We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good Thai food”

Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Russian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We're at the end of Soi Casa del Sol (a large hotel) in Kata Beach, across from Club Med, behind Buffalo Steakhouse, about 50 meters from the main road. A traditional Thai restaurant located in the heart of Kata Beach. Surprisingly, it's difficult to find 'real' Thai food in Kata any longer, much of it is over priced and watered down. The concept of Sugar and Spice is good Thai food, the way we Thai people eat it, sold at a price that is affordable. We serve all your favorites, and special orders are welcome. We also have some Western food for those feeling a little homesick and wanting comfort food after a few days of eating Thai.
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Good quality, pretty authentic (although cherry tomatoes in tom kha kai is an interesting twist), moderate prices, good and fast service. Can't say anything special about the atmosphere or surroundings. Fairly wide selection of western food too.

Thank Alexey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks for your review. We got the cherry tomato trick from one of my original cooks. We liked it and decided to keep it. It's difficult to find regular tomatoes that are as ripe and flavorful as they should be. Cherry tomatoes are more consistent here in Phuket. :-)

Glad you enjoyed, see you again.

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We needed 3 efforts to finally try this place: the first time we left after our drinks because a family was playing Facebook while their kids tried to burst our eardrums. The 2nd time a large group arrived just in front of us and we decided personnel would be overextended so we found somewhere else to go. Now we got there after all the kids were in bed and what a win! Food is great for ridiculous prices. We had drinks, starters and mains for €15 all together! Eating gluten-free is a challenge but in the main we have enjoyed some amazing meals here!

Thank Mafonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Ha ha. Thanks for your funny review. For next time we have an upstairs dining room as well which is quieter when the kids are doing their thing. Thanks for making such an effort, I really appreciate it.

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had the masaman curry.....delish!! The staff were willing to modify the dishes to ensure there was enough spice for us...lots of choice...but not too much. great place for tasty food & comfort

Also had breakfast here ..very good also

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank teron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. Very happy you enjoyed our curry, we think it's some of the best around. Glad you thought so too. See you again.

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just back home from our Phuket trip and will remember Sugar and Spice for its warm friendly atmosphere, delicious meals and almost nonexistent prices. Dined there almost every day, often twice a day and we were very glad to have found the place, every dish tasted fantastic. Many thanks to the people running it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review, I really appreciate it. See you again soon I hope!

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Huge portions. very very tasty. We wind it fortuitous, and from taht moment had a breakfasr and dinner only here. it was the best cafe for all our holiday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review. I hope you liked our new location! Glad to have you back.

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing