We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This place is just great! The building is nice and the location is great. The whole place is decorated with a nautical theme, it's very nice. The rooms are a good size with a generous verandah.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is good and you should see the pool at night, it's beautiful! Each day staff replenish your complimentary mini bar with coke, snickers, beer, juice and water, we loved that! The breakfast is very good, a great selection for everyone's tastes. We ate at the resturant and we liked it too, dinner and lunch at the pool. I would recommend this place for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

very nice staff (girls very friendly), very nice room (sea style), excellent location (one minute walk from the beach), very good breakfast. swimming pool very romantic in the evening, all is fantasctic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Romain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

All staffs are friendly there nice service helpful clean room nice free mini bar, pool and fitness room, location is good for stay easy to walk to the restaurant there, it's not so far but need to change new paint at steel access to the pool

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Soudavanh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in Phuket for a short stay (our first time in Phuket), and enjoyed the fact that Sugar Marina Resort Nautical was located within a few minutes' walk to two beaches (Kata and Kata Noi). We visited in late May during low season and immediately after the coup. It felt amazingly quiet. The room (pool view) was very well designed and made excellent use of the small space. It felt rather luxurious for the low season price. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was perhaps a bit dark, though you could open shutters through to the bedroom in order to let in more daylight. Very friendly staff and overall a very pleasant stay. We did not book breakfast, but it looked pretty good! If you don't book breakfast, there are places to eat on Kata beach.

The resort is perched on the hill between two beaches, affording easy access to food and shopping and nightlife downhill towards Kata Beach, and quieter bars/resorts uphill over Kata Noi. There was a nice surfing scene happening when we were there, but we were disappointed by Kata Beach. We expected that the ocean would be somewhat rough because of the season, but it was also quite dirty, even though there were relatively few crowds. Kata Noi was very quiet, with few people, and was much cleaner. However, because of the season and rough ocean, swimming was not recommended (there were one or two surfers in the water).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bzchrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you're looking for a clean, decent priced hotel that is central to everything, then this is perfect. Kata beach is a 2min walk, and kata noi approx 5mins up the hill. Lots of restaurants are close by, as well as a taxi rank, and lots of shops.

Lovely pool, plenty of sunbed room every day. However, the main road is very close to the hotel, and pool. If you're looking to stay by the pool every day, then this isn't for you as the road is quite busy.

I'd say stay away from the poolside rooms, as this means people are swimming past your room all the time (inc late at night!), and the sunbeds face the rooms as well. The higher floor pool view rooms are great though.

Mini bar is as stated - can of beer, can of coke, 2 waters, orange juice and a snickers every day.

Breakfast was great - always a nice selection of fruit, pastries, European and Thai food every day. Food didn't tend to get refilled after 10am though, so definitely eat earlier if possible.

Great value hotel, lovely location, friendly staff - would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sidneyv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for $70NZ a night.
Apart from breakfast (which is the best breakfast buffet I have had anywhere here) the rest of the hotel is average.
Don't be fooled by the free wifi...didn't work for 3 days - asked them to try and fix it a few times and always said 'yes' but never did...
Rooms that are not advertised as pool view look onto this rockey retainer wall.
In case it would bother you: Pool is a salt water pool & gym gear is old.
They make the hotel look 'new and nice' but it is really a show.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Good: The staff in this hotel is beyond compare...hospitable, friendly and really helpful/caring. The location is just it! Dead center from all you need. The bathroom is clean with really conferrable bed. An amazing overall interior design...wither the bar, restaurant or pool (check it out at night).

Bad: breakfast buffet is little weak..need to add some cheese. Missing the ocean view.

Ugly: the stay was too shirt :)

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#21 of 55 in Kata Beach
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#29 of 55 in Kata Beach
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#8 of 55 in Kata Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £36 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing