We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutiquehotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a nice small hotel located directly at the beach in Kata, Phuket. Very personalized service, staff very friendly and welcoming.
Groundfloor plus 2 floors. The rooms are small to medium size and have everything you need. The bed, linen and pillows comfortable. The bathroom clean with sink, shower and toilet. Suites available. Rooms are serviced twice a day, fresh towels. Writing desk and enough storage room. Free Internet everywhere. Peaceful for good sleep. A few steps and you are on the beach. The beach management under Mr. Noom is excellent, very attentive, cold water, fruit skewers at noon. There were always enough loungers .
The bay is beautiful by nature, half-moon shaped, about 2,5 km walking distance in total. Swimming in the warm andaman sea is mostly possible/ sometimes not because of high waves. Then there is not much you can do, as there is no pool for swimming on the premises and no Gym.
Nearby scooters, paragliding, boats for excursions.
On the groundfloor a restaurant and a bistro- read separate review on restaurant.
Guests are predominantly british and scandinavian.
Now to the less pleasant sides:
Phuket attracts every year more cheap flights and is overcrowded, infrastructure lacking.
Mostly russian guests, who are often rude, uncommunicative and arrogant to kind thai people.
Behind the Boathouse a quite narrow road with a constant flow of motorcycles, cars, trucks and mostly no walkways- you risk at least your legs....ridiculous electrical wires, partly hanging down, bad smell.
so try to stay inside or on the beach to really enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Words alone cannot describe the absolutely wonderful time we had at The Boathouse this past week! The staff were always helpful and so pleasant, the spa was the best we have ever been to (I went twice, my wife three times!), the restaurants were beyond first class and the beach, well, the nicest beach we've ever been to and we've travelled the world!

Thank you Boathouse for making our stay so fantastic! Can't wait to come back!

Sincerely,

Jeff & Bingmay!

Room Tip: If it's in your budget, the ground floor suite on the beach is heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was the finale of our holiday with Andaman Sky and a great place to spend our last couple of nights in the country. I didn’t want to spend long on Phuket as I had heard a lot of discouraging things about the place, but a couple of nights was fun – I went shopping sens hubby, who doesn’t do that if he can help it. We went out for some nice meals, avoided the overcrowded beaches and spent more time by the pool here than at the other resorts we stayed at (this was the most expensive place we booked, so I wanted to make the most of it).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Marie-Laure is a fantastic General Manager who interacts with her guests and Has the most amazing staff! Well done team Boathouse. Kata beach is the busiest I have ever experienced it over Dec/Jan 2014. However your space on the beach in front of the hotel is spacious, clean, calm and you are so well looked after by the boathouse beach guys who bring you water, fruit kebabs and keep your loungers sand free! The food is great and yes pricey. We enjoyed our 10 nights there and will only go back to Boathouse on future trips.

Room Tip: Try stay away from the restaurant as it can be noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We returned to the BoatHouse 20 years after our first stay - the hotel remains beautifully understated, the food excellent in both restaurants, the beach facilities great, and the friendly staff went the extra mile.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our seventh visit to the Boathouse at Kata Beach was another very pleasant experience -- primarily due to the friendly and helpful staff. It begins with Marie-Laure, the general manager, and includes everyone with whom we came into contact. We have observed that Kata Beach is getting more crowded each year that we have gone but the Boathouse remains an oasis of calm and quiet despite the large crowds around it. The Christmas Day lunch was outstanding -- excellent food and lots of activities for our grandsons (5 & 7). Our only regrets and not being able to stay longer.

Room Tip: We prefer the beachfront rooms -- a little more expensive but still quiet and provide easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davefromFlagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This is a special place. Arrived at 5:30pm to watch the sunset. Great service and the food was amazing. The view was spectacular. While a little pricey it was well worth it. The kids menu was great and not expensive at all. My only regret is not having the lobster as it looked amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank alsandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £153 - £923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing