We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, quiet ambiance, near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, quiet ambiance, near the beach”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Serene Resort is a nice small hotel near Kata Beach.

Stayed here last October 2010. Booked for 2 rooms through Asiatravel.

Our flight from Singapore was delayed, and arrived close to midnight. We had a hard time getting a cab charging reasonably for taking us to our hotel.(If you will be arriving late at night in Phuket, get the hotel transport to pick you up. It's far more convenient and depending on your negotiating skills, prove to be cheaper than haggling with the cab drivers.)

The cab driver seemed to never heard of the hotel and kept calling someone on the phone, presumably asking where it was in Kata.

Surprisingly, a hotel staff was in the reception area when we arrived. They seemed to be waiting for us. And we were informed of our Phi-phi tour pickup early in the morning (booked thru Asiatravel as well).

The rooms were small and simple, but clean and looked nice. It has a private balcony with the view of the pool below. But the rooms were hot even with the aircon on (in the other room, aircon broke down altogether). We saw an aircon maintenance personnel doing repairs in the morning. Some renovation works were also ongoing dowstairs.

We loved their breakfast, lot of choices, good spread, great ambiance, cheerful restaurant staff.

We had a great time at the pool. After being in the sun and sand for too long, the pool was a welcome treat.

Kata beach was about 5 mins walk, a very nice beach and not too crowded (downside: the beach was littered by trash in the evening). Saw a lot of restaurants and convenience stores in the vicinity as well.

Liked Best : quiet, breakfast food, the pool and it's location (very near from the beach)
Like Least : charging too much for a 2 hour late checkout request.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butt3rcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    191
    82
    41
    24
See reviews for
143
212
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I had high hopes for this resort, it looked beautiful online and was located in a lovely, quiet part of Phuket. Unfortunately, despite promises in writing prior to my arrival from the travel agent, the internet / wifi was down for the entire week long duration of my stay. Every time I tried to discuss this with the front desk reception I received an apathetic or rude response, including discussing my request in Thai whilst pointing at me and laughing in a real condescending manner. I've stayed in many beautiful resorts and hotels throughout Thailand where staff have been polite and friendly consistently, so this was a real shame.

To make matters slightly worse, one some days my room was not cleaned at all despite my clearly having the "please service my room" sign outside my door. When I called to get this rectified, I was given a half-hearted clean, towels were taken away and not replaced - and extremely frustratingly, I was accused of having kept a towel because the cleaning staff did not replace one they took!! I had to actually begin to open my suitcase before leaving to prove I did not take their towels, which were slightly worn and old anyway. They also cleaned the rooms with the doors opened, which allowed numerous mosquitos entry and access to my skin all night.

The worst thing about the cleaning though was when I was in my room and walked to the bathroom whilst the lady was cleaning in their - she had my glass I had been drinking out of, and was wiping the inside of it with a filthy, dirty rag. When I said "No, no" she became embarrassed and tried to quickly rinse the glass out in the sink. Needless to say, I have never drunk out of a hotel glass without cleaning it first again...

The positives...well it is quiet, the room was quite nice, the food was nice, and the top pool was nice (although the bottom kids pool water felt quite unclean and a bit grotty). The location is close enough to Kata Beach that you can walk there and rent a beach lounge and umbrella. There is a wonderful Thai massage place directly across from the hotel that gave unbelievable foot massages quite cheaply. But unless you are looking for a fairly budget, family trip and internet / customer service is not an issue, it may not be the top option in Kata. But I personally would not stay here again, especially not after being accused of taking an old towel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to reception if you need wifi access. There are no real views in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mangoss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here with my 4 year old son. The staff were amazing, they were helpful and made my son feel like royalty. Good location for families located near the quieter kata beach. About a 3 min walk to the stunning beach. Great cheap food, caters well for children. Breakfast was great. Nothing to complain about here.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A nice resort that seems to be undrgoing a little redecoration. This did not interfere with the ambience at all as it was the rooms at the back of the hotel being repainted and new beds, fridges and furniture. The only gripe was that we were 1.5 hrs late checking out of ourroom and they wanted 500 bahts for a late check out which we refused to pay - they said thy could have rented the room out. During our stay however it was really quiet with only about 20 or so rooms rented to guests so the pool was really quiet. Free wifi in reception was useful too.

Its a short walk down the road to all the shops and restaurants. You would not be disappointed staying here so long as it was not one of the few rooms on the edge of the complex next to the road.

We stayed fir 2 nights in march 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The staff at this hotel are amazing, very friendly and willing to help with any questions you have. We were never left waiting for a drink or to be seated, they also had a great Halloween party for the guests. We read a few reviews that Kata Beach is a far walk but it is not, it is with in 3-5 mins and the street is not very busy that you have to cross. Lots of restaurants and vendors on the walk to the beach. Our room was clean and tidy with a safe & mini fridge that was refilled with beer for a great price, we also had plenty of towels. The package we booked included the breakfast buffet and 10 hrs of internet, no wifi. We will stay here again when we return!

Room Tip: Check out the drink specials at the pool bar for 2 for 1 afternoon deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is delighted to learn that you experienced a good stay with us. We wish you will be back to stay with us again.

We promise to sucess in exceeding the guest expectation.

Jimmy R
Customer Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have stayed at Serene 3 times now and every time I have been impressed with the service the quality of the rooms and the meals. The two pools are fantastic, but the beach is only a 5 minute walk away. Some great restaurants and markets in Kata itself as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banzai173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you very much for your review.We do appreciate on your comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future if the chance may arise.

Jimmy R /CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The hotel is well situated about 5 minutes walk from Kata beach and quite a few decent dining options nearby.
Also you can get a tuk-tuk to nearby Kata Noi beach for 150 baht.Its about a couple of miles away but up a steep hill so walking not really recommended.
The Serene Resort has a decent pool and friendly staff.....rooms are reasonable.
For the location and the price its a good option in Kata.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zidane08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to learn that you had a good stay with us. We are looking forward to having you back very soon.

Jimmy/ CRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Property: Chanalai Flora Resort
Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing