We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of taxi scam outside”
Review of Foto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Foto Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a lovely design hotel, but it's on a steep hill above Kata beach and at night you depend on taxi to get around. There is a scam taxi stand outside reception, they tried to charge us 300 baht to the beach - a 3 minute drive - and 1200 baht to the Airport, that is more than the air ticket to Bangkok!! For a hotel like this I expect them to have some usable transport arrangments for guests, so this was a huge disappointment and will affect me coming back here.

The hotel itself is beautiful, modern chic design and with a lovely pool terrace with a view! The service was very slow though, you have to struggle for attention to order a beer or food up there!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms otherwise you won't have any view at all, the basic rooms mostly face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Relaxing with the soft wind sound , light blue sea ,full moon Night and taseful dishes made you inspiration begin with the powerful re-energy Your Life and made someone you love with a wonderful time
When you have a dinner with this restaurant I think you will come to this restaurant , again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patporn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Dec of 2012 and granted, based solely on personal taste, it's one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of being in. I've been in lot's of 5 star hotels all over the world and yes, there is more marble and flash but the foto hotel nails the details of style and function better than any other. Every detail that you can imagine has been well thought out from the design of the rooms to the music players to the hot tub on the deck. How much attention you ask? the writing stationary is black paper with a white pencil. Amazing.
If you love good, clean style, great views, friendly staff, a gorgeous pool and tons of hip factor, this is the only hotel to stay in! The only place I would ever stay in Phuket (and Kata Beach is the best beach IMO anyway).

Room Tip: The rooms on the first levels are easier to reach. They use a golf cart to the lower rooms. The upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xocomil247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

have just returned from a wonderful break at foto Hotel with a group of friends. Rooms were a good size, modern style, very comfortable with very large bed. I love a very cute teddy bear in room. Swimming pool on the rooftop, the best place to see the sunset, was amazing. All the staff, without exception, were pleasant, cheerful and relaxed. The breakfast was superb and the staffs there are helpful. would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambrosia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Unique collection of classic cameras displayed all around, comfy and lovely Lobby area with friendly staffs, unique Deco. with masterpiece photos from famous professional photographers all around the world in every corners,

Great taste of Thai Food! with acceptable price, one of the best place to see the best view in Kata Beach with the romantic balcony for the sunset time,

Totally need to stay here if you love taking photos,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I havent actually stayed in this hotel myself but book it for a friend of mine who came over from Germany for a short business trip. I went myself to have breakfast at the hotel as well as looked at the room of my friend. For myself I can say the place has a fantastic view of the ocean and is not far from the centre of Kata. The pool looks great and the rooms were spacious and modern. I did enjoy the breakfast overlooking the ocean. The only negative points to mention are the language skills of the staff at the restaurant but very friendly and my friend commented that he could hear the neighbor using the bathroom at night. All in all it's good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hey, first of all, how come it is categorized as "B&B and Inn"? It's a four-star hotel!!!

Spent a night there and all I can say is "It's a night to remember!".

- Modern & stylish decor, very well shaded! Breaks "NO BLACK/GREY" traditions - this is really brave, but it works!
- Amazing sunset on the rooftop by the unique marble pool and of course, amazing view over the Andaman sea!
- Friendly service and helpful staff throughout your stay
- Creative breakfast! it's served in style - MUST TRY!
- Yet, creative drinks! I don't think you will find those drinks elsewhere.
- Perfect for couples or honeymooners who seek ultimate privacy and tranquility.
- Free WiFi and also minibar (they serve sodas, water, yakult and ummmm some jellies)
- Veryyyyyyyy comfy bed!!!! Never gonna leave that bed .
- Lastly, name it Foto - you gotta love taking it mucho! Almost every corner is designed for camera lovers. Shoot wherever and whenever you feel like.

Things you should know

- This is not quite for kids, since it's built on steep hills (and I think it's also hotel policy)
- No direct access to beach, but it's just minutes away.
- Be attentive on the way to the hotel, the hotel sign is quite small - keep your eyes wide open :)

Room Tip: If you're lucky, some Ozone rooms will get you partial seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,204 reviews
0 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#66 of 387 in Kathu
791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 55 in Kata Beach
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Address: 218 / 9 Koktanod Road | Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £82 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Foto Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. To get the best rate go to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sawasdee, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing