We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed for 10 days at Mom Tri's Boathouse and it was great !. The attitude of the staff is outstanding. The first night we stayed in a room that was likely not used for a while and we got a bit overwhelmed by what we thought was a moldy smell. In the morning we asked whether we could have another room and we were accommodated without any hesitation and that room was just fine.
During our stay everyone of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful which made the stay very agreeable. The boathouse offers the right mix of a luxury boutique hotel without going overboard. First and foremost it is for the traveller that does not seek the ambience of a large hotel complex with lots of elevators and tons of people. It's more like staying in a cosy motel but with a 5 star Restaurant and top location right at the beach. We can highly recommend the boathouse to anyone. PS the Spa at the Villa Royal (part of same business) is magic, and the crew drove us there and picked us up after the "royal treatment".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    202
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
188
398
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We have been visiting the Boathouse since 1992 either to stay or to dine.Our visit in June
was the latest and as delightful as usual.

We have to jump to the defence of the Boathouse in regard to the alleged theft incident.Whilst sympathising with the guests who lost thier valuable items it is hard to believe that a staff member would be responsible less still that it was dealt with badly.

The charm, efficiency and help from the staff are one of premier reasons for staying at the Boathouse,several have been there for many years, and prize thier jobs highly.However we have on occasions stupidly left out items of value without loss,this is unfair to the staff as it brings them under suspicion if anything goes wrong.As the managment has pointed out, thier is a safety box in the room.Temptation is temptation in any part the world.

As for reporting to the thai police this has its frustrations ask any Thai.

If you are thinking of reserving a room at the Boathouse do not let this discourage you,a delightful experience awaits you at the Boathouse



i

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaceful67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We recently celebrated our 32nd Wedding Anniversary and as we are staying 3 months in Phuket we decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights at each of the Mom Tri’s Boutique Hotels. So this is our review of Mom Tri’s Boathouse.

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Jarinee who is the Front Office Manager. Check in was a breeze, all we had to do was show our passports then Jarinee took us down to the restaurant where we were given complimentary drinks. The setting is beautiful here, comfortable lounges overlooking Kata beach.

Jarinee then took us up to our room (number 307); the walk to our room was so interesting as the walls of the corridors are lined with beautiful artwork and photographs.

The rooms are lovely and well thought out; our balcony had the perfect view of the huge Jacuzzi below with lots of greenery and was very private. We quickly unpacked then went off to explore the hotel and have a swim.

Little did we realize what was going to happen when we went back to our room a few hours later!!

After a quick swim we had a drink at the Boathouse Wine and Grill and booked an outside table for dinner.

When we arrived back in our room the phone was ringing, it was Jarinee and she said that they would like to give us an upgrade so could we please pack straight away. Now we had no idea what to expect but we were ready in about 2 seconds!!

We followed the 2 bellboys who came to collect us outside of the main building, then past a sign saying “Private” up some stairs, then through the door into the biggest and most beautiful Villa. Oh my god we have been upgraded to the Dolphin Pool Villa. We looked at one another and just could not believe our eyes. There are only 2 of these Villas and they are over 120 square metres.

The main room was amazing, 2 queen sized beds joined together, beautiful lounge area facing the sea, a study area and another lovely seating area, pot plants in flower everywhere, a huge flat screen TV, DVD player and stereo. Behind the beds were 2 huge beautifully decorated sliding doors, ok the bathroom must be through there.

Another surprise, there is a hallway, at one end is the separate toilet, in the middle is the biggest bathroom I have ever seen (I want one!) it is simply stunning with his and hers sinks, then up some steps to the beautiful bath, top quality toiletries are also provided. Onto the next door, it keeps getting better, inside is a massive shower room with shower heads on the wall and ceiling. This shower is about 3 times bigger than the normal shower.

We still could not believe that we were actually going to be staying here for a couple of nights. We were like kids in a candy store!

Then we ventured out onto our patio, wow we even have our own private pool with a water feature and a lovely garden area with tables and chairs, sun lounges and even an outdoor rain shower, all overlooking Kata beach.

Now our plans for having a look around Kata have gone out the window, we are not going to leave this beautiful Villa!

The weather was not the best while we were here but nothing was going to stop us from using our private pool, we stayed in there for ages just looking out over the views of Kata beach.

That night we had dinner on the terrace at Mom Tri’s Boathouse, the tables are beautifully set with flowers and candles, very romantic, the staff are lovely, very helpful and attentive.

I ordered an entrée of Crab Meat and Avocado with fresh basil oil (380 baht) and Gary ordered Salmon Tartare on Chicory Salad with fresh basil and extra virgin olive oil (390 baht), both were delicious!

My main was the Rock Lobster Trilogy (810 baht); each one was so different, Green Curry, Thermidor and Armagnac. Absolutely perfect!

Gary ordered the Seared Sea Scallops and Duck Foie Gras with
Sauté spinach on risotto and Shiraz black truffle sauce ( 810 baht). He still has not stopped talking about it, I have never tried Duck Foie Gras before so of course I had a taste (or two), and it was mouth watering, so light and rich.

Now the meals at Mom Tri’s Boathouse are quite big serves and there was no way I was going to have dessert as well, but our waiter and Gary did a good job of talking me into it so I ordered the “White Lady” which was 3 scoops of Vanilla ice-cream, Chantilly Crème and lots of rich warm chocolate sauce (220 baht). What a treat and I managed to eat all of it!!

Freshly baked breadsticks, various breads and palate cleansers were complimentary. So as you can see the prices at Mom Tri’s Boathouse are very reasonable and in return you will enjoy fine dining at its best!

The breakfast buffet was also excellent with a lot of choices and unlike most buffets the food was hot!

Complimentary newspapers and fruit platters are also provided daily to all rooms.

We loved our stay in the Dolphin Pool Villa and feel very privileged that we were upgraded, on check out we found out that the upgrade was from Mr Louis Bronner (General Manager of Mom Tri’s Boathouse) so a very special thankyou from both of us. This was certainly a Wedding Anniversary we will never forget!

I took over 100 photos of Mom Tri’s Boathouse (Room 307 and the Dolphin Pool Villa) so just pm me if you would like the link to them.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at Mom Tri's Boathouse for 3 nights in May '09 after reading positive reviews on Tripadvisor
The hotel's design and layout are quite unique
Staff and reception were very helpful and friendly
We opted for the less expensive room type, thus our view to the beach was somewhat restricted.
Our room was luxuriously appointed with all kinds of nice features, however, there is some wear and tear visible. I think a refurbish would help to maintain the high Tripadvisor rating.
The hotel has it's own section of public beach and a staff of beach boys who setup lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels free of charge. In addition, they will serve you free fruit and bottled water throughout the day.....boy did we feel pampered!!

The restaurant is fantastic and first class. The (free included) breakfast was the best we had in Thailand. Custom made smoothies, eggs cooked to order, every kiind of fruit, cheese, etc... and all served in a beautiful setting with a spectacular view.

Something weird......we read on a previous review about a room theft. We did have an expensive mangosteen fruit in our room that disappeared after housekeeping staff had cleaned the room. :(

What we liked:
- Location just outside of town
- Unique luxury concept and decor
- Pampering service
- Room seemed soundproof
- Good water and pressure in bathroom and comfortable bed
- Restaurant, lounge, bar are top notch with great views
- Breakfast!!
- Lounge chairs with free beach boy service

To Improve
- Rooms could use a refurbish
- Add an additional internet PC in the lobby (there is only one)

We would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We had a 3-day break here in the middle of a 2-week family visit to Singapore. Staff very helpful with baggage, and had made arrangements for a baby cot in our room as planned. Welcome drink was very welcome.
Staff were very helpful and their standard of English was better than expected.
Room was good. Air-con was quiet and efficient.
Breakfast was excellent. We had lunch one day at the restaurant and I must say, I was disappointed.
Location right on the beach was great, given that we had a baby in tow.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGlen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed here for a week in the beginning of July 2009. We were blessed with very good weather except for one morning and the day we left when the monsoon struck loose with heavy rain and winds causing massive delays out of Phuket airport. Our previous stop was the Waterfront Bophut on Koh Samui witch I feel in perspective of this stay I did overrate. Anyhow, we are very happy with this stay, as a matter of fact this is by far the best stay we have had in Phuket ever. The fact that it seems to be not so many tourists has a healthy impact on prices both in hotels and in restaurants. Prices almost half of the ones in Koh Samui.

We liked:
- The staff, outstanding
- Hosekeeping on 3:th floor, best ever (make her employee of the month)
- Location right on the beach
- Breakfast also right on the beach
”- Private” beach in front of hotel
- Prices in Kata
- Mom Tri's restaurant

Have hard to find anything we disliked. Rooms are a little bit dated. The are not any superior rooms with real great views, we had number 312 witch a least has a partly view.

We seriously disliked Bangkok Air's handling and customer service during all the problems of our 8 hour journey to Bangkok. We had to turn back twice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisse_persson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Food and service was very good but you pay for that in the price so standard for the money. Very disappointed by the burglary in the room. Small (pocket able?) items being stolen from our room with no signs of break in while laptop left stinks of inside job. The hotel refused to accept any notion that it was one of there staff and i was left feeling accused myself! Especially after going to the police and being advised by the hotel driver/interpreter to bribe the police for the crime report.

Go for a meal the maybe but if your staying chain everything down.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pep80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 8 July 2009
We were very sorry to discover this latest review with ta rather unjust report.
We regret one of our Guests felt we didn't take the disappearance of some of his belongings seriously. On the contrary, after the notification of the Guest late one Saturday evening, we conducted a thorough internal investigation as soon as possible. The Guest was advised to report to the local police immediately, after the belongings didn't turn up on Sunday, but he declined as the family was celebrating a birthday that day and he didn't want to take time out of that.

On Monday we again stressed notification of the police and even offered our hotel car and receptionist to assist the Guest, which he accepted. The police declined to visit the hotel as too much time had passed and the Guest obtained a report in Thai language which our staff kindly transcribed in English for him.
Our security measures include among others, the provision of a free safety box in the room for any valuable goods. We always recommend using it to store valuable items before leaving the room, as the hotel cannot assume responsibility for lost items. This message is clearly marked on the safe deposit box instruction sheet.
We regret our Guests' belongings remained missing but our further investigations did not provide any leads.
After providing our guest with our full assistance we estimate very unjustified such introduction in comparison to the number of very satisfied Guests for years and years.
Being one of Phuket's premier hotels for 20 years, we pride ourselves on having one of the highest Guest Return Rates of hotels in Phuket. Safety and security of our Guests are taken very seriously indeed.
Thanking you for your consideration and with kindest regards, Louis Bronner General Manager Mom Tri’s Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing