We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for $70NZ a night.
Apart from breakfast (which is the best breakfast buffet I have had anywhere here) the rest of the hotel is average.
Don't be fooled by the free wifi...didn't work for 3 days - asked them to try and fix it a few times and always said 'yes' but never did...
Rooms that are not advertised as pool view look onto this rockey retainer wall.
In case it would bother you: Pool is a salt water pool & gym gear is old.
They make the hotel look 'new and nice' but it is really a show.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Good: The staff in this hotel is beyond compare...hospitable, friendly and really helpful/caring. The location is just it! Dead center from all you need. The bathroom is clean with really conferrable bed. An amazing overall interior design...wither the bar, restaurant or pool (check it out at night).

Bad: breakfast buffet is little weak..need to add some cheese. Missing the ocean view.

Ugly: the stay was too shirt :)

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here two nights in a room with pool view. All the staff were nice and friendly and the rooms were clean and well kept. Sitting out on the balcony looking over the pool at night was a pleasant escape as it lit up like the night sky. There is a little bit of a hill up to the hotel but nothing too extreme. 5 minute walk and your already on the beach around a few of the cool restaurants and bars that sit along side it. The only negative is the breakfast could have had a bit more too it but it was bearable. Overall a good hotel and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tezzer_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

wow! very good design, i very like theme and concept, so nice idea and taste, all decorate thing i never see before, comfortable and relax, also very good service, all staffs are alway smile all time.

Room Tip: rooms have pool asset and see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed on the top floor of the Sugar Marina Nautical and upon arrival were upgraded to a pool view room. The pool is nicest after dark as it's bottom lights up and shows a star design. When waiting for the elevator on the fourth floor, you will see a sliver of Kata Beach. After a few minutes walking downhill , you will reach Kata Beach. The hotel's staff is very young, but severely lacking in English skills. They know what they know and a off the script question is not understood. We really loved the room decor. All in grays and whites, clean modern lines and the bed was comfortable and the AC quiet and worked great. There is a refrigerator with some daily complimentary items, like a Snickers bar, two cokes, two beers and water. Wow, what a pleasant surprise and a first for us. If you are arriving with your own car, there is complementary parking and the guard will help you merge into traffic. The negatives were minimal: when we needed breakfast to be ready at 6.30 as advertised, they just started bringing food out. Breakfast is plentiful but you have to be fast as some popular items disappear quickly, depending on the guests there. There is no delivery elevator, so sometimes you have to wait a while while staff uses it. They want their money at check-in and not as we are used to at check-out.
All in all I can recommend the Sugar Marina as a quiet, modern, hotel where we felt very comfortable for 4 days.

Room Tip: Pool view, fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaliCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

At only 300m away from Kata beach and about 15mins walk to Kata Noi beach, yet away from the hustle and bustle this hotel is definitely a gem. However, it is on a hill, which can be a struggle when you are tired and sweaty.

As other reviews have stated, this hotel has a nautical theme, which I found quite unique. It reminded me of seaside hotels in the UK. The additional touches and ornaments made the hotel stand out. I stayed in a standard room, which was a decent size and had a homey feeling to it. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom has both a bathtub and separate shower cubicle. The shower was a little worn out and could do with some updating. The room also has a sofa and balcony. The minibar is free (amazing!) and they restock it everyday. Air conditioning worked well. Wifi is available in the room but it was extremely slow.

I stayed a total of 5 nights. The staff here were friendly, helpful and all round excellent most of the time, except for one lady at the restaurant who threw a tantrum over a bill situation. The food was good, and the restaurant food was reasonably priced. Breakfast was a highlight in the morning. They do try and alternate the food every day.

There was one annoying aspect of the hotel, and that because of the small driveway, cars had to reverse out of the drive, and there was a security guard who would blow a whistle consistently to guide cars out of the area. You do get used to it, but it was definitely a pain!

I enjoyed my stay here very much, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with many amenities ard the area. Service is good n the deluxe room big enough for a family of 3. You can choose to stay at the 1st floor where the pool is just a step away. Food prices at the restaurant is acceptable. Free wifi is available. Kata beach is just 5mins walk away. Recommended for singles or families. Definitely coming back here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Azam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#16 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,021 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
844 reviews
0 mi away
Orchidacea Resort
Orchidacea Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £30 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing