We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique boutique resort with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here in February 2014, it was absolutely perfect ever, the location of the resort close to the beach, just 3 minute by walk. We were not disappointed with it, all staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Kesinee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

we stayed at this hotel 2 nights the room is very new and modern. the bed is very big and very comfortable. we have upgraded to pool access room and the swimming pool is very beautiful in the night with the star light. Staffs are really friendly and they always smile and ready to help you every time. If you book directly with hotel you will get complimentary minibar too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StylenOw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

New, modern hotel with well-appointed rooms featuring a tasteful marine-themed design. Upbeat, friendly, efficient staff. Walk to the beach in 5 minutes or less, easy walking distance from the village centre as well.good restaurant, lots of options for breakfast. Complimentary minibar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darling D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We came at 3 couples to this hotel, and all of us were satisfied.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant of the hotel is good and cheap, with both western and Thai food.

It is located near the beach, and near a massage place that we visited several times.
The swimming pool is cool.

I would advise to take a room that is not directly above the street if you want to go to bed early, as you could hear some noise (but not a big issue).

We recommend, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aqwzsxedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff at reception, good location only 5 minutes to Kata Beach and 10 minutes to Kata Noi. Spacious Room with very comfort bed. Free Minibar (water,beer,soft drinks and snickers). Nice view of Swimming Pool at night. Excellent

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sindy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the sugar marina nautical in Kata Beach from February 28 through March 3, 2014.

The hotel is in a convenient location at the southern end of Kata Yai (just before the hill to Kata Noi), just a 2 min walk to the beach. Being at the south end of kata beach, it was also a bit quieter. We booked a deluxe room but were upgraded to a pool view when we arrived, which was a pleasant surprise. Staff are very friendly and are generally willing to help/please.

If you book, I recommend getting breakfast included. We did not have breakfast included and it cost 450 baht per person. Breakfast is very fancy. They have a variety to choose from, including omelet bar, an assortment of tropical fruits (dragon fruit, papaya, pineapple, etc.), eastern dishes, continental/pastries, and some other items I don't even know how to categorize. Fancy though.

The mini bar is a plus. It is stocked with 2 waters, juice, a can of Coke, and a snickers bar, and is supposed to be refreshed daily. It's a nice amenity.

Now the nit picky part:
The rooms are a bit dated and could use an upgrade. The decor is made mostly of wood (to be consistent with the nautical theme), but the wood is a bit worn. The layout is unique and open, with sliding wooden doors that open the bathroom to the bed. They have a separate tub and standing shower. The shower pressure was a bit weak but manageable.

The minibar is supposed to be stocked daily but ours was not. And when it was refreshed, not all the items were restocked. But this wasn't a big issue as the staff are helpful and will bring any missing items if you ask.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. As notes above, there are a few nit picky items that could make this hotel great, but these are not deal breakers. We were there to enjoy the beach and town so this hotel was more than sufficient. If you're looking for a vacation where you only stay at the resort, then this is not the place for you. But with its convenient location, friendly staff, and fancy breakfast, it was more than enough for us.



Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Guinness A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

small hotel but have
good service : take care everything
good swimming pool
good location : can walk around for find restuarant and 7-11 hv many shop and restaurant close to hotel
but breakfast a bit list and

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abhichahahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 56 in Kata Beach
994 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £33 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing