We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with the right location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with the right location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Right on the Beach was what we looked for and here it is ! A splendid hotell with nice, big, clean rooms with fantastic sea view.
Friendly 'personal' staff including the manager, who gave us som nice advice where to go, restaurants etc. such as On The Rock Restaurant - you should try this one !
Lovely quiet breakfast restaurant outside by the Beach, and most of all a very friendly staff all over the hotel.
The only thing we has to complain about was our only lunch at RE-KATA restaurant. Too expensive and not at all a meal to remember. A sad salad with no garniture/taste.
Overall absolutely a hotell we would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed at Deluxe Sea view rooms. Not cheap but fantastic. 2 floor, Your own terrasse, and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    196
    51
    19
    8
See reviews for
186
390
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

First we didn´t know what to expect from this hotel, because it seemed to us very small and not very close to center of Phuket, but as we read positive comments about this hotel we went to see this hotel and I am truly glad we did. We were impressed by stunning view of beach, it was so nice, clean, well kept and most important for us - it was sandy beach. (after weeks of staying rocky beach hotels it was such a bless).

But first of all I would like to draw attention to the staff of this hotel - it is amazing - from where they get so friendly, helpful, professional employees? Always smiling, always helping, they do have always some nice words for you. Fresh fruits and water on the beach, wiping your chairs from sand, adjusting your sun shades... fresh fruits in the room also every day, nice, modern looking rooms where you have space enough.

And secondly the lounge area was just superb! We have sat there for hours every night - the food was great, the wine was tasty, stuff was friendly and there was a DJ every day who was playing very-very good chill-out music - it´s all together - created such a nice feeling.

We were there on Valentine´s day and they did it even more perfect with red roses and free coctails.

The hotel itself isn´t big, but this is even good, you don´t have to fight for breakfast or sun chairs, you know the people who are staying in this hotel, there are enough shops, restaurants around the hotel and it isn´t very far from center of Phuket, just a 15-25 min drive. So it´s best to take rooms there after you have visited the center enough and looking for some nice and relaxing place for resting.

We really did enjoy our stay in this hotel and we would like to thank every people who are making this hotel such a nice place - from cleaners to hotel manager. You have created definately something different from other hotels.

RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipan, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have traveled to several parts of the world for vacations and work. This place is the most amazing place I think I have ever been. The hospitality and friendliness of the staff and even the locals in the shops are outstanding! The views are magnificent, and the beaches are so clean and well kept. I cannot wait to return someday soon. I was sad to leave...

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #101 which was on the 1st floor, beach access right from your front patio area as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have just returned to the UK after a wonderful trip to Thailand. I stayed at the Boathouse for four nights with my daughter and from the moment we walked in the door loved the place. We checked in and were taken through the lobby into the restaurant were the views of the beach and sea were stunning. We were given lovely refreshing drinks and beautifully scented cold clothes to freshen our hands and face after the journey and whilst enjoying the view. The hospitality was first class without being too stuffy and the whole place had a very relaxing feel about it. The room was spacious and well kitted with tea and coffee facilities and complimentary water and the bathroom was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The room also had excellent movie channels (non charegable) which was a bonus for my daughter! The food was also excellent and both restaurants had the wonderful sea view. I would highly recommend this hotel and the area to anyone visiting Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HobbsWxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naremburn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Boathouse distinguishes itself from all other accommodation in Kata by : its premier beachfront position, gorgeous rooms and most importantly- its staff who remain at all times
both warm and efficient.

There was one issue with the hotel which we raised at the time relating to the music that is present throughout the day and evening surrounding the main pool or "beach club". A faulty sound system meant the bass (as opposed to treble) was both overwhelming and irritating . The hotel responded positively to this feedback and repair was scheduled. I would however question the need to have music universally delivered day and night to everyone wishing to use the pool area . The beach/pool setting for many of us is a rare and special time to relax and move away from the myriad noises that invade our space on a daily basis whilst living and working in our noisy home cities.... holidays present the opportunity to leave all that behind. Additionally it must be recognised that music tastes are varied and whilst one genre is a joy for some it can be audible poison for others... MP3 players/Ipods etc - address this issue precisely.

In summary, we loved The Boathouse and it will ,despite lots of competition, never be forgotten.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank einnob078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here closed to a week, Boathouse is simply the best choice I have made for my stay in Phuket! We were warmly greeted by our host whom personally introduced to us the facilities the hotel offered before escorting us to our room. The room was spacious and best of all it offered it's own coffee pod machine by Cafés Richard, a French based coffee machine which we found made much robust and higher quality coffee than Nespresso! The pool area was delightful being extremely close to the private beach which wasn't crowded. The neighboring areas offered fantastic high end dining options where the recommended Da Vinci Restaurant served to its reputation. Overall it would be a place for me to visit again should I return to Phuket next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great place to chill, the staff could not do enough for us and instantly stopped to greet us no matter how busy they were. Great views, amazing food and an awesome place to relax. An exceptional hotel with the friendliest service we have ever experienced. The food is outstanding and we have not stopped raving about this amazing place. You really have no need to even venture out of the hotel, we had to do one little tour just to say we had been somewhere! The breakfast parfait and half price cocktails took me from morning to night with smacking big smiles from the ReKata Beach club guys in between. Thank you all for an amazing holiday memory.

Room Tip: Level 2 or 3 best if your not travelling with a family. The ReKata pool club side was not problem fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Fastbooking and Hotels.com so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing