We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
150
15
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
15
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine grill boat house family suite boutique hotel the general manager pool area fantastic location pool staff hotel guests fresh fruit main restaurant cooking class small hotel direct access overlooking the beach two chefs restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We stayed at the Boathouse shortly after it reopened following its renovations. This was our third stay here and it was our number one choice to stay at in Phuket and Kata Beach following our previous experiences staying there.
As well as that it was where we wanted to have our wedding ceremony at since it was possible to have a beach wedding there, something that my wife had been dreaming about.

We made all the arrangements with Gam who was absolutely fantastic in making recommendations and meeting our every requirements, we were in regular touch through email and kept us up to date with how the renovations were going.

The night before we stayed at another property close by but Gam and the rest of the staff were able to take my suit and my wife's dress to get them ready for the wedding ceremony, apologies for arriving late and keeping you up Gam.

The following day upon check in we were greeted like long lost family members (staying at this hotel really makes you feel right at home), taken through to the small bar area next to the restaurant and sat down, provided with cold towels and a welcome drink and some canapes (they even have a special welcome drink menu for you to choose from). They then went through the whole check in process using a tablet, whilst this was taking place the rooms director dropped by and welcomed us back and offered her business card in case we needed to contact her about anything.

We had originally booked a seaview room which we had stayed in previous stays but the hotel kindly upgraded us to a Junior Suite which was both spacious and comfortable for our 4 night stay, there was plenty of room and had a balcony overlooking the beach front, both the room and the hotel have been modernised from our previous stays and they have done a fantastic job.

Breakfast was included each day and as well as having a continental buffet to help yourselves from they provide a a la carte menu to order hot items freshly cooked to order for you. You have the option of sitting inside the restaurant or outside overlooking the beach. Thank you Mr X and the rest of the staff for looking after us every morning.

The wedding ceremony itself was a day that both of us will always remember, Thanks to Gam and the rest of the staff that assisted it went incredibly smoothly and without any hiccups, the decorations were beautiful and food and drinks went down well with all the guests. They were even kind enough to offer their van to transport our guests to and from the hotel they were staying at nearby.

I think having the ability to hold it on the beach and have a ready made area to hold a reception gives the Boathouse a considerable advantage over many of the other hotels in the area, as well as the dedication and service oriented culture of all the staff in making sure everyone feels truly valued and special sets it apart, hence why we feel so much at home when we stay there.

I would also like to thank Max the manager who always had time to pop over and speak to us daily to make sure that everything was going ok and that we had no problems.

We look forward to our future stays at this wonderful hotel and if anyone is looking for a property to hold their dream wedding at then please look no further than the Boathouse.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ASimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoathousePhuket, General Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Khun ASimm

Many thanks for your very comprehensive review where we read it with great interest.
We are very thankful that we were able to meet all your expectations both during your stay and with your wedding arrangement. This is certainly made us all here at The Boathouse Phuket extremely proud to be part of your very important day hence its very pleasing to receive your good recognition of our service deliverance.

On behalf of our Hosts; Gam, X and rest of our team members here, thank you very much for your trust and confidence in us and more importantly thank you sincerely for your kind recommendation of our hotel services.
We are very much looking forward to welcome your return soon to The Boathouse Phuket, "Your Home here by Kata Beach"

Sincerely remains

Max Chin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

This was my second stay in Boathouse ; my first stay in 2015 was also great but my last stay after renovation in december 2017 was just Perfect. i really feel like at home.
Max and his team do really great job , i look forward to come back !

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank yetkinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoathousePhuket, General Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Khun Yetkinm

Many thanks for your kind review and indeed it's both of our pleasure and honor to welcome you back to the newly refurbished The Boathouse Phuket.
We are very pleased that you had have an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you very much for your appreciation of our new initiative and certainly we are awaiting for your soonest return to our Boathouse Phuket "Your Home by Kata Beach"

Sincerely yours

Max Chin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We just checked out and can’t wait already to write a quick review for this hidden gem. It was our first time staying in Kata beach, and I have to say it was a nice little surprise. We are accustomed to big brand hotels (and perks) but this time wanted something different and quiet - boathouse was a great choice! (Thank you tripadvisor as i picked this Hotel based on the reviews). Great service, nice room, affordable price... we will come back! Only drawback i would say are the mosquitoes, maybe a good idea to invest in some in room incense.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laney2291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoathousePhuket, General Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Khun Laney2291

Many thanks for your kind reviews and we are pleased to note of your recent enjoyable stay with us. We are very proud to receive your acknowledgement that we had contributed positively to your overall experience at The Boathouse Phuket and certainly an honor for us to be among with other larger industry colleagues.
I thank you sincerely for your comment on the referred mosquitoes hence we already have our Housekeeping Hosts to work on this challenge immediate especially with our Phuket current weather changes.
Once again, thank you and we are very much awaiting here for your return to our Boathouse "Your Home by Kata Beach"

Sincerely yours

Max Chin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

What a great place to stay, met all my expectations and much more. This hotel is a jewel and Max the general manager keeps it polished 24/7 and some how he manages to personal interact with all the guests to make sure everything is perfect. The food was Absolutely Superb. The beach was perfect and I live on the island of Kauai. I had a problem with airline bumping us and had to stay an extra day and they did not take advantage of the situation.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank brucemW1046RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoathousePhuket, General Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Khun brucemW1046RP

Many thanks for your encouraging review from your recent stay at our Boathouse Phuket. Together with our Hosts, we are very pleased and appreciative to note of your expectations and where your recognition of our warm hospitality is very important for all of us here.
It is through your positive input that continue to inspire us to work and serve better in providing high quality guest experience to all our guests.
Once again, thank you very much and I sincerely looking forward to welcome you back to The Boathouse Phuket "Your Home by Kata Beach" .

Sincerely yours

Max Chin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Somewhat non-descript from the street access, once you enter the lobby doors you are struck by a totally renovated property that exudes comfort and style. You are immediately made to feel welcome and even before checking in thinking about when you can return. This feeling only intensifies over your stay. The only negatives (which cannot be changed) are fronting on a busy street (although the noise is minimal) and sharing a public beach which precludes setting up private lounge chairs. That said, there are ample lounge chairs surrounding the well-designed pool with a view to the bay. Despite sharing the beach it is one of the best in Kata, Phuket with nice sand and great views.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank nelsonrobertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoathousePhuket, General Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Khun Nelsonrobertp
Many thanks for your very encouraging review from your recent stay at The Boathouse Phuket "Your Home by Kata Beach" We are most pleased to record of your positive experience from each and every Hosts encounter and warm hospitality from us.
Indeed with our main road proximity, I thank you sincerely for your kind understanding that we well preserved our guest' comfort as well as your good recognition on our newly refurbished facilities and wonderful beachfront here.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments and looking forward to your soonest return to our Boathouse Phuket.

Sincerely yours

Max Chin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews