We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homely Thai cuisine and setting”

Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Russian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We're at the end of Soi Casa del Sol (a large hotel) in Kata Beach, across from Club Med, behind Buffalo Steakhouse, about 50 meters from the main road. A traditional Thai restaurant located in the heart of Kata Beach. Surprisingly, it's difficult to find 'real' Thai food in Kata any longer, much of it is over priced and watered down. The concept of Sugar and Spice is good Thai food, the way we Thai people eat it, sold at a price that is affordable. We serve all your favorites, and special orders are welcome. We also have some Western food for those feeling a little homesick and wanting comfort food after a few days of eating Thai.
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

we discovered this cafe accidentaly 2 nights ago and returned there every night and look forward to our last dinner there too... only regret, we came accross it too late. Very nice, very clean, open and yet homely set up. Gives you a feeling you are dining at your friend's house terrace. Food is great, we tried soup, pad thai, spring rolls, curries... all full of flavour. Priced very reasonable, cheaper for lunch sized portions. Being a few meters of the main road it means it gives you quiteness and peacful dining experience. As for drinks, we recommend iced cappucino and Thai iced tea: beautifully presented and taste fantastic! it is also true, that they offer ice cream or large beer if you hit 500 bht. Lovely place, give it a go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Saulele29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your review and so glad you found us. Next time you'll know where to come a bit earlier. See you next time!

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Last year I was in Kata and ate several times at the Sugar and Spice restaurant because of the great food and service. I have just been back to Kata and found the restaurant was no longer there which was a disappointment.
Great news, I found out that it had shifted to another location which I only found three days before I came home. Needless to say I ate there twice and once again had the best meals whilst staying in Kata. The pizzas are to die for as well as all the great Thai food which is cooked with care. The staff make you feel welcome and overall I would recommend and give this restaurant top marks. Well done to all the staff!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review, Dennis. Sorry it was so hard to find us, TA didn't let us move over our new address so it was a bit frustrating.

We'll see you next time too I hope!

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We went here twice in our short stay on Phukett. Very friendly staff and wonderful Thai and western food. The pasta and spareribs we had were delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Orsume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review, I appreciate it. Come by anytime, we're always happy to see you.

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

great place, nice staff, family atmosphere.
visited some other cafes on kata beach, but
returned to this one till the end of our stay)
delicious food, lower prices, free watermelon
and pineapple after the meal.
besides, if your bill is 500 thb and more, you
get free banana split, it''s so nice)
if you like seafood, advice you to try lobster soup,
it's amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julienny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review, I really appreciate it. Glad you had a nice time and enjoyed your meal with us. XXOO

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olav59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing