We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest pools you'll find anywhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the nicest pools you'll find anywhere.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

It's was my second visit to Kata Palm in 3 years. The check in was not the best as the man at the counter seemed to be having a confused dithering day. He shuffled the same papers about 4 times whilst looking for our reservation and then finally found it in the same group of papers. It took him about 15 minutes to photocopy 3 passports whilst he sifted thru the paperwork. It seemed like he had no idea of what he was doing. Anyway, we were pleased with our spacious room when we were finally checked in. The rooms are clean and all have a nice view over the pools. Beds are still rock hard but this happens in a lot of thai hotels. The gardens are beautifully kept and whilst the hotel was full, it never seemed crowded due to the hotels layout. I have to say that the breakfast has gone down hill since my last visit, but was still ok. Overall, a good place to stay in Kata.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    522
    205
    58
    41
See reviews for
316
524
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here 3 nights while in Phuket. We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very spacious and clean, had a nice balcony overlooking the pool area. Breakfast had quite a large selection of both Thai and Western and European breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance to Kata Beach and lots of restaurants and shops to both the left and right of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickelp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kata Palm Resort. We flew into Phuket and walked up to a tout at the airport and told her how much we were willing to spend and after a few phone calls she booked us into the Kata Palm. We got a much better rate going through the travel agent at the airport then on line or if we would had booked direct at the Hotel. The rooms are big and all have a bath tub which was nice after a very long flight from the U.S. west coast. We stayed in a basic room with pool view. Rooms are big, clean and all have a small deck over looking a pool. The beds are hard like most beds in Thailand. The swimming pool flows throughout the entire hotel. The pool is clean and not too crowded but you do want to get a chair early in the day. Breakfast is good. A large selection of Western and Thai. We would definitely stay here again. What I didn't like is how far from the airport it is due to traffic it took about a hour. Also the beach down and across the street was very crowded!!!!! Read what others have written about getting a beach chair from the hotel for the day. I enjoyed the pool more then the beach! Plenty of places to eat at for dinner. We liked the local street venues.

Room Tip: Higher floors above pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank journey351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at the Kata Palm 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer.
We paid extra for a pool access and I would definitely recommend it. The pool is georgous and the hotel has wonderful settings.
The beach is about 10-15 min walk and shops are just outside the hotels.
Hotel has a free shuttle bus to get to the beach as well as around 30 sunbeds but you will need to queue at the lobby before 8.30am! The price is 100B otherwise.
The room is absolutely amazing, very clean with all the comodities. It is a little bit dark but you don't spend too much time there anyway.
Only let down was the breakfast for me.
Overall, a great hotel and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed at Kata Palm with my wife, we wanted to be close to Kata Beach, the location was perfect. The resort offers a shuttle service with free beach chair rental to guests - only is that the spots are limited and the guests start queuing at the reception desk from early in the morning. I'll recommend walking and just paying your 200 baht for the chairs.

The pool was a highlight - loads of fun.

The service of the hotel was not as bad as some of the reviews mentioned. I felt that all staff were friendly and helpful - even when we got locked out of our room on our balcony they were quick to assist :)

Cons:

Breakfast was a bit of a letdown. Just overall a bit bland and not as good we've experienced at other Thai resorts.

Room Tip: If you enjoy privacy, avoid pool access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thatispeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I been there in september 2012 with my girlfriend. It's a nice hotel in a great location. Breakfast was nice, service staff very gentle.Beautiful Pool! The restaurant was not bad, and in the weekend have a nice buffet dinner.The only negative was the smell of the room...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavideC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My sister and I stayed at Kata Palm Resort August 2012. We thought the hotel was excellent value for the price we paid for our Deluxe Pool View room inc. buffet breakfast. The room was huge and comfortable. The only negative was the rooms are a little dark and need better lighting. The buffet breakfast had a reasonable choice of western and asian food but the best part of this hotel is the stunning pool winding around the resort, would have to be the best in Kata. Location is great with shops and restaurants right out the front and beach 5 min. walk. Staff at front desk and tour desk helpful and friendly. It is not a five star hotel but excellent value. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 57 in Kata Beach
701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#32 of 57 in Kata Beach
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 57 in Kata Beach
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing