We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kata Rocks
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have just returned from a months holiday at Kata Rocks and I cannot wait to go back. The views are amazing and the units are spectacular.

The staff are all very friendly and so helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Kata is the best place in Phuket to stay - you want for nothing. The beach is beautiful if you can drag yourself away from your own private pool or the club house pool at Kata Rocks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. Choose one based on the number of people you have with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InfiniteLuxury_Bryan, Manager at Kata Rocks, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your comments. The team at Kata Rocks, who always get to hear of our guest experience, greatly appreciated the time you’ve taken to give us your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and the many facets of a stay at Kata Rocks.

We have noted your comments about the portion size. As part of our cuisine concept we do have a main course, sometimes with shared salads and side-dishes. Your observations have been documented with the cuisine team and our Executive Chef, Steve Baker; our aim being to continue ensure that each guest is more than thrilled with every experience at Kata Rocks.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes
The Kata Rocks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    21
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
81
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Kata Rocks with group of family and friends for 2 weeks over the 2013 Christmas and 2014 New Year. The service, staff, scenic views, crisp design, and well thought out amenities all combine to make this resort one of the most stunning and relaxing resorts in South East Asia. Not far away from the KR are incredible beaches, good snorkeling, a quite beach, and abundant Thai eateries. The food at the resort itself is delicious, albeit the portions could be slightly bigger. We look forward to our next stay at Kata Rocks.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was lucky to spent new years week at Kata Rocks along with my good friends. The place is just awesome, they have truly have everything you could think of - Infinite Luxury. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The architecture and design is just mind blowing. With it's isolated location in Kata you are able to find peace and quietness from the rest of the hassle on the island, but just as easily able to to get around to visit any of the other places and sights in Phuket - Especially with the help of KR golf buggies. The ultimate highlight of the trip was New Years eve, with boating and snorkeling around the island during the day and finishing up with an enormous feast and private firework show all arranged by the professional staff of KR. Looking forward to my next trip back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great! For a special stay the front row apartments close to the seafront are de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tepp0H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolbotn, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 weeks at Kata Rocks over Christmas and New Year 2013-14 - a fantastic place! We travel extensively but this is top ! The gym is fantastic and we used it every day, Spa is really good and the view is stunning!

Becks

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Inger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InfiniteLuxury_Bryan, Manager at Kata Rocks, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Becks,

Thank you for your superb comments about Kata Rocks, we agree - the view here is absolutely incredible!!

It was lovely to have you here over the Christmas period; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon…

Best wishes
The Kata Rocks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at Kata Rocks for 4 weeks over Christmas and New Year....slogan is Infinite luxury and i have to agree.
It really is something else..very new so still a growing resort but have to say best in Asia so far.
Here with my wife and 2 children and cannot say enough positives. Also so much to do in the immediate area from dining to visiting the various beaches.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayO7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InfiniteLuxury_Bryan, Manager at Kata Rocks, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Shay,

Thank you for your amazing comments about Kata Rocks; “the best in Asia” sounds quite superb!!

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes
The Kata Rocks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I recently stayed at Kata Rocks and, despite that it's not fully finished yet (they accommodate by doing spa treatments in-room, etc.), it was without a doubt the finest resort/hotel I've ever experienced. Highlights:

- The scenery is unimaginably beautiful (!!)
- Location is great (Kata is the best beach in Phuket, and Kata's town is convenient and pretty nice)
- Design and quality of the unit(s) is world-class
- The staff were exactly what you want (or hope for!) from a Thai vacation: friendly, polite, smiley, and attentive to every need and detail.

ps - I should clarify that by "hotel" I meant the services (more like resort) ...really it's luxury apartments/villas, not a hotel per se.

Room Tip: Every unit has its own infinity edge pool and sea views so I don't think it matters much which o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jds127b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My first time in Phuket and I was lucky enough to stay at Kata Rocks in one of the Ocean Lofts. With unbelievable views out to the sea, my own pool and a detox menu crafted by Chef Oh, this place truly delivers on luxury. Very friendly and considerate staff nursed and pampered me, even giving me an amazing massage me in my room. Even though there was still some final construction work going on around the entrance of the resort, I was not affected at all due to my location right by the sea. Special thanks to Chantal and Dome for hosting us one evening for drinks by the clubhouse pool. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I took a tour of all the rooms and they are all serious luxury - just choose one based on how many p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaroldB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.2 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Rocks

Property: Kata Rocks
Address: 86/22 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kata Rocks 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Rocks is a luxury boutique resort and residence, built directly on the oceanfront on the southern end of Kata Beach, along Phuket's west coast. The Sky Villas range in size from one-four bedrooms; each offering its own private infinity-pool, an expansive dining and living area, fully-fitted European kitchen, and superbly appointed bedrooms and bathrooms including daily cleaning and evening turndown service. The latest interactive iPad technology allows guests to control the world of their Sky Villa at the touch of a button. Kata Rocks offers an oceanfront restaurant, lounge, library, a fabulous bar, a thirty-five meter oceanfront lap pool, holistic wellness & spa facilities, a cutting-edge fitness centre and a perfectly-located function room for weddings and events. For more information on Kata Rocks Oceanfront Resort Phuket go to the Kata Rocks Website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Kata Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Rocks Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing