We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please - Get back on track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hornbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Please - Get back on track”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

As this was the 12th time we stayed at The Boathouse since 1989, we have all the experience to compare the development of this beutiful situated estashbliment. The service, the bar, the lunch and the dinner is still up to standard. The rooms strongly need renovation and breakfast is better at most 2 star hotels.
We were staying on a Escape Week package including 3 hours of massage per guest, but have to leave with 3 unused vouchers, as they only have one person to give you massage. Simply not good enough.
The offer also included 15% discount on food, which they forgot to deduct and we are still waiting for a refund.
So Dear Boathouse, please improve your performance and honour your promises if you want to get back on top on my scoreboard.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Dear Mr. Clausen,
Thank you for being one of our most loyal Guests, we appreciate your support for the Boathouse.
Last year we had summer promotions including a special discount in our restaurant for in-house Guests but we didn’t continue the same promotion for this year’s summer season. As you booked your holiday before we had put the new summer packages on our website, we would extend the food discount as an exception.
We have two restaurant bills for you on record: one for drinks only and one for two set dinner menus as included in the Escape Week package plus several drinks. As the discount was only on food and not drinks there was no discount to deduct (the set dinner being included in the package and not charged at the restaurant). Please let us know if we somehow missed a bill.
Upon checking the massage booking schedule during your stay I’ve found that, except for the last day with just one free slot remaining, all other days were just booked at most 50% of the time only. We have one masseur which experience has shown us is sufficient for a hotel of our size. I’m afraid it is not possible for couples to have their massage at the same time should that be desired but there is in general plenty of opportunity to redeem the massage vouchers. Our FO staff recommends our Guests upon checking in to make bookings for all their massages during their stay, as early as possible instead of last minute bookings to avoid disappointment.
Thank you for your patronage so far and we hope we can welcome you again to the Boathouse soon.

Best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager
pr@boathousephuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    206
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
194
407
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My husband and I typically stay at larger hotel chains, but decided to try a boutique-style hotel for a change. We found a very enticing low-season package at Mom Tri's that included airport transfer, daily breakfast, 2 dinners, and 3 massages. It was a great value, so we selected that for a week. During check-in, we opted to upgrade to the Dolphin suite, which included it's own pool. In retrospect, I would have just kept our original room, since our pool wasn't at all private, and it was freezing (we asked several times if the temperature could be adjusted, but it didn't seem possible). The room itself was very well decorated, and housekeeping tidied up 2 times per day bringing fresh towels, bottled water, and wonderful fruits. My only complaint about the room was that the beds were rock hard, and instead of a king-sized bed (which we were expecting) we had 2 double beds pushed together.

The food at mom tri's is deserving of all the awards it has won. We participated in the 2 day cooking class, which was very well organized and made thai cooking seem very accessible. Well worth your time - but don't eat much breakfast before the class.

Mom Tri's best asset is it's people. The level of service we received was above and beyond from the reception staff, to the wait staff, to housekeeping. This friendly personalization is why the boutique experience is better than large chains.

The only real downside to our trip (other than a cold pool that we didn't use) was the fireworks on Kata beach. During our first 2 nights we were woken up by loud fireworks that were exploding right in front of the hotel. When we complained to the reception, they said that they could only stop the explosions directly in front of their property, and people were lighting off all over the beach. This was very frustrating, since we were there to relax, but there wasn't much the reception could do. I would recommend that all the hotel managers get together to create an ordinance that limits the times at which fireworks can be ignited on the beach. We were also disappointed by the amount of garbage on the beach, but the hotel had a beach attendant keeping the lounge chair area clean.

It truly is a beautiful property that clearly prides itself in service. We would recommend this to our friends with out hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandbug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
Dear Sandbug78,
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel and we’d also like to thank you for your recommendation to your friends. We are placing a few more potted plants around the Dolphin Pool Villa pool terrace to make it a little more private without losing too much of the wonderful view of the sea. We will monitor the water temperature of the pool; perhaps there were a few days of rain and the water temperature dropped? In Phuket the sea water temperature doesn’t vary much beyond 26-29 degrees Celsius all year round; I would presume swimming pool water would follow that range, but we don’t keep records on our pools’ water temperature.
We have notified the Kata/Karon Municipality several times about the illegal fireworks on the beach and we will do so again. There seems to be neither enough manpower nor willingness to enforce this sort of rule and I’m afraid there is nothing much we ourselves can do about it. Boathouse hotel staff and staff of the other hotels on Kata Beach keep our side of the beach as tidy as possible but this time of the year winds and tides continuously bring more plastic and other debris our way. With initiatives by Nick Anthony of Indigo Real Estate supported by Phuket hotels (a.o. the Boathouse) and some of Phuket’s shopping centers and local businesses to curb plastic bag use on the island, education of the general public and a tentative approach made to fishing boats in the area we hope this amount of garbage will eventually lessen.

Thank you for sharing your feedback we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Lisa Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

One of the best places I've ever stayed. Great location, fantastic service, a brilliant restaurant and small enough to feel very personal. They couldn't have done any more to make the stay any better.

The rooms are starting to age a little, but they are spotless and extremely comfortable.

Would recommend to anyone looking for something a little quiet & intimate

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Dear Dr. Kingfish,
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your recommendation and sharing your compliments on TripAdvisor.
Best regards,
Lisa Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORT LINCOLN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This is our second stay. We had the opportunity to meet in Phuket with our daughter, husband and grandchildren. They visited us at Mom Tri's and could not believe the location, the friendliness of staff and our facilities. We had raved to them about our previous stay and they could see first hand what we meant. The staff welcomed them just as if they were a paying guest. We highly recommend this hotel and we will return. Many of the staff from out previous stay were still working there. To us this signifies management not only care about guests, but also their staff. Highly recommend if you are looking for a quiet, fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Dear Felty55,
Thank you for your compliments about your stay at the Boathouse. We’re pleased your extended family shared your good opinion about us.
We indeed have a very low staff turnover; many of the staff have even been here since the very beginning 20 years ago! Most of our current staff have been working here about 10 years plus on average.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Lisa Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This Hotel is a gem!
In an age of growing oversized resorts this beautifully designed ( in the Thai style) intimate hotel propety has a front row position on kata beach so it is a few steps down from the terrace to the sand and your awaiting lounge and umbrella,iced water and fruit.
What stands out here is the service:,the staff are selfconfident and friendly ,from the front desk ,turndown service,the guys on the beach ,food and wine and not to mention the fantastic service at the airport on departure by a member of the hotel staff stationed
there.
We loved the Food and extensive wine list and in fact had almost all meals at the hotel
I should mention the massuer and the excellent cocktails, but this is a very well run hotel and highly reccommended
Terence McErvale

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splitpoint14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Dear Mr. McErvale,
Thank you for your very kind praise of the Boathouse. I’ve shared your compliments with our staff and our management.
We’re all looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Lisa Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We are now back in Danmark again - after travelling around 6 weeks in the beautful FarEast, Singapore, Bangkok hotel Peninsula & hotel Shangri La, Koh Samed hotel Ao Phrao Resort, Koh Samui hotel Chaweng Regent Beach Resort and 2 weeks in Phuket at your lovely hotel BoatHouse where we nov have stayed 5 times.

And also this time we thank you very much for a nice and very relaxing stay with good food, wine and most off alle the staff, who are among the worlds best, always nice, always polite, always helpful and smiling - It is a very great plesure to stay at BoatHose because for these reasons.

So if you will be kind to give your staff our best compliments. and give them all our personaly greatings.

We are already looking forward to come back - most likely in april 2012, where we hope and believe that you are able to offer us a good and reasonble price for a two weeks stay.

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keldbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for your compliments about your recent holiday at the Boathouse.

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will of course share your kind comments and greetings with our team. I'll print your message and will put it up in our staff canteen. It is always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests and we appreciate you're letting us know.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you again. I am sure Khun Jarinee will do her best to give you the best possible rate upon your return.

Best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager Mom Tri's Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I did a lot of research before booking Mom Tris Boathouse because this had to be a special holiday. We were celebrating our recent 40th Wedding Anniversary and also my Wife's 60th Birthday which was in the middle of our holiday.

I expected Mom Tris Boathouse to be good after reading all the reviews, but it wasn'nt!
It was far better than I expected, a true piece of Paradise!

I don't think the location could be bettered, literally right on a magnificent stretch of beach with the Beach Boys to set up you Sunbeds and Umbrella's where you want them and even to adjust the umbrella for you when the sun moves. The ice cold towels and fruit sticks that they delivered to you were very welcome in the heat. We particularly liked the fact that the sunbeds are not packed together like the adjacent hotels, but spaced well apart.

When the beach got too hot in the afternoon we adjourned to the Pool where the same service was delivered with a smile by Tong (who looks about 25 but is in fact 39).

Breakfast was wonderful, all the fresh fruit, cheeses, smoked salmon and eggs (cooked any way you wanted). By the time we finished off with the fresh Danish Pastries we only needed to walk down the four stairs and we were on the beach.

I have read various different opinions on the room size and decoration. All I can say is either we were very lucky or we were in a different hotel. The room was spacious with a veranda with chairs and table, a good size bathroom and all scrupulously clean, and kepth that way on a daily basis. The King size bed was even more comfortable than our bed at home.

The little touches like a bowl of fresh fruit delivered to your room every day, the bed turned down and an orchid placed on the pillows and the English language newspaper pushed under the door evey day are what put the polish on things.

As I said, it was my Dearly Beloved's 60th Birthday while we were there. A beautiful bouquet of Orchids was delivered to our room during the day.

That evening we ate at the Boathouse and at the end of our meal the little musical combo broke into "Happy BIrthday to You" to accompany the delightful birthday cake that was delivered to our table. A lovely finale to a lovely day thanks to the Boathouse staff.

While on the subject of the staff, they cannot be praised highly enough in our opinion. Nothing is too much trouble, any queries or questions dealt with immediately and all done with a genuine smile. They are truly lovely people! We became Grandparents again while at the Boathouse. My Son-in-Law emailed some photoes to the Hotel and they even printed them off for us and delivered them. What a wonderful gesture. Thank you Apron

This was our first Far East trip and our first visit to the Boathouse. It will definately not be our last. We were made so welcome that it felt like home and we intend to come back home sometime soon.

The Boathouse is not the cheapest Hotel in Phuket or Kata Beach, but we thought it was excellent value for money and would recommend it without any reservations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandadof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
Congratulations to you and your wife again upon turning double Grandparents. On behalf of the Boathouse team I’d like to thank you for your very nice review of your stay with us. I’m pleased to pass your compliments to the staff you mentioned by name for giving outstanding service. Tong is in fact over 40 already but I think he’s happy to be regarded as a youngster still. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Boathouse, perhaps to celebrate your wife’s 61st birthday!
Best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager
Mom Tri’s Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 57 in Kata Beach
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing