We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2009

The travel agent recommended this hotel having stayed there herself last year. She sold it as an upmarket hotel, friendly, great location set on a great safe beach. She was right on all areas. The hotel is fabulous and one thing she forgot to mention was the great restaurant serving some really nice food with a very extensive wine list too!

Overall, great fun for the kids with the pool and the soft sand beach. Away from the hustle and bustle. A little bit of a long transfer from the airport to reach it but well worth it. It is a liitle expsensive (especially the wines) but overall not too bad.

Everyone very kind, service orientated and great with the children

You must try this one if you want to splurge a bit!

  • Liked — The food, wine and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouglasRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    207
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
194
408
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

I stuggled whether to gove the Boathouse a 4 or a 5. Based on the roms and the price, which are a little dated and expensive, I would have rated this boutique hotel a 4. However the staff and the location are 5 plus stars. I don't think you could find a better beach front location in all of Phuket, it's that good. You are literally 20 steps from the crystal clear Andaman sea. The staff really make for an unforgettable stay. The restaurant and bar staff basically memorize your drinks and preferences and always greet you with a huge Thai smile. The housekeeping staff were equally wonderful and the guys that handle the beach chairs could not fave done a better job. The NYE's celebration was a home run as well. All in all, I would absolutely return this wonderful escape from reality.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — rooms are a little dated
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godfather07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

it is definitely overrated...we have been to thailand a few times and tried different hotels in Phuket, all we can say is Mom Tri's Boathouse has a good location on a fabulous beach, the rooms are average, service is very local, some staff seem tricky... You definitely can find much better hotels for the same price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff, service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thailandlover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

After spending hours on Trip Advisor to find the perfect hotel for my partner and I to stay we decided on Mom Tri's Boathouse, because of the location, smaller boutique hotel, price and the wonderful beach front restaurant. This place didn't dissapoint one bit. We decided to go with the 7 Night Escape package which included airport transfers, three massages each and two dinners each in there restaurant.

After hours in transit on our way to Phuket we were exhausted when we arrived at the airport. It was so great to have a luxury car waiting for us with bottles of cold water and cold refreshing towels. We were arriving late at night but the hotel were so delightful when we arrived and had our welcoming drink ready. We were quickly checked in and taken to our room. We had booked a standard room (206) which had a lovely view of the beach and water. The rooms are simple, fairly small but nicely furnished and we were perfectly comfortable. It was a nice feeling waking in the morning and being able to see the surfers in the water from lying in bed. They provided fresh fruit everyday in your room and the housekeeping always had an oil burner going in the bathroom with a beautiful jasmine fragrance. Lovely touches!

The breakfast at the hotel was fantastic, which included fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bread, french pastries, eggs any style you prefer made very quickly, a fresh juice station which included your fresh fruit and vegetables. It was lovely having our breakfast while watching the surfers at Kata Beach.

We had two lovely meals at there famous restaurant Boathouse Wine & Grill. The service was fantastic, food and wine was lovely and they provided the ladies with a red rose at the end of your meal. Both times we had a beach front table and it was such a beautiful setting. We had the Thai degustation menu for our first meal, it was lovely however they were very quick to bring out each course and we were feeling very full at the end. The second time we ate at the restaurant we had the French degustation menu and asked if they could slow down the courses. The food was again amazing and we felt very comfortable at the end of the meal having eaten slower.

The beach boys were great. They were very efficent setting up an umbrella and fresh towels on your lounge. They also provided chilled water, cold refreshment towels and fruit sticks throughout the day. If the ice had melted in your glass they would quickly replace it with fresh chilled water. The massages we had at hotel were fantastic and so relaxing.

It was very sad having to leave Mom Tri's Boathouse, the staff were so lovely and always happy to help. We will definately be returning to Mom Tri's Boathouse and would like to Thank all the staff for making our stay truely wonderful!!

  • Liked — The food, location and the fantastic service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank pippi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Mom Tri's met all our expectations. What we saw in pictures on their website was exactly how it was.. beach, accommodation and food ... was delicious and beautifully presented.... the Chef Awards that Mom Tri's have coveted over the past 3 years, attest to that.

The staff of Mom Tri's were absolutely wonderful, really made you feel comfortable, as only the Thai people can. This is not just another Resort, this is a special place where the emphasis is put on quality and making the guest feel special. For example, it was our 25th wedding anniversary, and when we arrived at 11.30pm there in our room was a gorgeous orchid and red rose flower arrangement and a beautiful cake decorated with pink and wite roses, that the chef had made.
Also 1 day from our departure from Australia, although we had confirmation of our booking, Mom Tri's had not received the booking by fault of the travel agent, so Mom Tri's contacted the travel agent and got confirmation ... just goes to show the high level of service and professionalism.

As I have said the staff are really special, and not only we realised this, but also the Owner of Mom Tri's. As September is as we found out a special month. Over 10 days or so the Management organise games, for the staff, of both establishments, The Boathouse and Villa Royale - which is another lovely Guesthouse just around the next beach.. Kata Noi. All the staff, including Chefs, Kitchen Hands, Waiting Staff, Cleaners, Management, Reception.. over the 10 days participate at 4pm in Soccer, and Volleyball games for an hour. And for us after a day on the beach it was great to sit on the verandah of the boathouse with a cocktail and watch the competition and those that werent playing were out with us cheering and giving encouragment. Then on another day they have a staff party, where they play different games on the beach and prizes are won and a lovely lunch is served.
The Management appreciate their staff , and it shows. (some have been there 19 & 15, 7 years!)

Having said all that, it really is the best location, right on the beach, the verandah is set with tables and a huge tree overhangs the pergola above and sitting there, either in the morning for breakfast, or dining at night under the fairy lights, with a red sunset going down behind the island in the bay (which is directly in front of the boathouse) is.... magical.

This is not just a place to stay in some huge hotel with hundreds of rooms, this is THE place to stay where as the old saying goes... good things comes in small packages.

Would love to keep it our little secret, but that wouldnt be fair.
We are going back next year.

V & P Santamaria

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank santa1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

A friend recommended this place on Kata beach. Fabulous fabulous location. Rooms are ok - slightly faded and we didn't have a great view but if you have to chose somewhere which gives you beachfront breakfast, loungers with free water and fruit on sticks and massage just round the corner at Oriental Massage then this is the place. We walked along the beach and I can say that this is the only place to stay on Kata beach, karon beach next one along looked slightly crummy!

We will be back! Loved it!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — some of the waiters were a bit slow and slightly offhand
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

As the reviews had been so great in both Trip Advisor and my guide book my expectations had been quite high. However although there was nothing to complain about there was really nothing very special about the hotel especially as it wasn't that cheap. The rooms were pleasant but quite outdated. The whole hotel looked like it was in need of a face lift. The food was ok but not great and again expensive.The staff weren't rude just quite indifferent. The best thing about the hotel was the location as it was right on the beach. Also the thai massage was fantastic.

  • Liked — Location and Spa
  • Disliked — Outdated rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonKyopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing