We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be coming back for a third stay”
Review of Foto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Foto Hotel
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was here last year with a friend and promised my boyfriend that we will stay here someday, which actually happened and it's the best hotel we stayed in all the 4 hotels we stayed in Thailand. Got a good deal with the phi phi tour package and very grateful that we're upgraded to an ocean view room even if the package only comes with a garden view room. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fat_kid_inside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Fat_Kid_inside,

Thank you for your such a lovely review for us. Glad to learn you had a great time with us and our service here was much enjoyable. Should you have another chance to explore Kata, Karon areas, we hope we can be at your service again. Thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice new hotel with fantastic ocean views. The pool is nice and very picturesque.

Rooms are well sized and have a good layout. The 'bathroom' and sink area are, while integrated well into the room design, a little lacking in space and surfaces. The balcony with bathtub is great too. Service was polite and the rooms were always well cleaned.

Breakfast is nice enough, the spread isn't too formidable and doesn't change but the lunch/dinner fare was a bit bland.There's a few restaurants a short walk up the hill (which is much easier and more pleasant than walking down the hill for a meal) that also have really nice views.

They also have a little room down near the gym where you can relax in aircon after/before checkout if you have early or late flights with some snacks, water and power points. This was a nice touch when you have to check out and don't have a flight until late in the evening - A TV in there would be a bonus.

While the location makes for great views, it creates some isolation from the town/shops, other restautants and the beach (the walk up the hill is not that far but in the heat of day can be a killer) and the tuk tuk mafia in this area ended up really ruining it for me.

The free shuttle from the hotel was great but only available a few times a day and the local tuk tuk drivers have taken the opportunity to really extort tourists. If it weren't for the hill, it might've been easier to avoid the whole thing. Be warned, there is an agreed minimum fee they stick to at all the stands but some of the english speaking 'spruikers' will quote you much lower prices which leads to unnecessary arguments with the drivers at the other end. The mimimum is made worse by the fact that a trip up the hill takes under 2 minutes.

I think the hotel could probably improve the guest experience in the short-term if they increased the frequency of their free shuttle service (if they already haven't), while the government 'tries' to sort out the tuk tuk mafia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Jobias,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Glad to learn you had enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive review on a TV in our process room has been taken into our action right away which will be done latest by next week. New food menus in our Tiffin Mama restaurant are on the way, followed by dessert buffet menu and picnic buffet theme every last Sat of the month which we hope our food items could entertain our guests more. Thank you & look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 3nights at Foto hotel in end of March. I researched on trip advisor before I choose for my stay, and this hotel is the most modern and new. The bedroom is exactly the same as I saw on the internet, the views and the swimming pool is amazing!! The only problem is it was kind of difficult to communicate with the hotel staff as their english is not that fluent enough. Overall I like the hotel a lot and I would come back again :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lok Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Trazy,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Nice to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. For your comment on staff English speaking skill, it is in our this month project to have English training courses for our staff in all areas. We believe it will be much improved soon. Thank you & look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Though the hotel was very stylish and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and all, there were things that were disappointing. First, the check-in process took to much time and after we finished checking in, we couldn't get in the room until an hour later. (The hotel did allow us to check-out late though.) Then when we got into the room, I noticed was one of two plaids pillows was stained and didn't look very appealing to use. After that, we found another problem when we were taking shower. The drain in the shower area is clogged so we had to take shower in the bath tub. We then faced the same problem again! The drain there was also clogged. We informed the staff about the problem and they sent a housekeeper to deal with it. She told us that the thing that the valve of the drain was broken. The last thing that really disappointed me was the food. The price was unreasonably high and even though there were a variety of food to choose in the morning, most of them were really bland. While dinner, the food was either too bland or too spicy.
I have to say before I was there, I expected a lot more because there were a lot of people talking about the hotel in a very positive way. Maybe my expectation was way too high, I don't know.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pimonpun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Khun Pimonpun,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experiences with us. We do apologize for your inconveniences caused during your stay. All your comments have been brought up to departments concerned for further improvement & correction. We believe your future stay will be more pleasant & enjoyable. Thank you & hope to seeing you again very soon. Best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing It is so beautiful and the staff are so helpfulb,it is the most comfortable place which make you have the true feeling of resort.The cool design of elevator,the lobby with so many old cameras.the swimming pool we lové most

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 岗哨 沉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Pleased to know you had enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back to your second home resort again very soon. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is very good facility,good view,good foods and good services but the way from the airport is spending too much time because it's under construction.that's ok,we had a little problem on Tachai trip day after the van arrived they called us and we went down Unfortunatey,they had forgot my 3boxes set breakfast to Tachai and we hurry out there.We think that they forgot after we had tranfer from room 210 that had eletricity problem to room 211.
Please don't forget breakfast because it's very important for our bodies and brains.

Room Tip: Ocean hall is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oraphan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Khun Oraphan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. Due to highly growth in tourism business in Phuket, more constructions, developing projects are still under process which of course delay your travelling time in this island in some areas. We hope most projects to be completed well in the next 2-3 years which would make your next trip visiting us more enjoyable.
Thank you & looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for a week, everything's were fine, we stayed room 108 it was so good for walk down a step to reception or take elevator to a restaurant, one thing disappoint us is about food that the cost are unreasonable, expensive and taste was so so but just Soft Crab Padthai was good. No table and chairs in room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gig81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Gig81,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Glad to learn you had enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your comment on our food quality, it is in our planning project to develop more in restaurant areas, for both food (quality/items) and the service sides. We believe the issues would be resolved soon and things will be much improved for your next visit. Thank you & look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
874 reviews
0 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.8 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#12 of 137 in Karon
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Address: 218 / 9 Koktanod Road | Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £71 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Foto Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. To get the best rate go to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing