We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”

Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Russian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We're at the end of Soi Casa del Sol (a large hotel) in Kata Beach, across from Club Med, behind Buffalo Steakhouse, about 50 meters from the main road. A traditional Thai restaurant located in the heart of Kata Beach. Surprisingly, it's difficult to find 'real' Thai food in Kata any longer, much of it is over priced and watered down. The concept of Sugar and Spice is good Thai food, the way we Thai people eat it, sold at a price that is affordable. We serve all your favorites, and special orders are welcome. We also have some Western food for those feeling a little homesick and wanting comfort food after a few days of eating Thai.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

had some very good lunches at suger and spice very nice staff and very clean we missed dinner but next year will go back for dinner swans05

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swans05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate you coming by and next time we'll see you for dinner as well as for lunch we hope!

See you again.

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

A very mixed review here actually, the first night we ate here and the food was delicious, a real 5 star Thai experience, great food and really good value. But when we decided to revisit we have a very below average experience, one order or sweet and sour was so salty we were sure that they had mixed up their seasoning, but they seemed complacent with the issues and nothing was do e or said when we mentioned it. Worth a visit for when it's done right. Maybe there was a trainee chef?

Thank Aston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you, Aston, for your review. Sorry for the mixed experience. You guessed right, we have several new chefs we are training now as we have opened a second location in Kata Beach, on Soi Malisa, the next lane south from our first restaurant.

The new place is much larger so we are in the process of putting a new team together, but using our first restaurant as a training area on some days. We only opened on June 25th so we're getting there, but it takes some time as you probably know.

We'll have our consistency back up to 100% very soon now. Please swing by the new place if you're still in town and give it a try. Our kitchen is much larger so it's much easier to work there too.

Thanks and hopefully see you again.

Best wishes,

Ohh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were here only once and based on our experience, the staff is attentive, the food tastes excellent, prices are great, their menu packed with choices and the location is good. They have large sized portions for 150-200b + 20b for rice and extra 40b for seafood meat choice. We went with "single dish" portions which were fine for lunch on a humid day and cost only 89b.

Our appetizer was chicken satay for 120b and it was really tasty: I've had it before more tender but the taste was just superb, as were the dip and garnish served with it. I suggest you order appetizers with your drinks, so you don't receive them with your meal, unless that's what you want. Small Changs were 70b each and for the main meal we had light yellow curry chicken and stir fry ginger beef. At the end of the meal they brought us four small slices of watermelon.

The easiest way to find the restaurant is to look for Balalaika, it's a few doors after it. When we walked in, they gave us Russian menus. When we asked for English ones they said "I thought you were Russian, I'm sorry". Not a horrible mistake as now in low season it seems that 90% of guests are Russians. Oh, well, I bet we all look alike to them :)

We'd might return and try some other dishes but with so many places to choose from, we'll probably just keep exploring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoganSusnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your very detailed and kind review and for also posting photos. Yours is the first review where someone posted photos. So thanks again!

We also have a new restaurant with the same menu on Soi Malisa, just one lane south of the location you had dinner and lunch. There is more space there and I'm sure we can find something new for you to eat. :-)

Thanks again and best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Food was OK, personally I felt a little too "foreign" or commercial, and not enough "local" flavour about the food and menu. We ate twice, once in each of the 2 restaurants. We preferred The Kitchen and Red Chair and Eightfold....but it was fine.

Thank Groover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi and thanks for your nice review. Next time if you want it to be a little more local, just ask for my suggestions. We have a lot of southern Thai dishes that you may not be aware of that are really good. We had friends in town last night and we showed them a bunch of things that they were not aware of even though they have been coming to Thailand for 20 years.

But thanks for the visit and thanks for pointing out that we now have two restaurants, one on Soi Casa del Sol and one on Soi Malisa. Still trying to get the new one listed.

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visited based on TA reviews. Not disappointed. Sizzling seafood plate was a hit and the Penang Curry had plenty of 'bite' but not as creamy as I like. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnneBGoulburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. Happy you enjoyed our sizzling seafood plate and maybe one of our other curries will meet your spec a little better. We enjoy our yellow curry as we serve it with onions, pineapples and cherry tomatoes so it's a bit different than you find elsewhere.

Don't forget to try our new restaurant, Sugar and Spice Too at Soi Malisa, just south of our old restaurant.

See you again.

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing