We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but bad food & customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked through Hotels.com & stayed there for 3D2N.

Pros:
- Room was nice with free WiFi through out the hotel.
- The hotel location had got many shops & restaurants are near by.
- There was a small pond outside the balcony which has so many fishes, most of them were guppies. But it was nice to watch the fishes.

Cons:
- BF was not good. Not much options & the food quality was also not good. The plates were not clean.
- Not a private beach but they reserve some beach chair for the resort guests on first come first serve basis.
- Beach is 3 to 4 min drive by shuttle. Less frequency of shuttle.
- People in reception don't understand English & so can't expect room service to be good.
- Receptionist just stapled in the front page of the passport, just on the sign of the PP issuer :(
- Only one person in the spa. We wanted couple massage, so we did outside the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed 9 nights late sept early oct and overall good experience. We had 2 ground floor rooms interconnected with pool view. The lock between rooms was on the kids side which was a bad design. Bathroom had been 'updated' (shoddy renovation with grout left all over floor, walls and even roof! Toilet constantly blocked. They had replaced bowl but not seat of toilet and the seat had yellow stains on it-ooohhh!!! No bath. Staff didn't have a great grasp on the English language which was very frustrating at times. This hotel is close to beautiful beaches but not close to tourist attractions. We found ourselves travelling up to 2.5hrs to get to attractions. But despite all the negatives, we had a fantastic time. The hotel has 'character' which was what we were after. Wanted to feel like we were in Thailand not 5 star hotel in Melbourne. Staff were very friendly, pool area wonderful, breakfast caters for variety of nationalities but limited cereal choices-plastic tasting cornflakes or milo cereal. For a family that doesn't particularly like eating noodles, cold meats and cakes for breakfast we stuck to the fruit and boiled eggs. Free internet a bonus especially for kids. Gym well equipped. Lots of restaurants and shopping close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luigiw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had an amazing time at the Kata Palms, the pool is amazing and so inviting, and the staff are friendly and efficient. It is in a great location, close to shops, restaurants and of course the beach.
We would definetly return there again!

Room Tip: Request a room on the ground floor if your not going to splurge on a pool access room, that way you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Rooms are nice and well equiped. Internet is complementary troughout the hotel. Swimming pool area is nice and comfortable and the location of the hotel is good, nearby restaurants, bars and other venues. Breakfastbuffet on the ground level offers a wide variety of Western and local dishes. So far so good. We had rooms just above the floor that was under renovation, so the noise woke us up at 7AM. Upon checking in I had asked for quiet rooms but to no avail. The receptionist maybe had a bad hair day, but she confused indifference with hospitality. In a hotel this size it's obvious the staff will not have that much time for individual customer care, but that's a huge difference with showing no interest at all for a guest's questions. Her most clear sign of customer care was sighing and looking at her colleague when a question was asked. Room was clean but hairs from former guests or...where everywhere in the bathroom. I'm sure there are better and more friendly places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Pros - The swimming pool was great, location really good, at Kata Beach, just 8 minutes walking to the beach, but they also provide a minivan to take guests there. Room with balcony, good breakfast.
Cons - Staff was average - not really great costumer services. Staf at breakfast was not efficient, tables would stay dirty for a long time, with plates pilling up on them. It was not the best value for money

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juliana_Carbonari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We found this hotel to be fantastic! On arrival we had decided to upgrade to a pool access room & it was arranged quickly for us. Also my husbands birthday during our stay & the customer service manager contacted me to arrange a special surprise lunch for him. Rooms were very clean & the extremely long pool was a delight! Location great too with shops etc right outside your door. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hils394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very nice and big rooms. Very clean. For the breakfast, you can choose between many diches, from tipical thai to classic continental meals. Its situation is very good if you want to do shopping (Karon, Patong) and spending some time on the beach also (Kata beach, but "Kata noi" is far better). We were there for 3 weeks and everything went fine.
The swimming pool is great, especially for kids, but we prefered the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinz_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 56 in Kata Beach
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#16 of 56 in Kata Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £46 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing