixtures, black and white framed photographs; california king-sized bed with super comfortable beddings and down pillows and a day bed with a canopy. The TV set is a smart TV which allows you to surf the internet, among others. The balcony even has a circular bath tub and circular lounge bed, overlooking the ocean and hillside.

Breakfast is great - choice of american and local breakfast fare uniquely presented in a circular bamboo basket used for steaming dumplings; choice of specially prepared coffee (capuccino, latte, espresso) plus a buffet of fruits, bread/pastries and fresh juices. Outside the restaurant is a beautiful infinity pool overlooking the ocean and lounging area with big circular lounge beds with retractable canopy.

The entire hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Chef Tiew and sous chef Oy for the great food and unique presentation. We also thank Nan who assisted us in checking-in, and Ann and Li for attending to us during our breakfast and dinner.

The only downside to this hotel is their location - which is quite a long downward walk to and a difficult uphill challenge from Kata beach. They provide a free shuttle service though, but is very limited - leaves the hotel at 10 am for Kata Beach and picks up guests at Kata Beach at 4 pm. They should provide more frequent trips when they fully open. Also, since it is still undergoing completion, some facilities are still not available, like the spa service.

Overall, we find this hotel very good and will surely recommend this to friends who want to stay in a quiet, relaxing hotel far from the noise of establishments along the beaches.

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Hall rooms - they have both great views of the ocean and the hillside. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chix112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kongjak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Macfly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ImSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ychun119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
The SIS Kata
The SIS Kata
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Address: 218 / 9 Koktanod Road | Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £76 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. To get the best rate go to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing