We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd return to Phuket just to stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'd return to Phuket just to stay there!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

What a gem of a hotel! We've found that it's difficult to find a great hotel in Phuket, especially in the reasonable price range. This hotel has so much going for it:
1) It's on the beach, which is surprisingly rare for Phuket.
2) Kata beach is one of the prettiest beaches in Phuket. It's got soft white sand and the Bay is lovely. The beach can get busy, but the hotel is right on the end of it, and a bit quieter. There are a few restaurants on the beach just next door, so one can stroll along the beach to dinner.
3) The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms face away from any noise, so they are quiet.
4) The beach club - Re Ka Ta - is fantastic. It's modern and funky with a clean infinity pool and cocktail specials every afternoon.
5) The hotel and the beach are west facing - direct view of a sunset over water!
6) We were spoilt at the beach: the beach boys set out the loungers every day, keep them clean, and keep refilling the glasses with free mineral water. They also hand out cool refresher towels and fuit sticks - what a value add!
7) Both restaurants serve superb food. I am still daydreaming about the crepes with Grand Marnier and mango.
8) Breakfast is plentiful and tasty. It's served until past 10am, so there is no need to wake up early on holiday.
9) Staff is helpful and friendly. We felt very welcome everywhere we went.

There really isn't much we didn't enjoy about the hotel. The spa is rather pricey, but on par with other hotels in Phuket (it's cheaper to get a massage on the beach). The bathroom has a glass window into the room. There was a blind to cover most of it, but it was still possible to see into the bathroom from the room, which would bother guests that prefer privacy. There is also no fitness centre, which one would expect to find in a 5* hotel, however with the beach and warm water right in front of the hotel I don't think a gym is necessary.

If we go back to Phuket I won't consider any place except Boathouse!

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was airy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slav103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    208
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
194
408
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned after staying at the Boat House for the first time, it was excellent a real gem. I've never written a review before, we have been fortunate to stay in some great hotels on our travels, but real felt the need to recommend The Boat House. Location is great, abit away from the major resorts, but still plenty of restaurants and shops on the road near by at Kata Beach. The beach club, is on the beach and provides the best of both worlds, easy acess to the beach, great service and food and a real up market experience. Constant supply of cold water and the odd fruit skewer being given out throughout the day. The hotel itself is incredibly friendly, the staff do everything to help make your stay special, sorting out excursions and generally making it feel like you are a regular known guest. The receptionist was outstanding, recognising as from the moment we checked in throughout our stay ensuring everything was smooth. The rooms are great, recommend paying the extra to get one that opens on to the 2nd floor sun deck, great place to sit with a drink and watch the sun go down over the bay. The food at the hotel in the restaurant is first class, wine generally in Thailand is expensive , but given the quality of the hotel the wine was priced reasonably against other cheaper restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband & I just completed a weeks stay at The Boathouse, this was our second time back within the year. The location doesn't get any better, directly on the beach. Two of the previous staff we knew Kai & Moss remembered us with warm greetings which is always welcoming. There were however some obvious & some not so obvious changes since our last visit. On our previous visit we were able to have our lounge chairs under the trees near the stone wall to the beach. We requested this both from the pool boy & front desk and were told no there was a table there for meals, that had been there before & posed no problem as we used it for snacks & lunch. Perhaps this is minor to most however important to us due to the fact there was no shade either at the pool or in front of our unit. The dining room staff always attentive but not intrusive the food delicious.
As a suggestion to management perhaps the front desk staff could be more familiar with suggestions & locations of shopping locations. If the young ladies were being trained an experienced person with them would be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KML1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Summary: Great hotel for couples. A 5 star experience for Phuket. Prime location on a beautiful beach. Beach staff look after guests very well with chair and umbrella set-up, constant supply of water and a bar service. The long beach can get busy, nothing like Patong, but the area by the hotel was always less busy than the other areas. The water is extremely warm at 28 plus so we spent most of our time in it. Just try to avoid early May as the tide changes bring in litter from the open sea. The hotel does try to collect the litter but it is all over the cost of Phuket at this time. The half price cocktails until 8pm were very welcome as the hotel restaurant is priced at the high end. We enjoyed eating at both hotels but you can eat at less than half their prices in town.

This was our first trip to Thailand so we did not know what to expect. When we arrived at The Boathouse it was on a very busy small street which was not at all impressive but as soon as we walked into the lobby the hotel was quiet and the view opened up onto a beautiful blue sea. The hotel has a prime position on the south side of Kata Beach with 2 restaurants overlooking the water. The hotel is clean and well finished.

We did not spend much time in our room as the rest of the hotel was set up for beach, beach club and restaurant use. It worked out extremely well.

The rooms are not big but perfectly acceptable for couples. The room we stayed in on the 3rd floor had a shower but no bath, which worked out well as the sand and tan limited potential bath usage. The shower room/toilet en-suit is small but sufficient for its purpose. The only issues are that ours had a small amount of glass which could not be covered so you could see in if you wanted to.

Try to get a room over looking the Rekata restaurant and pool area. There is a room looking onto the beach if you want to take the Tsunami risk.

The spa is upmarket but pricey. You can get a 60 minute massage for 1500b whereas on the beach they come in as low as 250b. Obviously a totally different experience.

Do book the hotels taxi/shuttle from the airport. It is easy and there are standard rates for taxi trips in Phuket.

If you want a lunch with a view do try Villa Royale just up the hill. Expensive but the view from the terrace is amazing.

Room Tip: Try 3rd floor overlooking the Rekata Restaurant and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbizzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Cannot fault this classy, intimate hotel. A haven of peach and exclusivity in an otherwise packed and touristy beach.
Beautiful beach with great snorkelling. Attentive beach staff who set up your loungers and towels for you, bring you (free) chilled water throughout the day etc.
Breakfasts at Re Kata (included with your hotel booking) are great with ample options and set on a verandah overlooking Kata beach and the ocean.
Pool facilities and lounging area intimate and exclusive with rim-flow pool which overlooks the ocean.
Lovely staff, but English wasn't great. (The manageress of whom everyone raves on TripAdvisor was clearly on leave when we visited.)
Rooms weren't overly generous, but were well laid-out and perfectly ample. All new and well-maintained. Incredibly comfortable beds.
We had dinner at the Boathouse one night. It was quite expensive by our standards, but was good to sit and eat somewhere classy.
We didn't use the spa as we found the prices to be comparatively expensive - although you probably do get what you pay for.
We loved it here!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor overlooking the small pool and we loved our room. (I think it was room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Boathouse offers everything you need for a perfect holiday! The location, directly on the beach, exellent food and wine, a professional, helpful and serviceminded staff! What more can you ask for? This beautiful small hotel is a real gem, and has been our second home once or twice a year for the last 17 years! The beach area is spacious and clean, and you dont have to stay up early to fight for a beachbed. Everything is already cared for. In high season the restaurant offers theme nights and the Sunday Lobster Brunch in ReKaTa is just fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIN658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My wife and I had a most enjoyable five day break. The renovations have been tastefully done although the rooms are still on the small size. The staff are friendly and helpful and the beach attendants were particularly attentive. The breakfast is excellent offering a wide selection to suit most tastes.
The beach was also much cleaner than on previous visits. We will definitely return to this friendly hostelry.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better sea view and are generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
912 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing