We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view and nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foto Hotel
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
“Good view and nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stay 2 nights everything is perfect only some information from hotel staff make us disappointed such as we call for buggy car when hotel staff come to pick up they told us that

Do you know you can go by lift?
For what? For make us feel happy or bad or they don't want to service us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wasu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Khun Wasu P,

Thank you for your valuable comment & glad to know you had enjoyed our facilities here. For your concern on our staff service, we will look into it seriously and will instruct them to be more careful about this. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    256
    75
    29
    28
See reviews for
60
431
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Foto Hotel is a great hotel, with nice and modern rooms, with the largest bed we have ever experienced. The view from the hotel is simply fantastic and the pool is great. It is our second time at the hotel, but not the last, we enjoyed it just as much the second time as the first, if not even more. There is a little walk up a hill, not an easy walk for all, but we did not see a problem with, actually we just thought it was extremely nice to get up into the hillside and away from the noise from the town, and still very easy to get to the beach. We got the best service from the hotel team, especially the staff in the restaurant were extremely service minded and friendly and always willing to help. The restaurant manager Leo was great, and really became a friend after a 10 day stay, where we basically had all our meals at the hotel (not the biggest menu, but we like it very much, plus the smoothies was great), as we like it and enjoyed the view and was there to relax, and besides Leo and the rest of the staff then Ae gave a fantastic service and made us feel very special. So all in all a great place which we can only recommend, and that we cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janni_and_Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Janni and Kristian,

Thank you for your kind compliments. Glad to learn you had a wonderful time with us and our services were very enjoyable. Very much appreciated on your praises to our concerned staff which we will bring it up to their manager in charged for their well service to guests as good samples to all. We hope we can be at your service again very soon. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at foto hotel , wishing for a great service but front desk staffs are not professional enough , they didnt inform all hotel information , expect us just to go watch on their tv infor , which their room service order on the tv never work , on one inform us about that , we were waiting for our dinner for 45 mins then we called up , they told us the tv room service order didnt work , you need to call them anyway , anyway , we were dissappinted by than , weird room arrangement , still under construction on some part of the hotel , however hotel got nice design but small parking space , compare to the price you pay for , i suggest to go for a real 4 stars hotel , dont fall for a heavy advertised hotel like this

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jutharat Pearl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Khun Jutharat Pearl K,

Thank you for your recent review on us and sorry to learn your experiences here were not that pleasant as they should be. We have taken all mentioned points into further action seriously which all staff need to be more well-aware on clients' comfort. We believe all issues to be improved soon. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

firstly before I call out any negatives, tho hotel has amazing design and is probably the slickest hotel I have stayed in. Room was spotless every day. Loved the bath tub on the balcony and the huge teddy bear in the room. Smart TV is ace and a central control panel for lights and ac is very smart. If you love gadgets, you will be in heaven. The infinity pool is brilliant and has amazing sea views. Just be careful when going for a swim, wouldn't want to ruin any of the happy snappers photos. constant posing and picture taking but that didn't bother me, after all the hotel is called foto.
Another positive about the hotel was when my girlfriend had really bad prickly heat late one night and we needed to get into town to the pharmacy. The receptionist was great and arranged a taxi there and back for us, this was very helpful.

That said a couple things we found disappointing. it all started with Check in, when the receptionist told us we were still to pay our bill (even though it was pre paid). When I explained that we paid via an abta booking agency, she told us to log on to it online and show her, and then also asked to bring up my online banking for further confirmation. That would have been OK, however there was no apology for their mistake.
Then we went to our room, a bit frustrated and the wifi was down. To be fair to them, they tried to fix it and it was up and running a couple hours later.
On each floor there is an outdoor lift, this was out of use the full 4 days we stayed. This meant climbing down about 4 flights of stairs to our room, good job we have no walking difficulties.
Each Saturday they have a chill out party, which we were never informed about until that evening. A barman in general chit chat told us to come up and enjoy ourselves. Later on When we went to go to the party, we were told we couldn't and would have to sit indoors looking out at the fun. To get a spot at the party you apparently have to make a reservation. The party was pretty much full of outside guests. I'm a paying hotel customer yet I can't enjoy the service they put on. When we enquired about this at reception, we were told there was nothing they can do. Again no apology. I felt paying hotel customers should be able to use this, or at least informed early enough to make a booking.
There was a Fire alarm on the last night at 2am. We made are our way out of bed and to reception, waited a few minutes before it went off. Staff seemed like they had no idea what was going on and sent us back to our room with no apology for waking us up.
All in all, we have stayed in hotels of a similar standard and the service has exceeded this. Hotel grounds and room I would score 10/10, however service a measly 5/10. Don't think we would come back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jordan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jordan C,

Thank you for your kind review on us. Glad to hear you had a good time with our facilities in general. However, we are sorry to learn the services in some parts were not that professional as it should be which we will take all mentioned points into our action seriously. Thanks again for sharing these experiences with us for our improvement and hope to be at your service again. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

In April this year I stayed with my boyfriend at the Foto Hotel and I can honestly say I have never been so pleased with a hotel! The service was 100% excellent with staff being kind and considerate throughout our two week break. Our room was on the 4th floor (going down the hill) and whilst it was an Ozone room you could still see glimpses of the sea through the trees. This room gave us privacy, comfort and a very relaxing holiday with a lovely bath on the balcony and a GIGANTIC bed, it was unreal!
The pool was lovely and quiet with a most people using it taking pictures. I’ve noticed a few people on here moan about the ‘selfie’ taking but that’s just how people are nowadays no matter where you go. Everyone staying there was relatively young which would explain why there was so much selfie taking. People want to share their holidays and what they are up to on social media with their friends and this hotel is in a beautiful location so why wouldn’t they want to share it?
As we were arriving at around 11am and check in wasn’t for a while I had emailed in advance to ask if there was a chance of having early check-in. I was informed that they would have to see on the day (which is completely understandable) so didn’t hold my hopes too high. Once we had arrived after our 14 hour journey they had our room completely prepared along with a complimentary bottle of champagne!
I also wanted to thank Oh who worked in the restaurant during the morning. He was the loveliest sweetest guy every morning he had a huge smile on his face and made us both feel so welcome.
If I could rate this hotel 6 stars I would!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear HJ 92,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad to learn you had a perfect time with us during your 2 weeks stay and our overall services here were also enjoyable. Thanks also for your compliment to Khun Oh which we have brought up to his concerned supervisor to share among teams. Should you have another opportunity to explore Kata/Karon areas, we hope we can be in our list again. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

If you come to phuket, kata beach and stay in Foto hotel choose a room Deluxe Ocean. The swimming is awesome at night there a colorful lighting in the pool. Guest service at the lobby area should be improve. I walked in and they didn't even smile or say hi to me and my friend. We walked pass the lobby and say the same thing or maybe the staffs are too busy.

Stayed June 2557, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Khun Aom A,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Glad to know you had a good time with us and your 1 night stay was enjoyable. For your comment on front desk staff, we have discussed with team regarding this matter seriously which we believe things will be improved soon. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We always do our research before booking any hotel and this lived up to all the hype.

Pros - good price, good service, peaceful location, great for couples, quirky decorations, comfy and super spacious rooms, breathtaking views, decent breakfast, free water and fruits. The hotel is quite new so it had been well maintained. We ready some previous reviews about bad service. We didn't experience any of that. Maybe they have improved since then?

Cons - hotel is located high up on a steep hill. You can't walk up from Kata (it'll take you ages!) and a tuk tuk was not cheap even for a 3-5 min ride up the hill. Also, the lifts were broken so we had to walk quite a few flights of stairs. The corridors are kinda spooky at night since the place is so quiet and dark.

Well worth every penny though!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Cathy H.,

Thank you for your kind valuable comments. Nice to learn you had enjoyed your stay with us and our services here were also enjoyable. Should you have another chance to explore Kata/Karon areas, we hope we can be at your service again. Thank you & look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Property: Foto Hotel
Address: 218 / 9 Koktanod Road (Kata-Saiyuan), Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Foto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing