We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the most beautifully landscaped urban hotel in Phuket...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Kata Palm and I can't think of anything I would fault. OK the rooms are a bit dark and the balconies don't seem to get any sun but the grounds are amazing. I did think it a bit odd that the beautiful curtain-hung sofa was covered in waterproof fabric... functional I know but a sarong over the top wouldn't cost the hotel a lot of money....
Service was great and I loved the music playing as I sat poolside (or sat at one of the 2 swim-up bars)
The pool-access rooms look cool, but not necessarily worth the extra money...
I didn't have lunch or dinner here but the breakfast buffet meets all tastes and the other restaurants looked busy for lunch and dinner.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for a week here and were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff, the spacious rooms and the incredible gardens and pools. The food we ate was lovely. The room was a bit musty but I think that was to do with the air conditioner. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the pool and couldn't believe how spacious it was and comfortable. It was clean, the service was prompt. The recommendations made by the front desk were extraordinarily helpful. The location was central but it was also set back far enough to ensure quietness. Thanks for making a good holiday great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

The great and the good:
Great costumer care.
Nice rooms overlooking the pool.
Free shuttle bus to the beach
Free towel to take to the beach
Fantastic catering manager Mr Khan. Even gave us a free ride to Patong after our dinner in the restaurant.
Good value set dinner at the restaurant. Big delicious servings.
We had insect bites and our sheets were even changed when requested at 8 pm. They even provided mosquito repellent.

The not so good:
Internet tho free, was terrible. Details need to be entered repeatedly.

The bad:
Terrible food and service at the beach kiosk. The food we ordered did not appear as it was described. It was a child's portion and tasteless and expensive for what it was.
This kiosk is under a different management. The manager TUAN was extremely rude and uncooperative. She refused to let us use the free sun lounge even after a phone call from hotel reception despite having several vacant positions free. We were instructed by the hotel reception to call them at lunchtime to save us going back to the hotel to get the voucher but she was extremely rude and refused. She made us go to the hotel to collect the voucher unnecessarily. When we returned with the voucher, she was nowhere to be found. We were told she'd gone home. We wasted an hour doing this.

However, I would rate this hotel for their exceptional service and really, Kata area is much better than Patong despite its nightlife. At least the beaches are decent and the clientele not too rowdy.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcelodelpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here from 4th May till !1th May. First 3 days had premium deluxe room and although it was large 2 showers 2 toilets, outside spa bath, it was very dark inside and no balcony. So asked if we could have another room and they moved us straight away to a nice room overlooking the pool on the 4th floor.The room had all we needed, clean, large, good bacony and sitting area inside.
The breakfast was great, great selection , in fact one of the best on our thailand trip.
We also found the staff to be very helpful and at all times someone was available.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter with less aircon noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fox529037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The first room we where put into was very small, I had booked twin beds.
Went to reception and luckley they had there last twin available, we moved over to this wonderfully large, airy room.
I am not one for load childeren, there was this one couple that had this little girl that did not stop talking and sreaming to her parents, how seemed to turn a deaf ear to all her demands.
Breakfast were very good, and staff always friendly. We had the pleasure of celebrating the New Year with them, what a fanatstic buffet, managed to try most of the Thai foods.
Wonderful, thank you

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Will start with the negatives, firstly the position. Yes it is only one street back from the beach, which by the way is filthy but there is no cut through and you have to walk right around to get to it. Secondly the beds are rock hard, not firm but hard like a board and if you had hip problems you would not be able to stay at this hotel. On the positive, the rooms were spacious, clean, quiet and the aircon was brilliant. The service was good, pool was lovely and breakfast was fine, not 5 star but reflective of price paid. Would not like to be here and by that I mean not only the hotel but Kata Beach in the high season as there was just enough space now but it would be intolerable with any more people and there would be fighting for pool lounges and crowds at breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed as part of a group in April 2013. The rooms were decorated as standard in most Thai resorts. Hard bed and old style tv. Bathroom had a shower bath combo. The tiles had seen better days and were quite mouldy. Great view of the pool from the balcony. Breakfast buffet had great selection. Nice gardens throughout resort, but make sure you bring mozzie spray. The pools were the highlight of this resort. Both have swim up bars. Two large pools with the back pool having waterfalls you can swim under and was great for kids with it's meandering design. Hotel is located close to shopping and some great resturants nearby (check out Mama's for a great well priced menu in a clean, nice setting)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 17Blacksheep17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 55 in Kata Beach
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Kata
Beyond Resort Kata
#25 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#15 of 55 in Kata Beach
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £48 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing