We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Let's start with the negatives first; the hotel has quite an old school feel to it but this is part of its charm. The bathroom was quite tired and in real need of a makeover and the overall feel as far as service was concerned was a little stuffy. There are no plasma screens or ipod connectors for example.

Despite that the location must be the best on Kata beach as it is right on the beach and the staff were very friendly, attentive and constantly cleaning, sweeping and shining things making the hotel immaculately clean. The food was to die for - a real highlight of the trip and they obviously take real pride in this.

To summarise it's not that cheap and you are paying for the location, the service and the ability to order the great food.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    196
    51
    19
    8
See reviews for
186
390
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We went to this place after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Concierge in the hotel arranged a table first row (closest to the beach), which is probably a MUST to make this a memorable experience. Loved the view (best place to monitor all that happens on the beach at night, including many couples heating their lampoons. Food was good, nothing extremely special or surprising...but good, classical and fair for the price.

Small comment: we were tricked in visiting the Mom Tri Boathouse on a Wednesday due to a big promotion sign on Kata Beach mentioning a 5 course tasting menu for 1200 BAT (35 $), but this did not appear to exist (menu for 3 courses was about 50$).

Not the first choice if you can have only one of two fancy dinners on Phuket Island, but we had a great night and had excellent food, with good value for money in a great location!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Fantastic setting, great service, good food, amazing winelist.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KualaLumpurDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

The best attribute of the Boathouse is it's location - it is unparalleled, situated right on the sand on Kata Beach. There are not many hotels in Phuket which are situated on the sand - keep this in mind. In the past, I had stayed at Kata Beach Resort and also Club Med - also on Kata Beach. I enjoyed all 3 experiences.

Summary:
+The food at The Boathouse is world renowned - absolutely amazing dishes.
+Rooms are a little dated - need a freshen-up. We had a basic room. all have views but are obstructed by trees etc except for some of the more expensive villas. We found the std rooms a little small
+We had no dramas with mould smell unlike other trip advisor reports
+As guests of The Boathouse, you also have access to Mom Tri's other hotel 500m round the pinnacle called Villa Royale. Very much a boutique hotel - very pretty and you must use their facilities etc. - the ocean pool is a great place to watch the sun set. Staff at Villa Royale seemed a cut above Boathouse staff in terms of service and professionalism. This is a general statement. I'd like to make particular mention of Ross and Arporn at The Boathouse who were first class.
+One of the beach guys was reluctant to clean up some dog poo on the sand in front of the Boathouse deck chairs. I really had to push him to do this - he was not happy. It should have been done without question
+Having breakfast at The Boathouse was just devine - so close tothe sand and the water every morning
+The Breakfast staff at The Boathouse gave the impression that they do their job, and do it well but their smiles didn't seem as genuine as other staff (except for the always smiling juice lady) - once again this is a very general statement. There was one other really nice fellow at breakfast who's name escapes me
+Kata beach itself could do with a daily clean - we suggested that they lobby the municipal for this as there is just generally a lot of waste that get's washed up
+the Pool is nothing special - there are two however they are very small
+Kata is a very safe beach - you can learn to surf - surfboard hire is 100THB/hr
+There is a restaurant close to The Boathouse at one end of the beach called Belle Vista high on the cliff - you won't miss it. It is a great candlelit location however we found it very overpriced particularly for the seafood platter and the quality of the crab in particular was dissappointing. We wish had not ordered the seafood platter but rather ordered something else instead as it was overpriced for what it was.

We found that the following were the going rates for transport:
+Shuttle bus from Phuket airport to Kata Beach – 180THB pp (but will take approx 1.5hrs afer dropping everyone off)
+Taxi Phuket airport to Kata Beach – 650THB
+150THB – Kata to Karon
+250THB - Karon to Pathong
+350THB – Kata to Pathong

If you are looking for a good Tailor, I highly recommed Crystal Tailors at Karon Beach. 36/20-21 Karon Beach – the owner is Noi – [--]. This was the 2nd time I had suits made from Noi. the quality and finish is superb. It is also one of the few tailors which are Thai owned and that don't have the annoying sprukers outside the door trying to do the hard sell on people as they walk by. Trust me - you won't be dissappointed.

Personally, I would forget about staying in Pathong - it's too busy and crazy - good to visit at nighttime. the beach is also nowhere near as nice at Kata. With regard to Karon beach, the beach is too rough and not sheltered like Kata. I have been to phuket 3 times now and all three times have stayed at Kata beach and will continue to stay there. If you are thinking of Pathong, I would consider the Impiana Phuket Cabana Resort which is one of the only hotels in Pathong situated on the beach. We had some freinds staying there whom we visited. They were very happy with the hotel

Overall, a very enjoyable experience at The Boathouse and we would consider staying there again. Kata beach has so much to offer - restaurants, shops, beaches, surfboard hire etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

I began staying at The Boathouse twenty years ago, and have just returned from my 15th visit of 11 nights. Obvisouly, I like the place.

Their pristine beach is cleaned after the night's high tide by the beach staff. I spend my days under a big red umbrella with ice water and beer just feet from the surf. Kata Beach has a long, sandy bottom that is safe for even novice swimmers. Surfers love the long, rolling waves.

The Boathouse is renown for their incredible food and award-winning wine cellar - both keep me close by. Whether in the dining room or on the terrace above the seawall, the view up the long crescent of Kata Beach is impressive, especially at sunset.

Many of the excellent staff boat a long tenure with The Boathouse, so I feel like I am greeting family each time I am there.

During this visit I stayed in a 3rd floor deluxe room and was upgraded to one of their three spacious suites. Both were lovely, quiet and had fresh flowers, fruit and a daily newspaper. With only 38 rooms, the hotel has a coziness where nothing is ever too far away.

If you are seeking a Grand Hyatt experience, this is not the place to be. The Boathouse is very gracious and gentle...you will soon be planning your next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

what we really love about this hotel is their warm welcoming. The first impression we had was when the staff opened the door for us with a very big smile. They took us in the restaurant to have a welcome drink and you can look out at the beach with is very beautiful. After that the staff escorted us to the room and inform us about everything. this is what unique about this hotel. We didnt lose anything here but anyway we already know that whatever place wouldnt be responsible if u lost ur things while they have a safe box for you and this hotel they noted to us that we should use the deposit box just to protect. We saw big smiles from every staff everyday and they are very helpful. The food is also great. The room is good also we have no problem about the roof cuz maybe we book in advance so we get a very nice room. This hotel is maybe look old alittle bit but it present thai architecture. We love to dine in the restaurant because they have good food and good scenery. So this hotel is worth our money and we really enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzajedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

A perfect honey moon spoiled by our camera being stolen from our room on the first day of stay. I will take some blame as we did not put it in the safety deposit box but you don't really expect that to happen in such a reputable hotel. It did leave a bad feeling for the rest of our trip though and we did not feel completely safe for the remaining time. I had read about the previous theft and now have a good understanding of how they must have felt. Well, i have a good idea who must have took it but this not the place to lay accusations. Management did their obligatory staff search and that was about it. Nothing more was said about it after. They didn't offer anything to compensate our loss. Not even a suggestion as to where to get a new camera. Not even a taxi ride into town to get a new camera. We didn't even see the manager for the rest of our stay. Not even a sorry, hows the rest of your trip going? Sad really, I'd expect such cold service from bigger chain hotels. Even as we checked out nothing was said, the manager didn't say goodbye, door was not held open for us, no bellboy to help us with our bags. In the end it wasn't about the camera but more about the handling and service afterward. Really just disappointing. The only real good thing going for this aging hotel is it's location on the beach. Other than that a big thumbs down.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newlywed1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, General Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 31 December 2009
Reading regularly the reviews posted on Tripadvisor thank you for giving us the chance to reply.

While commiserating with our Guests who have lost belongings we believe that in the 20-year history of the Boathouse these are extreme exceptions.

Our very high returning Guest rate of nearly 50% shows that most of our Guests have a relaxing and wonderful time at the Boathouse. Not only do they keep coming back but also often recommend our hotel to their family and friends.

In the past month we have intensively reviewed and adjusted the security procedures in our hotel and on our beach and have implemented additional measures to avoid an incident as described in the review from recurring.

Although possible inconveniencing some of our Guests at some times we think these measures are necessary to the increased security of all our Guests. We’d like to mention a few of the measures here.

• The entrance door to the lobby is locked from 1 am at night until 6 am in the morning. Our night porter unlocks the door for Guests returning from their evening out
• Doors to the Guest areas (such as the Island Lounge above the restaurant and swimming pool) are closed after 11 pm to prevent access from outside
• Additional lighting is installed at the fire escape ladder
• We have hired additional security guards to patrol our beach and property
• The Kata Police proceeds to regular checks of our property throughout the night

We always strongly advise our Guests to lock their valuables in the electronic safety box provided free of charge in their room.

If Guests think any of their belongings are missing we suggest they report the loss at the police station as soon as possible. The station is a 10 minute ride from our hotel. We will assist our Guests wherever possible.

Most of our staff has been with the hotel for 10 years or longer. Many have even been with the Boathouse from the very opening in 1989. Nevertheless we have tight internal security procedures and do random checks to ensure they are enforced.

We believe Phuket is a safe and friendly holiday destination and our staff is looking forward to welcome and be of service to all our Guests.

With kindest New Year's wishes.

Mom Tri’s Boathouse
General Manager
Louis Bronner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing