We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could you not mention the Thai Cooking Classes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My wife and I returned yesterday from the most wonderful holiday staying in the best hotel in Thailand. We stayed in one of the pool villas. It was wonderful having our own pool and a superb view over the beach. Sadly the Villas will be demolished with the renovations We attended the Thai cooking class on the Sunday and it was outstanding. We were taught how to prepare a range of Thia dishes by Rattana the Sous Chef. She teaches with patience and understanding, particularly with the challenge of translating into English. Take her advice and don't eat too much of the dishes you prepare because included in the price is lunch. It was a wonderful experience and my wife is currently out shopping for ingredients for dinner she will prepare tonight for our family. Don't miss the opportunity to attend this class and its not only for the ladies. The staff are wonderful friendly people who at all times are working hard to make your stay trouble free and enjoyable. We took the opportunity to have them arrange transport to and from the Hotel and whilst a little more expensive than a taxi it is great to be met at the front of the airport by a Hotel staff member when you arrive and even nicer when you depart there he is again arranging the transport of your bags to the book in desk. confirming your bookings and then escorting you as far as the international departures lounge. Staff are very excited about the renovations and I am sure they will resolve some of the complaints guests have about the property being a bit dated. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandJanShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your abundant praise. We are pleased you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Renowned designer Fredo Taffin has made a fantastic design for the ‘new’ Boathouse and renovation will start in June. The pool villas are wonderful but I think you will like our new penthouse suite on the 4th floor as well! I have passed your compliments about the cooking class to Chef Rattana, she’s a great teacher indeed. Yes, sometimes we forget to mention there’s a lunch after the class which is also included in the course price. It is a nice opportunity to sample even more, different Thai dishes. The finale, a delicious dessert prepared during the class (mango sticky rice or Thai pumpkin custard) is favourite with many students.

We trust that your wife's Thai dinner turned out to be a success! If you have any questions about a recipe you can email us for advice. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

The dinner was not as expected for a five star/ advertised venue.
Food not fresh and out of style French - over cooked and no taste.
When asked for the chef to complain he refused to come to our table.
Better choice is the sister resturant "oasis" good fresh seafood and better service

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princeoflana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We chose this hotel based on the reviews . The hotel certainly delivers from a service perspective and the staff were top notch. However we found the hotel a little jaded with the rooms needing a make over and the bathrooms reflecting the tastes and colours of a bygone era. The food was fine, but overall we found the hotel pretty average. We maybe didn't do our homework on Kata Beach as a destination either as we could not get excited about being jostled by the throng of hundreds of people that make their way down to the beach every day. Maybe our unhappiness about the beach conditions is a function of the packaged holidays that are being drawn to Kata Beach and Phuket . We will stick to places with clean beaches ,clear sea water and less people in future.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for staying with us, I’m sorry last February you found the beach crowded. Perhaps you were staying during Chinese New Year which is an important public holiday in Thailand and Southeast Asia. Our owners have planned a grand renovation starting 1 June until 30 September 2011. It includes renovation of our rooms, the creation of ‘family’ rooms and a new 2 bedroom penthouse on the 4th floor. The kitchen will be moved upstairs into the restaurant and above the restaurant there will be a large sunset lounge. A new, larger swimming pool is planned and Oasis restaurant next-doors will become a beach club as well as a restaurant.
All exciting changes; we do hope you will consider visiting our renovated facilities again.
Regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

You will feel privileged because you can afford it (although worth every penny it is more expensive that the surrounding hotels...) and because you have been lucky to get on of the 33 rooms. Furthermore you will feel privileged all through your stay - especially while sipping a perfect glass of wine or drink in the bar at sunset, or sitting under one of the red umbrellas at the Mom Tri`s private beach area enjoying your space, complimentary wet towels and water while watching the rest of the crowded Kata beach. Or while enjoying your breakfast and your self composed 100% fresh juice at your comfy table literary "on" Kata Beach, while sitting at your balcony - perhaps accompanied by a small candle, book and a drink, overlooking the paper lamps lit in the beautiful big branches of the old crooked trees surrounding the great and legendary restaurant. A restaurant who`se served many famous guest but more interestingly guests who come back year after year...some even for weeks and months at a time (I have a friend who stayed for 4 weeks - all by herself and absolutely loved it). This is what makes Mom tri`s truly special. A home from home - especially if you`re over the top interested in food, wine and "the good life".

If anything we could describe as "dislike" we agree that the rooms are a bit outdated (wall to wall carpet) and the average age of guests were well above 50. However, Mom Tri´s have now new owners who plan to update it. I just hope they will be able to keep the old charm and ambiance which is so unique.

In addition to what already mentioned we especially liked the fact that is was just at the end of Kata beach with "the Ska Bar"` (probably the coolest beach bar in Kata), the neighbouring restaurants (all cheap and very good), and the hair dresser/massage/SPA place (across the street). All within 1 minute light running distance making it possible for us to leave our baby in the room (baby call).

Another nice treat was Mum Tri´s Happy Hour 5.-7. pm (with half price on all drinks and wine by the glass). If you don`t end up at this hotel at least make sure you visit for this one, or even better - for a di

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsloSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We feel privileged to have guests like you. For your information our new owners have decided on a grand renovation of rooms and public areas. They have stressed they do want to maintain the special atmosphere and unique charm of the Boathouse but they also see the need to update it.
Renovations will start in June and we will reopen from the 1st October 2011.
To reassure you and all of our guests: Mr. Louis Bronner will remain our General Manager and all other department heads and staff will remain in place as well.
From October we will be ready to welcome you again!
Until then,

Regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

My wife and I had read several good reviews of this hotel prior to our honeymoon, and we were not disappointed. We stayed on an oceanview room on the second floor and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

This is possibly the best located hotel we have ever stayed at. It has direct beach access, with plenty of beach chairs/umbrellas available, and even beachside service for its guests (fresh water and fruit). But it also has plenty of bars, restaurants, and shopping within walking distance, so you never have to venture far to satisfy whatever you need. The beach itself is kept meticulously clean by hotel staff, and is one of the most fun I've ever experienced (Patong Beach pales in comparison).

The rooms were comfortable but a bit dated in terms of design (this bothered my wife more than it did me). Fruit is served every day, but beware of its disposal as ants will be attracted within an hour. It got bad enough that we had to call the front desk, and they promptly sent someone up to clean up the bugs.

Our only complaint was our disappointment in the food at the hotel's restaurant (of course this is a separate issue from our stay). Their breakfast was great, but when we returned for dinner we found the menu overpriced for the quality of food. But there are more than enough great options around (including the tapas restaurant next door operated by the same management). Every other aspect was fantastic. All in all, it might be pricier than many other hotels in the area, but its location is impossible to beat and amounts to a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you for your praise for the Boathouse. We are pleased to hear you found us an excellent choice for your honeymoon. A renovation of our rooms and public areas is planned for this summer season; once plans are finalized we will post notice on our website.

We have noted your comment about the fruit plate disposal and restaurant pricing and have passed the information to the relevant departments for their consideration.

For your information the restaurant next to the Boathouse serves Mediterranean food in the seafront restaurant and pricing is quite a bit lower than at the Boathouse. Though there are plenty of appetizers, the tapas menu has been discontinued.

We hope to welcome you and your wife to our hotel again, perhaps for your 1st wedding anniversary? We are convinced the by then newly renovated rooms will be to your and your wife’s liking.
Best regards,

Lisa Sol
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Boathouse definitely grows on one! We have just returned and loved every moment of our 6th visit to Kata Beach.We say "Hear Hear!" to all the heartwarming comments I have just read on Trip Adviser. Whilst there ,we met guests from Europe who had stayed at the Boathouse 12 or 15 times so we are actually still novices!.But their wholehearted recommendations surely say it all! Once again the charming and highly efficient Front Office Manageress,Kuhn Jarinee handled our email bookings and we paid by credit card without a single hiccup, all before we left South Africa. What an asset she is to the Boathouse Team!

The Boathouse really is SIMPLY THE BEST, for its amazing position right on Kata Beach, it's proximity to good shopping and excellent restaurants, its charming, relaxed and tranquil Thai ambience and the exceptional service offered by its highly efficient , friendly and attentive staff. Many of them have served there for years and have become like family members to us. We appreciate the way they have made great strides in learning English and they are extremely helpful to guests.Nothing is ever too much trouble and once again we found they offered their assistance, even when off duty! In our country we are working hard to achieve better levels of customer service and job satisfaction and here the Thai folk set a great example.Kuhn Lisa continues to be an incredible P.R.O with a wealth of useful information at her competent finger tips! She told us about an excellent optician in the heart of Phuket Town and we enjoyed our bus ride there, sitting alongside all the locals.
If you need new specs, wait until Thailand and head for Better Vision! They will even deliver the specs to you before your departure! My husband and I obtained 3 new pairs, between us,including multi-focals, all for R5 000 in our currency! This figure included the eye tests!

The food at the Boathouse is always a culinary highlight..The outdoor candlelight setting at night is magical. Start your dinner at sunset and then watch the lucky Chinese lanterns float across the silvery sea and vanish into the night sky. You will love the healthy Boathouse buffet breakfasts with freshly -squeezed fruit and vegetable juice on offer....but if temptation overtakes you, try a choc chip croissant or Danish pastry straight from the Boathouse oven

.It was great being fetched from the airport and as oldies, we so appreciated not having to shoulder our own luggage or struggle with foreign public phones to summon a taxi! We have recommended the Boathouse as a safe holiday haven for all our widowed friends to visit. For folk travelling on their own, it's a friendly, secure destination and you will leave having made delightful new friends.We certainly have.

This year I celebrated my birthday at the Boathouse and was overwhelmed by the kindness of the management team who organized a beautiful cake and basket of orchids to be delivered to our room. Loving and thoughtful gestures like these, make the Boathouse very special to us. Over the years all the staff have found a very special place in our hearts. We thank them most sincerely for making yet another Thai holiday so memorable.Keep up the great work you are doing at the Boathouse.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joestott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Dear Mrs. and Mr. Stott,

Thank you for your kind compliments. From our side I say, speaking for all our staff, we always love to have you staying with us. I think everyone likes to go out of their way even more than usual to make your stay extra comfortable as you are so positive and appreciative.

Also thank you for being such great Boathouse (and Thailand) ambassadors with your friends. And being able to sing and teach the Thai National Anthem to others is quite a skill I am impressed with.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

With best regards,
Lisa
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

it is a boutique hotel with only 38 rooms which gives you a good feeling of intemacy. we stayed only 4 nights but most of ghests are coming repeatedly and staing 2-3 weeks, year after year. the standard room is not exceptional but the staff was. service and behavior of staff was excelent, very polite and helpfull. location very good also, on the beach. restaurant, very good too and located with a wonderfull view to the beach. we had a very good time and will recommand this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
948 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.8 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £136 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing